View Full Version : House call @ Hutchies

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 07:31 PM
Early start from Bribie this morning and greeted with a less than flat trip out to Hutchies :o

Lots of rain and lumps but the doctor was definitley making house calls. All up I went 5 from 9 hits in a nice 3hr session. Kept three and released 2 cause I had no more room in the esky.

Theres been a few caught already but I'll claim first points for hoo postin on Ausfish for 2005/6 season - Hoos ya daddy now 8-)

Sorry about the pics - solo mission and hard enough trying reel em in and gaff. No in water shots - The big boy was beautifully lite up on all of his 3 boatside journeys - all occassions he went for another 100m bursts.

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 07:32 PM
::)

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 07:33 PM
8-)

rakinray
05-11-2005, 07:55 PM
G/ day Greg nice work on the whoo trip mate been gettin the speed gear ready for a run and since i saw the diver report last week and now yours i think its time to RUMBLE ! Five from nine hits and solo you gotta be happy with that ;) Many other boats out ?

CHEERS RAY :)

mattooty
05-11-2005, 07:57 PM
Awesome fish!!! How big did the largest one go and how big were the smaller ones? Did you get them on lures or baits? What were the fights like?

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 07:59 PM
Ray - not too many - was pretty good conditions while it was raining. Youre spot on mate - the bait and sinkers can be put away for a while

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 07:59 PM
:P Bloodshot 8-)

DougHanning
05-11-2005, 08:00 PM
I thought that wahoo last week might have slipped your mind! Great stuff, all from Hutchies? I'm diving tomorrow so it's good to know they are hangin around. I know some guys who dived out there today but the said the temp has dropped back to 22 compared to last week at 24. They only saw one hoo.

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 08:04 PM
Doug lol I should correct the first claim to first on rod/reel. ;D ;D ;D

Water temp did not get up over 23.5 while I was there but there was one spot they were schooling over that I got a hit on every run near Hutchies 8-) :-X

rakinray
05-11-2005, 08:05 PM
No Doug it just got me off my arse and sorting out the speed gear always look forward to your dives.

CHEERS RAY :)

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 08:08 PM
Matt - Didn't weigh them so no idea . Fight was like all hoo - faaaassssst !!!!!! :o

Doug - Were your mates in a poly C/console ?

rakinray
05-11-2005, 08:10 PM
G /day Greg we had the same thing a few weeks back when the kingies were schooling up on one particular spot that we got hit on every pass, just got to move to new house next week and then im FREE ! Bring em on !

CHEERS RAY

DougHanning
05-11-2005, 08:10 PM
Sweet but how can I sleep now? Wahoo tend to get the heart racing. Hopefully I can add another wahoo to this tomorrow.

DougHanning
05-11-2005, 08:11 PM
Yeah hes got a 6m poly c/console. They got some cobes jacks and coro trout but no hoo

Sportfish_5
05-11-2005, 08:14 PM
If ya speak to him there was a trawler anchored near a hump where they were schooling. east/southeast of hutchies hump.

DougHanning
05-11-2005, 08:15 PM
Cheers greg will check it out.

philip_thomson
05-11-2005, 08:26 PM
good stuff greg they are awesome hoos. that biggest one is a ripper. ive got the pelagic gear ready now and the bottom bashers are in one of the back up tackle boxes.

hopefully thats the first of many for the season.

Cheers Phil

isaac
05-11-2005, 08:48 PM
nice hoos greg, gotta be happy with that start to the season and solo all the more fun, cheers Isaac

05-11-2005, 08:53 PM
Awesome Greg ;D top job without a deckie toooooo ;D

Darryl
05-11-2005, 08:59 PM
Top catch that!! What times the barbie ?

JB
05-11-2005, 11:31 PM
HOOOO RIIFFFFIC !!! THATS THE S@@## T my FRIEND ;D

Good work bruva

:D

Fisher_Boats
06-11-2005, 06:55 AM
Nice work Greg... ya sneaky bugger 8-)
heard a little story yesterday that you got into a few ;)
What size line??
Cheers Col

P-ROCK
06-11-2005, 07:44 AM
Was out there saturday as well, we got two huge and one average.big ones near trawler during the wet Heap of kings and tuna to keep us busy aswell.Dont know how you do it by youreself :o

Sportfish_5
06-11-2005, 07:55 AM
Col - 10kg line on the TLDs. U fishin the comp ?

P-rock - were u guys in the big Trailcraft with the riggers ? Yep most of my hits came just before that trawler but I got another four north end of Flinders (two double hook ups in a row is not fun on your own - lost two of em plus $90 of lures - bugga :'()

Was a top day :P

P-ROCK
06-11-2005, 08:03 AM
Yeah mate that was us,we were towing halco 190s around will try the pushers next weekend if all goes well

620sf
06-11-2005, 10:13 AM
Good fish Greg, heard you on the radio yesterday, sounds like there's plenty of hoo around at the moment. We left Mooloolaba early in crappy conditions and fished wide cal for a feed of squirey snapper and pearlies, nothing to write home about though.

Luke

blue_rogue
06-11-2005, 10:54 AM
Nice effort on the hoo's Greg.

We have just pulled the riggers out and contemplating when the fuel burning will begin on the Gold Coast. Probably another week or two before it will be worth it.

Did you get the wahoo on pushers or lead heads. Couldn't make it out in the photo.

Dominic

06-11-2005, 12:45 PM
Greg,

I thought we heard the call - "what is the bag limit of Wahoo". Brooksy and I said - that couldn't be Greg? ;D ;D

We should have kept coming. We were only 18kms away in the end - would have been nothing. That's an awsome trip mate well done - specially when you take into account the single sailor effort.

It was very very quite for us. One mackeral was the highlight of the day.

PS Sorry for calling you Peter but Streaker threw me. I knew it was Greg ;D

Bugman

Sportfish_5
06-11-2005, 12:55 PM
LMAO - no worries Brett

I heard that call for bag limits on the hoo as well - must have been a few happy people around yesterday. I really dont know what you would do with ten of the buggas - that is a lot of meat and I dont have that many relos. :o I run out of esky room so three was my keep.

Dom - hex heads were fav for the day but the Rapala got some good runs as well. They have been around there a while now - few weeks ago I had one at Smiths that made the bigger one look like a spotty :o He didnt like the boat much and put the hammer down and that was the last I saw of him and my brand new CD22 :'( :'( :'(

Phil T - keep that gear handy WE may need it very soon ;)

06-11-2005, 02:17 PM
Some nice fish there mate, great solo effort.

What dept were your 190's running at P-ROCK ? Just the standard 1m+ models or .. ?

And how deep do the CD22's dive to?

CT

snappa
06-11-2005, 02:33 PM

if u ever need a deckie ,,just call .... :)

i have to learn theres more to fishing ..than just "SNAPPA"

i like what i see ..>>>>.. :o

the new boat has the poles that go on the outside maybe u can show me how they work ... :-[

P-ROCK
06-11-2005, 07:23 PM
Some nice fish there mate, great solo effort.

What dept were your 190's running at P-ROCK ? Just the standard 1m+ models or .. ?

And how deep do the CD22's dive to?

CT #

the metre+ 190s.The Rapalas dont seem to handle the speed aswell and tend to pull out a fair bit.
cheers Tony

Sportfish_5
06-11-2005, 07:28 PM
Pete - the time is right to get those outriggers working ;) Once ya get a big hoo on maybe you will give the bottom dwellers a miss. You will get hooked ;D ;D ;D