View Full Version : Holiday roundup

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 09:46 PM
After having to turn down moffy and some college mates to go to Mapoon the week before my holidays I was already spewing before I even finished work. Anyway who really needs to go on a big long camping trip and catch heaps of fish and have the time of your life? >:( >:(
As you saw from his post the weather turned foul as he finished and I started my hols. I originally planned to have a crack at the Fingermark due to the closed season for fin fish but since that was out I had a couple of days to chase a Barra before it too was closed. I took another old college buddy Macka up the Daintree and he managed his first ever Barra. Not a biggy but he was rapt.

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 09:51 PM
You can see teh wind in the background and the fishing was actually pretty quiet with only a few Jacks and some other tiddlers landed for the trip. Next stop was the mouth of the Saltwater Creek for one last shot. Mick got a metre long Barra alright, here are the pics

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 09:54 PM
well, it is a metre :D

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 09:56 PM
because of the blood we kept it and it turned up quite well on the plate actually, not that we needed any more fish after the last few months

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 09:59 PM
I sooked a bit after that and went to the pub. Spotted these big girls in the pond below, only added to the frustration

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:00 PM
I called one over for a sympathy pat.

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:03 PM
She looked to be around 14 kilos and boy does she boof well when presented with a pilchard! 8-)

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:11 PM
With the wind still blowing we hit the Mossman River heads with chairs and beer and had a great time on the GT's and Queenies. I landed a great 20 lb Barra although out of season and released her in good shape (no photos first night). Mick nailed a nice Blue Tail Mullet in the Cast net which was dinner with a 3 kg GT that night. We hit it again the next arvo and again had a ball. Geoff continued his attempt to overtake me with the Vermin King title by once again hooking a 5 foot shovelnose. Once again it snapped him close to the finish. Several Queenies to Three kg were landed, one was kept for tea. Check out these shots of Mick hooking a guts of a Jack talking a Mullet way to big for it's boots

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:16 PM
The litlte fella swam away okay but we reckon it was best to remove the hook, especially with a 10 cm mullet still attached ;) That arvo we saw a huge Barra smashing bait at our feet at the mouth. I hope it rains soon so they breed and head back up river before the nets come out...

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:18 PM
Once again Mick caught the rest of Dinner in the cast net, a nice Flathead. We probably should fish for these more up this way, we see them a lot

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:24 PM
At last we managed a reef trip and with the trout having spawned and neap tides we had a tough time of it. Sorry Scuttlebutt but dad in the boat there was to be no reef luring. His idea of using lures involves a spoon on the end of some Piano wire skull dragging macks so bottom bashing was the compromise. Here's the old fella unhooking a good green trout in his best photogenic pose

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:28 PM
I finally talked him into holding up a fish properly when he nailed this nice Spanish

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:30 PM
How big do you reckon it is Moffy? ;D

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:33 PM
Geoff getting in on the act

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:36 PM
A nice strawb

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:38 PM
bahh who needs mackerel :D

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:40 PM
Okay last few shots with a what is it. I hooked this for Geoff on a metal slug. It's not a true Marlin lolly but looks the goods.

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:41 PM
closeup

Daintreeboy
11-11-2005, 10:43 PM
The giveaway. Moffy you can't answer this one......and @!^$$^ you for having such a good trip away you @%!^%!
Oh well back to work >:(

scuttlebutt
11-11-2005, 10:49 PM
some nice fish there as always Mark... saw a 'cuda today that would have bitten that one in half- they're an evil fish!

steve

cuzzamundi
11-11-2005, 11:39 PM
great pics there mate, thanks for that!

cuzza

the_real_fishcrazy
11-11-2005, 11:45 PM
The last fish is known as a 'mad fish'. Theres another common name aswell, but its slipped my mind.

Bad_Bubby
12-11-2005, 02:31 AM
Great pics daintreeboy, I like the trout and mega spaniard, not sure about the cuda though I think I'd just keep it for crab bait :)

Moffy
12-11-2005, 07:26 AM
Moffy you can't answer this one - but i know what it is. :-?

How big do you reckon it is Moffy? - its only a baby. being a skinny east coast mack, it wouldn't have weighed much either ;)

nice trip by the looks - few trout still on the bite, some macks and a nice cobe - but where's the reef jacks 8-)

Daintreeboy
12-11-2005, 10:22 AM
[quote]

nice trip by the looks - few trout #still on the bite, some macks and a nice cobe - but where's the reef jacks 8-)

Got 3 Red Bass! :'(