View Full Version : Mud island Sat arvo

27-04-2004, 03:32 AM
Cruising up the Gateway on Saturday arvo, and spot Webby with the fire-engine in tow. #;D

Pulled up at the Whyte Island ramp, which is fairly crowded. #Launched ReBait with Paul as deckie. #This trip was a last minute affair, with being bored at home, and read a 10 knot wind report for the bay. #A check found the Low Tide at 6.30 pm. mmmmmm change of tide just after dark, that'll play, me thinks.

Waited for Webby and rankinray, but decided to zoom out into the ' stiff' N/Er'.

Found some areas that I hadn't tried before, ( looking for likely bream winter spots ) and plugged in the GPS.

Found Webby and Ray on the western side doing circles ?

( I do belive I found that pinnicale Brian, )

Webby and Ray dropped the pick on the southern type side of Mud on a good show of fish and bottom. #I decided to hit the Eastern cnr on a good size lump. # That produced the ' obligatory' grinner. ( bait anyway ).

Found Craigie in the Red Cyclone and deckie when we came back. #How'd the crabbing go ?

We motored ReBait into 5ft ( over sand would you believe ), and proceeded to toss some fresh baits ( thanks Craig ) to the shallows. #The big bait got nailed first with a run that certainly got the heart started. #As we were chasing Bream, this was un-expected. #Measured the Squire ( once we got home, 46cms ). #Moses perch, Pike and more squire to 40cms came on board. #Finally, at the bottom of the tide, the target species turned up. #A couple of Bream in the tank, and they shut down.

Visited Webby and Craig before heading home. #

They should post their experience here ? #Hopefully.

Hit the water at 3pm and back at ramp before 8.

I wish it was that easy all the time.

aido
27-04-2004, 09:53 AM
we turned up at mud on saturday about 18:00, just on dark.
fished until about 21:00 for some descent sized grinners,
first, then a shark attack, boating and releasing about
eight of the buggers about 2 to 3 feet long.
got sick of that and crashed out till morning.

man o man, what a morning at mud,
no the french wer'nt testing h-bombs again ;)
http://members.ozemail.com.au/~dessaix/mud.jpg

got a few nice squire early then decided to head outside.
the bar was real workable with the northern channel a virtual
millpond. got to the 35's about 0900 and worked the reef
drifting a pattern that covered most of the southern end.
worked hard for about 4 hrs and hardly a bite. must've been
doing something wrong. ho hum, back inside for lunch off the
bottom end of morton.
absolutely beautiful day...
way better than melbourne, lol. #;D
aido.

out at the 35's
http://members.ozemail.com.au/~dessaix/35s.jpg

27-04-2004, 10:53 AM
Yeah was hounded by a few of the local yahoos.
Western and southern end only fishable due to the sloopy n/e's. 10-15kts my arse, around 1.2 with some around 1.5m.
Cragie followed us around all night like a dog on heat. ;D after drying out from the trip out. (thanks for the fresh bonito)
He wont next time.(took him to grinner city) ;D
Phill buzzed around like a big white fly then headed off.
Tally for the night.
squire to 50cm, 1 lizard, 6 whalers, 3 gummies, 1 blind shark, 4 rays, 3 shovelnose, 600 grinners, a few sandies, a few unstopables that headed across the bay ???.
Lost shit loads of gear, ask Ray.
Catch of the night was a whaler, had a set of gangs hanging out of its gob, and my hook caught the last gang, 'believe it or not'.
Left cragie at sunup pulling pots, gave him a feed of squire, and headed back with a s/wester calming the n/e sloop.
Thanks to a good decky Rakinray now called "Raysharkygrinner" ;D

JB
27-04-2004, 11:25 AM
Hope u chopped those grinners up and threw em bak as burely webby, i HATE those mongrel things. >:(

wannabe
27-04-2004, 01:48 PM
What's a grinner?

27-04-2004, 03:12 PM
Well, Muz, seeing as you are from the ' inland ', I will take the question seriously.

A Grinner is a pest, vermin, bugga, that has spread it's territory far and wide.

It looks like a Flathead only rounder and has a extra large mouth which is full of very sharp needle point teeth, and when you catch one ( you usually catch lots more ), and bring it to the boat, while it's dangling from the end of your line, it Grins at you, or at least appears to.

They are smelly ( good bait ) and are full of bones ( no good to eat ).

hope this helps, maybe even post a pic up !

wannabe
27-04-2004, 04:17 PM
Thanks Phill. I reckon the only stupid question, is the question you dont ask.

smerl
28-04-2004, 05:07 AM
Hi aido,

I fished the 35s and the 37s on Saturday morning. Got a good feed of pearlies (bagged out by 7 am). After that, we found a big school of bait in 74 m with fish showing below it. Was hoping for Squire but turned out to be rat kings. Pulled in 5 of those before we got sick of it. Headed in close over the coffe rock around 2 pm and got a couple of nice moses perch. Unfortunately no pics as we discovered that my new pentax digital does not float. The conditions out wide on Saturday were the same as those shown in your pic for Sunday.

We couldn't find any bait at the bait grounds on the way out on Saturday. Apparently there was some over the coffee rock in closer. Tried to jig some when we got into the coffe rock but didn't have much luck even though we could see them on the sounder. Did you have a look at the bait ground on your way out on Sunday? Interesting to see from Willo's report that he had a hard time finding bait down the coast as well.

Smerl

aido
28-04-2004, 10:59 AM
hi smerl,
i'm not real sure the best spots for live baits, but here we were off the
southern end of morton, amity in the distance. plenty of those little
buggers with the yellow stripe, i call 'em stripies.
reacon they work as a live bait?
glad you got a few at the 35's. could you pm me a decent lat/lon where you were?

cheers, aido.

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~dessaix/baitground.jpg

smerl
28-04-2004, 12:32 PM
Aido,

Sent you a PM.

Smerl

craigie
28-04-2004, 12:51 PM
G'day Guy's,

Fished Sunday night at Mud beside Webby (I think phill may have mentioned it to be Saturday, ah public holidays always play tricks on our minds ;D, )

I'm sure webby put me on his secret spot called 'The Vermon Patch' ;D, All the same mixed bag as what he caught without the Snapper. Thanks again for the fish mate, fresh Snapper for dinner Monday night was a treat ;). Hope I didn't anchor too close and steal all your grinners ;D.

First overnighter in the new rig was reasonably confortable. Anchor light is so bright you don't need a flouro for the cabin.
The next morning I found a semi-consious Hardihead flapping in the Anchor Well so it went out as my last bait before departure. Sure enough it got nailed and busted me up ?????

The Red Cyclone crew may have dudded out on the fishing but we took home a dozen Sand Crabs from 4 pots, put a smile on our dials :) :).

Phil, mate you scooped the pool, a short session for a nice bag of fish. I'm happy to swap Tuna for slugs any day of the week ;). Will give them a swim next weekend.

Craig.

chaser
29-04-2004, 04:41 PM
Sunset down south 4 all u northerners
chaser