View Full Version : Breamin the passage

beefaman
30-06-2004, 04:07 AM
On Saturday, ventured up to Caloundra to go wading with Mike and Ken from the fishraider site. We out on Ecogear SX 40F Lures and started casting around a location where we have been nailing heaps of quality bream. Mike hooked up first , followed by Ken and then myself. Fish were then being constantly caught, this continued for nearly two hours, and it didnt matter what lures we used, be it HB's or SP's. We landed 21 bream for the session, with the smallest 27 and biggest 38cm. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Great day in great conditions ;D SP lures used to catch fish were: 3" Berkley Power Minnow (Rainbow), 2" Gulp minnow grub ( pumpkinseed and red) and Ecogear Mini Tank (Pumpkinseed)

beefaman
30-06-2004, 04:07 AM
Another of mine

beefaman
30-06-2004, 04:08 AM
Mike with his first Bream on HB

SeaHunt
30-06-2004, 06:30 AM
Did you give your missus her hat back when you got home? ;D ;D ::)

beefaman
30-06-2004, 08:10 AM
Ken with a nice passage "chromey"

beefaman
30-06-2004, 08:11 AM
No one gets my hat...and I mean no one [smiley=beadyeyes.gif] ::)

Hutcho
30-06-2004, 08:36 AM
That "chromey" is a fine bream. What sort of lure has it got in its gob?

beefaman
30-06-2004, 08:57 AM
It is an Ecogear Sx 40F...great bream lure, great action which is nice and tight.

Brenno
30-06-2004, 11:47 AM
great looking fish there guys.

make me want to get out more often.

Hookem_Herby
30-06-2004, 12:20 PM
Beefa,
Nice work mate, just love those pics. I still think you should've used Paintshop Pro to distort the background colour of your hat! :-X :P :-/ ;) But seriously some really nice fish there. Aren't they great fun on the HBs?
Hutcho, do yourself a favour get yourself a couple. They are bloody expensive but have consistantly produced the goods.

Herby

beefaman
30-06-2004, 01:21 PM
Totally agree about the lures Herby....you just wait til I get a pic of your poofy purple shorts you wear :-X

beefaman
02-07-2004, 08:49 AM
I will be heading up again this weekend to see if they are still around....they should be though..Wohoooo!!!

flathead_fred
02-07-2004, 09:04 AM
hey that last bream is over a kilo i reckon, fantasic effort guys, i bet you got a few weird looks from the old timers, one cos you were gettin quality like that throught the day............and two not a hardy head a mullet strip in sight (gun bait for bream in the passage). im very impressed. you were wading hey, so those big bream came from the flats, in the middle of the day, even more impressive.

regard,
mike

beefaman
03-07-2004, 08:45 AM
Yup, just wading on flats, casting at Eddies etc.
We have got numerous 40 + fish now, and they should be around for a while yet [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Hutcho
03-07-2004, 11:16 AM
you heading out there again this weekend Beefa? I imagine they would be around in even greater numbers during the night on the flats. Ballsy man to be wading out there then though......!!

hutcho.
PS. Where do you buy Ecogear lures? My normal tackle guy didn't have any in stock.

Hookem_Herby
03-07-2004, 12:48 PM
Hutcho,
I had the same problems finding them at first.
I went to 4 tackle shops before eventually letting my fingers do the walking! ;)
The Tackle Warehouse at Cooparoo has them but are charging $18.95. :o You can get them for a few $$$ at the tackle store in Caloundra. From memory he only charges $16.50

Herby

beefaman
03-07-2004, 01:16 PM
As long as the tide is low enough, I would wade out there at night, it really is quite shallow to get out there, only one deeper bit....thats when I will send Herby first [smiley=stupid.gif]

Hookem_Herby
03-07-2004, 02:42 PM
Beefa,
You know [smiley=iloveyou.gif] but I'm drawing the line here!
[smiley=stop.gif] You seen the size of the stingrays that inhabit that area!!! :o
If it was night time you and I would be flipping a coin as to who was going first [smiley=argue.gif] Durimg the day your pink hat should do the trick and scare them off ok! :P [smiley=speechless.gif]

See you out there on the w.e mate. ;)

Herby

one_fish_short
03-07-2004, 03:12 PM
g the man with the hat were the smile beefaman [smiley=happy2.gif]

one_fish_short
04-07-2004, 02:39 PM
hi there beefa say goodday to ken when you see the old fella next time [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] he has a top site :P ill catch up with one day again ;D ;D ;D

beefaman
06-07-2004, 08:18 AM
We got a few more on the weekend ;D Sunday was a bit of wind to conetend with, but we still got fish

beefaman
06-07-2004, 08:19 AM
This was my girlfriends bream on SP....she was ecstatic, 34cm and a great fight...she topped that on Sunday with a flatty well over 80cm :o