View Full Version : bay reports where are they???

bazzaman
14-03-2004, 03:48 PM
Any Bay reports of todays efforts would be good if anyone was out!! Going to the beacons tommorrow to find some macs and cobes!!

14-03-2004, 03:51 PM
all looks a bit quiet the water was still green offshore today and the macs have been scarce all week. mooloolaba is the best bet.

bazzaman
14-03-2004, 04:21 PM
hopefully not!! Hope the cobes on the chew!!...Lets ya s know anyway! Anymore reports??

Sportfish_5
14-03-2004, 06:10 PM
Bazzaman - Was out on the Northen Bay today. Left from Bribie and hit all the beacons on the way to Hutchies. It was very very quiet on the mack front. Not many birds working at all and mostly tuna working the baitfish when I came across some action. I did see that big red cyclone of craigies powering along so maybe he did OK :o

The M1 beacon is out of commission as they have a barge out there refurbishing it (I think)

Did spend a fun/frustrating hour at the NW3 (I think!) trying to coax a school of Kingies to take some silver #;D #

SNAFU
15-03-2004, 09:55 AM
hi all ,went to small ships channel sun morning from manly.rough trip out and back,s/e winds did not go n/e as promised just got stronger and a shower or two thrown in for fun.got 26 diver whiting and 2 sandies for my troubles plus heaps of grinners and small leather jackets.might try again tomorow if not windy.
SNAFU.

craigie
16-03-2004, 09:53 AM
Sorry guy's, no good reports from me either :'(

Spent Saturday morning out in the shipping lanes off Combie Point just south of the M1. Travelled up there via M/Mile, 4 beacons etc.
Saw a few patches of Tuna (Bonito ???) on the way but all very timid, had one brief hook-up on a 20 gram Raider that had the 3 kg line fizzing off the spool before the lure fell free, F#@% :-X ;D
Out off Combie the water was alive with Longtails. I was just floating along with them exploding all around me. Several times I watched individual fish swim within 15 metres of the boat. I cast metal lures at them until my arms nearly fell off. Tried 40 gramers right down to 10 grams but not even a bump ??? :-/ What do I try next ??? Popers ???

I'll keep an eye out for you next time 'Sportfish', think I may have spotted you out there ?

Craigie.

JB
16-03-2004, 10:48 AM
Craigie, you have to get your hands on one of those mc gills whitebait 10g lures they are the ducks nuts when it comes to fussy tuna. Need a braid / good casting distance rod for them though. bout 5 bucks each i think. They work for me VERY well.

JB

16-03-2004, 11:04 AM
JB

I'd be interested in one of those lures my friend - just can't seem to find them in any of the tackle shops I visit.

Bugman

jeffo
16-03-2004, 11:56 AM
craigie- get some livies and drift through em! works wonders!

16-03-2004, 12:27 PM
Bay Report from weekend 13/14th.

Squire in size and numbers turning up at the usual place at Mud isl. Fresh large baits only.

bazzaman
16-03-2004, 01:01 PM
Went over to the beacons on Sunday and didnt catch anything to size! Sat at the same beacon all day! Had a few good runs on some big livies off the bottom but failed to hook up...Was fishing for monster cobes that didnt want to play today! One boat that was fishing beside us hooked up and chased a fish for a good half hour to 45. When they arrived back asked him what theyd caught and the reply was f@#kn dropped it beside the boat!! :o :o...Apparently a monster spaniard of over 20kgs and i would sure beleive them as i saw how fast the thing took off! Spewin i say and id rather be catchn nothin than losing one beside the boat! ;D ;D.......Another boat up from us also hooked up to somethin bigbut he didnt chase it! Ended up losing it 10 mins into the fight! A fair bit of surface action but couldnt be bothered chasn them round the bay and home again!! ;) ;) ::)

sharkbait
16-03-2004, 02:11 PM
went out today from manly, plenty of mac tuna but not many longtails and no spotties to be seen. worked our way north jigging the beacons without any luck aside from an octupus ;D strangest catch on a mackmauler slug yet? anchored up near curtin, got one xos schoolie, and a couple of squire. a few unstoppables came to the party as well. very quiet.

jeffo
16-03-2004, 03:39 PM
i wonder what sort of season they are having on the spotties down south (south west rocks and those places).... would be interesting to find out where they all went.

