View Full Version : snapper off the goldie

blue_rogue
13-07-2004, 09:53 AM
went out on sunday afternoon out to the 24's off the Gold Coast Seaway. the winds were about 10-15 knots and the seas were 2-3metres of swell but there was very lttle chop, thank god. i was using pillies for bait and also tailor heads. the result for the afternoon was the best snapper i have caught to date. the biggest went 8.5kgs and one other about 3.5kgs and also two smaller about 2 and 1 kilograms respectively. was a very productive afternoon.

MTpockets
13-07-2004, 09:56 AM
Nice snapper ;D
any pics? or are they the ones in your avatar?

blue_rogue
13-07-2004, 10:03 AM
mate the photos are to big i have thoudsands of photos of them but the size of the photo is to big to go on the atrtachments and i dont know how to minimize them

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 10:04 AM
Sounds like a good day!
Good on ya blue!

Regards, Tony

duckbill
13-07-2004, 10:10 AM
Blue Rogue,

Quick and easy way to minimize (if you are running windows XP) is to download the Image resizer tool from Microsoft at this site: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

Then all you do is right click on the image and chose the size, and bob's your uncle...

DaneCross
13-07-2004, 10:39 AM
Sounds great, I wanna see ;D ;D
For image resizing read here; http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/board/YaBB.cgi?board=Chathelp;action=display;num=1075561 453

blue_rogue
13-07-2004, 10:51 AM
here they are

duckbill
13-07-2004, 11:13 AM
Blue rogue,

using too many _ and & seems to get the attachments deleted... So try renaming your pics...

no_worries
13-07-2004, 02:31 PM
Hell duckbill ,it's that easy and all this time i;ve been e-mailing them back to myself as i didn't know any other way to do it ,cheers no worries

Burley_Boy
14-07-2004, 05:01 PM
Cool catch.
So back to the fish. Were you drifting (I'd assume as anchored in 3M would worry me) if so did you run a paternoster rig with a huge weight or floatlining?

Colorado
15-07-2004, 05:06 AM
Blue Rogue. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
You must have a few decent GPS marks off the Seaway. I wish I could find the spots like the ones you have as I fish out of the seaway on the 18's and 24's and all I seem to catch are undersize Squire and Tailor. I would love to catch Snapper like the ones in your avatar. Did you catch those 2 fish off the Seaway as well.

I would love to see the photo's of the 8.5kg Snapper you caught on the weekend.

blue_rogue
15-07-2004, 05:26 AM
Dear Colorado, I can't get the bloody photos off the work computer, something playing up. Will have them fixed up by the weekend.

Back to the sanpper. No they were not on your mark, i was about 3km north of there. The Big fella was a great fish. When are you gonna come out again you sook, or is my boat not good enough. send me your email address so i can send the photos over.

Give my a buzz.

All you other boys, the fish were caught on a float line, two hook rig. 3/4 oz lumo sinker. Plenty of berly. I think it was so good becasue the weekend was so rough with the big southerly swell, and was fishable by sunday arvo as the weather cleared up.

Photos will be up by the weekend.

blue_rogue
15-07-2004, 06:09 AM
hares the bloody fish at last

blue_rogue
15-07-2004, 06:10 AM
heres some more we got the same day

blue_rogue
15-07-2004, 06:12 AM
some more snapper

blue_rogue
15-07-2004, 06:14 AM
snapper

DaneCross
15-07-2004, 06:55 AM
Awesome fish [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Glad you worked out the pics. Man I wanna get me one of those :o

craigie
15-07-2004, 09:31 AM
ME TOO DC :o :o :o

TOLGA
15-07-2004, 09:57 AM
Colorado you might get one that big one day mate.
;)

snappa
15-07-2004, 12:33 PM
blue

you should take over my name "snappa"
great fish lol

Colorado
15-07-2004, 12:54 PM
Here is a photo of a snapper I picked up last season.