View Full Version : Townsville Breakwall

junglejunky
11-11-2005, 01:08 PM
Took a study break this morning and went for a flick with the placcys down at the breakwall. Pretty overcast and windy so I didnt have high hopes but surprisingly first cast with a 4inch minnow and I was onto a legal barra. He jumped and carried on a hell of a lot and then threw the jig right at my feet.... Closed season anyway. Trying to justify dropping it... :(

A few casts later, I was slow rolling a squidgy shad and right at my toes again, a really big jack broke the surface, swiped my lure and..... missed... Here we go, one of those days again.... Anyway cut the story short. It did keep firing, I landed a 35cm Jack, a thick set 54cm GT that plugged away forever, two nice fingermark one about 45cm, the other 39cm, and a 70cm flathead. Plus a heap more little GTs and Cod. AND I saw a huge barra crusing along the breakwall, but I couldnt get a lure to it quick enough and it disappeared. I reckon it was 90 - 100cm. :o

When the run stopped and the tide bottomed out, they went off the chew and ive retired back to the study den....

matt. :)

junglejunky
11-11-2005, 01:15 PM
Here's one of the Fingermark. ;)

aussiefool
11-11-2005, 01:19 PM
you gotta love those study breakes way 8-) well done mate

nonibbles
11-11-2005, 02:02 PM
Whereabouts on the breakwall were you - duckpond behind Casino, Marina, Port? #Looks like your on the reclaim somewhere by that soil colour. #Well done.

stunnedmullet
11-11-2005, 02:18 PM
Great stuff junglejunky
Impressed with the fingermark...nice work on plastics. Did you say you fished the run out to the bottom of the tide?
Damo

jackash
11-11-2005, 02:31 PM
Sounds like an awesome little trip! Now my exams are over... dont need to take breaks... I'm going to be fishing permanently!!
Jackash

Mick_the_Fish
11-11-2005, 03:15 PM
Well done Matt, when I was living in Townsville the breakwall was one of my favorite haunts. One reason was I was without a boat and land-based, the other was the type of fishing you describe in your post.

Well done, Mick 8-)

morty103
11-11-2005, 05:14 PM
well done mate, theres a good variety of fish there
morty

Bad_Bubby
11-11-2005, 11:20 PM
Nice going Matt, the breakwater appears to be producing some allright fish lately :o

cuzzamundi
11-11-2005, 11:35 PM
great work mate. wish there was that variety down ere landbased!

cuzza

junglejunky
12-11-2005, 01:34 PM
Cheers fellas,

nonibbles, fished the duckpond side (jacks were in there), and then got the bigger GT on the seaward side of the big rock wall that juts out. I then did the trek along the big rock wall and picked up the fingermark, trevs and flaty in the current on the point there. :-/ still buggered from that walk. Its a mission, I hate that walk. I always get half way and then reconsider. :)

stunnedmullet, yep, I pretty much fished the top to the bottom. Theres a little rocky hole on the end of that point. The current was raging off the sandbars and into the hole, where the fish were holding.

The breakwall can produce some good fish, but like anywhere, the action isn't always firing. I reckon working the breakwall by boat would be pretty productive, gotta give that a go soon.

matt. ;D

cuzzamundi
12-11-2005, 03:28 PM
hey morty, thats a bloody unreal pic/painting youve got on your profile setting. where'd you find it, as im looking for a pic like that to put on me wall!

cuzza

morty103
12-11-2005, 03:37 PM
ill send you a pm mate

Mozza
14-11-2005, 09:33 AM
junglejunky,

Done plenty of trolling along the breakwater but yet to have a session like that! Never fished the runout tho'. I've recently decided to restrict my breakwall fishing to on foot only. I could do with the excercise.

Most of my fish (barra mostly) have come from the inside of the north-trending rockwall. Although my biggest have some from the walls around the marina mouth including the 112cm monster reported here recently. 'Bin monstered by fingermark on the outiside on deep-diving lures. If you go for a troll, a word of advice: "if ya aint banging the rocks, ya aint knocking on the door"

Needless, you need good braid, hefty leader and a tackle-back, although I now prefer to fish without a snap-swivel so tackle-back won't work. With braid and a fairly rigid rod you can work the lure over the snags.

Mozza

junglejunky
14-11-2005, 05:10 PM
Hey mozza,

Yep that big barra I saw was cruising along the inside of that Northward pointing rockwall. A mate of mine up here has caught alot barra on that inside section by boat, biggest was in the mid 120s. How heavy do you go with the braid? Im using 20lb and 30lb bionic. :)