View Full Version : 1770- Mon 5 july.

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:40 AM
Made a casual start to the day (about 6.30 across the bar) to be greeted by beautiful conditions, no swell just a nice light wind ripple. Dean opened the throttle and put us on the first mark, the bait grounds. A couple of drops with the bait jigs and about 15 mins saw the live bait tank chockers with quality yakkas. About half an hour later we were anchored on spot A. After a heap of undersize reds and 3 nice keepers as well as abig Maori cod and a grassie, we decided to top up the livies and move to another close spot that we had not yet tried, to see if we could find some of the big snapper that had been coming in recently. First drop anice 6-7kg bar cheek trout. Second drop, a nice 6-7kg trout. Third drop, a big trout. Fourth drop a nice 4kg trout. Thinking that there could be no more trout down there, next fish up- anice 6-7kg trout.
One more drop and yet another big trout! At this stage we decided that we didnt want to catch anymore trout off this spot so we had no option other than to pack up and go home.
A top day out! During the course of the day we also caught a pair of big gold spot cod (carefully released ) and quite a few bits and pieces.

AAAHH 1770!
Regards Tony

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:43 AM
Photo 2

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:44 AM
photo 3

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:48 AM
photo 4

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:49 AM
Photo 5

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:50 AM
photo 6

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:52 AM
photo 6

MTpockets
13-07-2004, 08:53 AM
Bloody awesome trout Tony :)
I bet that goes into the gps as a spot x ?
How could your not do anything other than enjoy yourself mate, excellent catch there.

Les

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:53 AM
photo 7

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:55 AM
Photo 7

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:56 AM
photo 8

craigie
13-07-2004, 08:57 AM
Tony,

That's just too good mate ;D ;D Specktakular in fact ;D ;D

Us Brissos just dream of fish like that.

Craigie.

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 08:59 AM
photo 9

MTpockets
13-07-2004, 09:01 AM
Tony I think you may have to rename these pics, as they are deleting themselves...
a few too many of these i think..... _&_

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 09:06 AM
photo 10

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 09:07 AM
photo 11

firetruck
13-07-2004, 09:41 AM
Awesome post and pics Tony.

The joys of 1770 huh ;D

13-07-2004, 10:19 AM
Tony - 1770 here I come.

Did all these come off the live Yakkas Tony. Do you weight them close to the bottom or suspend them midwater on the drift for the big trout.

Many questions - so little time.

Bugman

agnes_jack
13-07-2004, 10:32 AM
G'day Brett
Mate we usually use a running ball sinker rig. A ten ball running down to an 8/0 hook, About a metre of 60lb mono trace and a dropper up near the top of the trace. Livie on the bottom hook, chunk of mullet or squid on the top hook. A lot of the inclose areas that we fish are only very, very small patches of reef. The only way to fish them is to anchor up very accurately. We will often pull the pick and anchor 2 or 3 times to be sure we are in the right position to put the baits right on the spot!
Just let me know when you are coming so I can organize the time to go for a run with you, You are most welcome!

Regards, Tony ;)

Cloud_9
13-07-2004, 01:04 PM
you lucky bastard.
my last trip there it was so windy i had to hold my hair on or id look like your mate. ;D
top pics there tony.

Cheers Cloud 9

Thunderbird
13-07-2004, 01:48 PM
Who's the bloke in the flano that left his fly down? :o
Top weather.
top report.
top fish.

trout3030
13-07-2004, 06:29 PM
Tony,
Lovely Trout. Prettiest and nicest eating fish out there. I'd love to ask you for those close in reef marks but that would be just too much. However, I was wondering if you could tell me where I can get live baits in the 1770 area? Have mostly relied on fresh flesh baits and the usual pilies and squid up till now. Any whiptails caught almost gaurentees a nice trout, so it would be great if you could let me know where to catch those yakkas. And by the way I fish anywhere from the wides to Fitroy Lagoon and Boult Reef. Any help much appreciated.

agnes_jack
14-07-2004, 03:46 AM
Thunderbird- Always ready mate, #always ready!!!!
Trout-The bait grounds-Head out from the headland at 5 degrees till you hit the 70-80ftmark and circle around till you find the bait balls on your sounder. They are usually scattered over a large area, if you like call in and see me next time you are here and I'll give you the bait marks. Where are you from?
P.S. Cloud nine- ;D ;D ;D ;D

# # # # # # # # # # #Regards, Tony ;D ;)

Brissyguy
14-07-2004, 04:37 AM
Hail the Trout Master...

As usual Tony, the effort and reports we have all come to expect mate.
Bet your favourite colour is RED lmfao.
Will get there oneday mate and look forward to catching up. ;)

Congrats and cheers,

Rich.

aquarius
14-07-2004, 05:35 AM
Great looking fish Tony........especially those Reds!!!!!! :o
Man i was happy with my 3.5 kilo snapper but would have been over the moon with a catch like yours mate.
Going by the pics it looks like the sea conditions were perfect.
Cheers Brent :)

dnej
14-07-2004, 12:39 PM
Hey Tony, if you were fishing with mullet only,how would you present your bait. What size?
David

BladeRunner
14-07-2004, 02:13 PM
Mate the conditions look great also some very nice trout caught
might be worth a trip to your area 1770 Thunderbird get those marks ..
BladeRunn [smiley=bandana.gif]er

bakes
14-07-2004, 02:42 PM
good stuff mate looks like you had an awsome weekend they are some pretty sweet fish

Martin_C
15-07-2004, 01:46 PM
Agnes-Jack
Mate is it possible to give a little advice, I'd like to come up there in a week or so, I'm going to bring the tinny 4.3m with 40HP. Depending on the weather (of course) are the scattered reefs far of the coast?? Will I be able to safely reach them??
I'll also be doing some creek fishing etc... Been told to get myself up to Turkey Beach and go to the reefs from there
Any help would be apprecaited
Martin

thargor
16-07-2004, 01:37 PM
Those 2 trout look like blue spotted trout (footballers). Certain on one of them and I think the other is as well. Nice effort.

16-07-2004, 01:57 PM
Tony, it was a good trip to pancake, your map came in handy but dont those rocks have a way of finding props :o :'( top fish there mate, it seemed like your tackle shop walls were covered in pics of great fish, highlights what a nice place agnes water/1770 is, the macks made our trip, cant wait to get back there,

agnes_jack
17-07-2004, 11:29 AM
Gday Rob
Next time you come try and make it about oct-early nov. Thats when the pelagics really turn it on, in close.

David I would use about a half a fillet and present it using a stinger rig, with an 8-10 ball running right down to the bait.

Martin, call in and see me when you come up and I will fill you in on the local happenings.

Thargor All the trout were the same species, all bar cheeks.

Thanks for all the replies, regards, Tony :D