View Full Version : SP JACKS AND TOADFISH IN THE TWEED

flickflack
03-11-2005, 09:34 AM
Hi guys

Me and my mate Blainey went for a fish up the Tweed River this morning to try for a few jacks. The idea was a bit of early morning trolling followed up by some sp's. Steve hooked what we thought was a big bag on the troll and when we pulled it in it turned out to be a huge toadfish. A few trolls later my Liviley lure (mad mullet) was slammed. I managed to wrestle a 50cm jack out which made the early start worthwhile. No more hits after that so we changed over to sp's. I just bought a megabass spin stick off RAEF so wanted to give it a go. Landed another jack that went 42cm on a 3 inch atomic jerkbait second cast. Caught one more flathead of 52cm before deciding to head home for breakie. A pretty good morning with the weather playing along nicely. Its turnung out to be a good Jack season judging by the amount of posts on the site.

Good fishing
Roderick.

flickflack
03-11-2005, 09:34 AM
The 50cm jack

flickflack
03-11-2005, 09:35 AM
the 42cm jack on sp

flickflack
03-11-2005, 09:36 AM
close up

flickflack
03-11-2005, 09:37 AM
Steve and Toadfish

flickflack
03-11-2005, 09:38 AM
and again

morty103
03-11-2005, 09:44 AM
Well Done Rod
Your doing well on the jacks, they are beautiful fish
Did you release them or keep them?
Morty

JB
03-11-2005, 09:47 AM
WHOA ... hahahahah, that is the ugliest dam thing i have ever seen. MY GOD> wat a mother in law of a fish.

Some awesome jacks there as usual mate, 50cm is a fair sorta fish to pull out of the snags.

Just revised me questions, lol should read the post more carefully!

The tweed sure has some great looking country for them #;)

JB

JB
03-11-2005, 09:51 AM
Rod, what sort of outfit did you catch the 42cm fish on? never seen that type of rod butt before. ??

flickflack
03-11-2005, 10:22 AM
Morty
Threw them all back mate including the toadfish
JB
It is a Megabass 6ft spin rod called a hedgehogg destroyer or something.I bought it off Raef on monday. He brought them back from Japan. It is an awesome weapon.

gogecko
03-11-2005, 10:23 AM
Well done again Rod, its getting monotonoous.....

How do you select which part of the river you fish?

Do you chooose mainly by looking at bank/tree structure OR by electronics (drop offs, shallows) OR are they just spots you know ?

Do you find the same tactics work when you fish a river for the first time?

Vic1
03-11-2005, 10:28 AM
Well done Rod.....another day of sleep walking at work????? ;D ;D

flickflack
03-11-2005, 10:33 AM
Gogecko

A few of the spots blainey showed me on the Tweed but it has been a case of fishing the river from the bar to the weir and sounding out likely looking spots and then fishing them. I spent heaps of time just looking around after i have caught a few I like to go exploring. It always helps for future trips. The spots seem to be very similar but I havent fished many different rivers in Aus so hard to say mate. Pretty much just get on the water and try a few different things that I think the fish will want on the day.

MJ
03-11-2005, 12:15 PM
Beautifull colours in those fish. Good work Rod.

03-11-2005, 12:22 PM
Hmmm your the unlucky bugger who ended up with some of Raef's gear aye.

Sorry but a megabass rod with a stella over estuary jacks anyday... sort of anyway!

What are the specs on that spin stick ?

CT

Benno
03-11-2005, 12:48 PM
Good old Flak does it again.. Mate your success rate is amazing!!
How good is that 2nd jack, love the colours on it, great pics..
Well done..

Benno

flickflack
03-11-2005, 01:01 PM
Ct

It is rated to 17lb and at 6ft is just what I was looking for to be able to handle jacks jew and smaller softies fished vertically, the longer rods dont get the hooks in as well

keen_as_mustard
03-11-2005, 03:55 PM
Roderick,

Nice jack there - hope to get down the Tweed this year to try for a similar photo!

Do you prefer the early morning, late afternoon, or evening for Jacks? I know many people profess to the theory of hitting the water late afternoon ahead of a storm, but that is not always convenient for those of us with a kid!

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Marty

SweetXR6
03-11-2005, 04:32 PM
Steve and Toadfish

One sexy Toad fish you got bud. KIDDING.

I Can't stay these things, they are really like the Ocean Cleaners.

flickflack
03-11-2005, 05:11 PM
Marty

I havent fished much for them in the aavo because I work 6 sometimes 7 days a week so I have to go in the morning before work. I think both times are as good .I have caught a few as late as 9:30 in the morning on softies down deep so I think its just a matter of preference.

jackash
03-11-2005, 06:01 PM
PHenomenal!! HAha awesome jacks... i don't know how u do it!! I WISH I DID THOUGH! KEEP IT UP YOUR ON FIRE!!
CHeers
Jackash

Jiggit
03-11-2005, 06:16 PM
hey flick flack , u seem to be using quite a heavy jighead on your plastic lure are u in deep water. kinda puzzled on how u are working this lure if i in shallow.

MidgieFood
03-11-2005, 06:36 PM
That first photo is worth blowing up to poster size.
Great catch.
And release.
;)

no_wind
03-11-2005, 07:06 PM
well done rod, viscious looking fish.
muz.

Toppy
03-11-2005, 09:04 PM
Hi there flickflack, whats steve's secret for catching giant tweed toadies? I've tried 4 years to catch one like that!
The jacks are a little on the small side, better luck next time.
Toppy

flickflack
03-11-2005, 10:24 PM
Toppy

Cheers mate see you finally worked it out must have been after the fourth rumbo or was it the fifth ;) ;)
The secret to the toadies is those 2 for $10 lures that swim sideways.

Jiggit

Mate It was in 14ft of water and the jighead was a 1/4 ounce, normally use a 3/8 on the slightly bigger jerkbaits but on the 3 inch i use the 1/4. in shallower water i just work the sp a bit faster same size jighead. In the deeper water make sure it hits the bottom or no go.

DICER
04-11-2005, 06:07 AM
great jack specimens!! You have some really top interesting photos flickflac.

aussiefool
04-11-2005, 07:23 AM
Well done mate ... living on the tweed I think I have a good idea where you got the first one ::) ::)

scroman
04-11-2005, 01:07 PM
Nice work Rod ;)
By the way - know exactly where you are - i know the bend in the river in the background ;) That's provided you caught the little sucker near where you took the photo ::)
Will trade you some spots 8-)
Good work Mate ;)
Troy

flickflack
04-11-2005, 06:16 PM
Cheers troy

Yeah mate got him there and he went straight back to his hidy hole. He said I could catch him again next week if I let him go.

rajawolf
06-11-2005, 04:12 PM
Top jacks....the toad makes me feel sick UGLy YUK!

fishin_till_late
06-11-2005, 06:14 PM
yer me and my friends have caught toadies like that in the tweed before. Actually my friend speared one the other day, chucked him back in the water, and it floated! lol wish i could catch jacks like that oh well great work there flickflack

Franco
07-11-2005, 11:41 PM
Top fish Rod!
I'll try to catch up with ya soon mate.

PS could you start taking a bikini model for your photo's to make them even more interesting! I don't fancy Blainey in a bikini ... maybe that toadfish would look better ....?? !!!.
;D ;D

Only kidding Steve!!

outsiderskip
08-11-2005, 05:47 AM
well done rod
nice jacks there
still trying to land my 1st jack

cheers pete

flickflack
08-11-2005, 10:05 AM
Franco

I will see what I can do there mate, try to take a few fishing but dont think the missus likes the idea ;)