PDA

View Full Version : rod for barra

B.F.A.
08-01-2007, 06:21 PM
I have got a rod that is 4-7 kg will this do for barra.

Matt

RayB
09-01-2007, 09:18 AM
I'm no expert but every magazine I pickup suggests that 6-10kg rods are the way to go. I picked up a 1.1m barra on a 6-10k rod and I wouldn't have wanted anything lighter.

cheers
Raymond

nuggstar
09-01-2007, 01:53 PM
is it a spin/flick rod or a bait caster. i have a 2-5kg flick rod that go's hard on mid size barra (60cm-90cm) any thing bigger and i use my 6/8kg baitcast rod so i can put the pressure on those big 1m+ fish ;D

BrandonH
09-01-2007, 03:28 PM
I use an 8kg uglystick baitcaster for faust barra and have caught a few 1+ mtr barra using it matched with a abu 6400c4 loaded with 50lb braid and using a 80lb leader ;) I would't go a 10kg rod unless your planing to do more trolling than casting, casting even big lures with a 10kg rod isn't fun and you won't be able to land them where you want them to go :(

I like using the fiberglass rods on these big brutes rather than graphite because you can push the rod over 90 deg to get a fish up to the net rather than having to pump the rod and wind in more (and give the fish another chance to get you into the sticks!!) to keep the u-beaut graphite rods from imploding.

cheers
Brandon...

TinarooTriumph
10-01-2007, 01:31 PM
Hey Matt