View Full Version : Another top day at Peel 24;8;04

aquarius
25-08-2004, 03:23 PM
Hi Ausfishers....Wow what a beaut day to be flicking soft plastics around the bay.
Two boats left Redlands ramp before sun up to hit The shallow reef around peel island.
Mike and Duncan in the FASTEST THING IVE SEEN ON WATER..LOL and myself and Leon in the 625 cruise craft.
I scored a nice 45 cm snapper at the house boat wreck on a pearl/white SNAP BACK early in the morning.
Things went quiet until mid arvo when Mike put us onto the fish......We all came home with a bag limit of snapper all caught on softies.
Two great days out on the water with good company and a bonus of fish......What a way to start my 2 weeks holidays.
A few pics from today.... awsome sunrise this morning.
Cheers #Brent

aquarius
25-08-2004, 03:25 PM
pic 2

aquarius
25-08-2004, 03:26 PM
pic 3

aquarius
25-08-2004, 03:29 PM
pic 4

Fishinmishin
26-08-2004, 09:03 PM
looks like a beat day to soak a bait. good run of snapper round right areas and times at peel latley. when you say houseboat wreck do you mean one s/sw of spit beacon or the one north? have you tried sunken reef patch w of hanlon light? pic caught last week drifting down yakka fillets. yet to master the plastics.

jaybee
27-08-2004, 02:38 AM
Well done brent, you are making me jealous #;D Holidays, fishing what else does one need, ;) top photos as well.
Joe.

aquarius
27-08-2004, 10:22 AM
Fishinmishin nice catch there mate.
What length and weight was it?
I'm talking about the house boat wreck at the spit beacon.......This place produces quality snapper at times......You need to fish the last couple of hours either side of low or high tides.
Joe someone has to stirr up those snapper........i,m making the most of it while the weather is perfect..lol ;D

Fishinmishin
27-08-2004, 10:59 AM
bloody good fish Aquarius. didn't measure or weigh mine, but looks like the younger brother of yours. may your bait be nervous.

offshore_4.9
27-08-2004, 04:55 PM
Hey Mate well done! the conditions are ideal and photos to prove it!.
Just one thing Have you got the GPS coords for the house boat wreck. Were out on sat am for the early one!

aquarius
28-08-2004, 04:55 AM
Mate if i gave the gps mark out on here the whole of Brisbane would turn up..lol
Its 100 metres southwest of the spit beacon.
I have drifted all over this area and caught fish way off the mark.
There,s plenty of structure around this location.
Its not easy to drift this area on weekends because so many boats anchor up here.
We don,t get lots of fish from here but the ones we get are all well above legal.
Can,t remember if i mentioned this in a previous post but my mate had a metre long yellow tail kingie follow his plastic to the surface.
Cheers #Brent
ps These guys are #the soft plastic specialist's of peel island.

DaneCross
28-08-2004, 07:04 AM
offshore_4.9,
we'll be out there saturday morning too, keep an eye out for us in a 475 quintrex bayhunter with ausfish stickers on the back and right hand windscreen. Hopefully its not too crowded out there :-/
With the predicted northerly, can anyone shed some light on any spots on the southern side of peel that are worth a try??
Dane

Duncs
28-08-2004, 11:54 AM
Here are a couple more pics from Tuesday.

Leon and Brent in Leons Boat
http://www.#######.com/albums/Fish-Head-Sponsor-Gallery/Leons_Boat_24_8_04.sized.jpg

Me with a couple of 45cm fish taken on the Zooms, one of three double hook ups we scored on this stretch
http://www.#######.com/albums/Fish-Head-Sponsor-Gallery/Snapper_at_Peel_24_8_04_001.sized.jpg

Duncan