Greggo
16-03-2004, 05:29 PM
Put the boat in at Bribe on friday afternoon and spent the night in the channel close to the bridge. Water still dirty from the weekend before.Very quiet on the fish front but some nice sand crabs and the usual shovelnoses.
Left about 5 am Saturday morning and headed for Tangalooma. Went to the M4,M5 and M6 and trolled lures and cast slugs all morning but to no avail, only one small pike. Had luch at the tangalooma wrecks. The weather and water were excellent. Trolled all the way back to Bribie, not a touch.

Craigie

no need to ask how the optimax is going. Might see you out there sometime. cheers Greggo.

craigie
17-03-2004, 09:46 AM
Yes Greggo, great way to spend the day, run around the bay, a visit to tangas, swim etc
describe your boat, and i'll look out for you.

Yes mate, Optimax is going well. Has it's 20 hr service on thurs, only 10 hrs too late ::) ;D ;D

Craigie.

Greggo
17-03-2004, 03:13 PM
Hi Craigie
My boats an 18 ft Mustang half cab, yellow hull white top, name is HITMAN. If you see me out there (or any other ausfish members) pull up beside and you'll get a free cuppa in return for some advice.
Where are you getting your Optimax serviced. Had mine fitted and serviced by Springwood marine.No regrets so far.
Regards Greggo

17-03-2004, 03:50 PM
for the tuna fishers head offshore from south passage, we nailed over 17 tuna in the 6-8 kilo range this arvo all mac except 1 ;D a decent yellowfin, stoke up the bbq!!

sharkbait
17-03-2004, 06:26 PM
thought about that rob, also heard from a little bird there are some macks around as well, north of the bar. keen for an offshore trip, havent been in ages #>:(

drevil
18-03-2004, 08:33 AM
Hey Greggo, how old's your Mustang? I have a Mustang 18" half cabin, about 1980 vintage. It's a great boat with heaps of room. Maybe I'll see you out there sometime.

craigie
18-03-2004, 10:25 AM
Rob, yet another hot session, way to go mate ;) Did you 'Slug' them ? How did you cook/prepare the Y/fin for the B-B-Q ?
Greggo, purchased my Opti from Coorparoo Marine (package deal with the boat, trailer) so will take it there for the moment for servicing. If the prices start 'Burning' me, I'll look else where in the future.
Will keep an eye out for the big Yellow "HITMAN" in my travels.

Cheers Craigie.

18-03-2004, 11:33 AM
Yeah it was the best tuna session in a while, we were trolling for marlin and had some minnows out for a wahoo but the tuna were in such numbers 2 lines were all that was needed, wind was at 20 knots by mid arvo and it was rather wild. steaks marinated mainly and only part cooked, kebabs are the go tonight.

Greggo
18-03-2004, 03:30 PM
Hi Caigie. Yeah pull me over if you see me. Any of the major dealers should give you good service and a few phone calls for price checks should keep them competitive.
Hi Drevil. Mine is about the same vintage as yours. I have been told they were all built within a couple of years. They are a good overniter and you can pound thru a choppy 1.2 mt swell hardly feeling a bump. Try the same in the new wide bodied alluminiums and you'd have to tape your teeth in.
Hope to see you out there sometime.
Regards Greggo.

drevil
19-03-2004, 03:21 AM
Greggo, what's your typical cruising speed for your Mustang with the optimax out back? I have a Merc 100HP (about 1983 or so) and I think it's a tad underpowered for the weight of the boat.

I sit at around 20 knots at 3600 and was considering repowering at some stage.

drevil

Greggo
19-03-2004, 03:44 PM
Drevil. I had a 115 blueband merc on before i repowered to a 115 optimax. Its like getting out of a HQ holden into a Porsche. As i live into a toowoomba all my trips are weekenders, ie-wife, two kids and 25 tonnes of food, eskies, bags of clothes and kitchen sinks ect. Full power and loaded i get 75 KPH and cruising at 38000 revs is around 40 KPH. The fuel saving is almost unbelievable. I would guess about 60 percent less than the blueband. Hope this helps.

cheers Greggo