View Full Version : 53cm Jack Monday Morning

flickflack
08-11-2005, 04:44 PM
Hi Guys
Went for an early morning jack fish On monday and got a nice 53cm jack :). It must be a special length because I have now caught three jacks of exactly 53cm. The fish had been hooked before as there was a metre of 10lb line hanging out the jacks mouth with a small hook in its throat. I couldnt remove the hook without doing more damage so just snipped the line of as close as I could and after a few quick pics he was swimming again. Maybe next time he will be 55cm ;)It does show us just how much pressure gets put on these fish in summer and hopefully more of them will get released. I got the fish on a liveley lures mad mullet in chrome blue. I have substituted the standard hooks with Gamakatsu heavy duties and havent had one opened yet. That is saying something because I troll with a black sheep overhead that has 7kg of drag. The weather was pretty ordinary when we left the house with a bit of rain but was pretty happy with the result.

Good fishing Rod.

jackash
08-11-2005, 04:47 PM
Yet another awesome fish rod! As someone might say - Any pics? Keep it up! You've had an awesome start to the season.
Jackash

flickflack
08-11-2005, 04:51 PM
the 53cm jack

flickflack
08-11-2005, 04:54 PM
close up

jackash
08-11-2005, 04:54 PM
Great looking fish again. Do you ever target a fish and not catch it??? Well done again.

flickflack
08-11-2005, 04:55 PM
and another

Az
08-11-2005, 04:58 PM
beautiful fish mate, good stuff!

08-11-2005, 05:10 PM
Very impressive fish, well done!

Roz

08-11-2005, 05:19 PM
How much did you pay for the blacksheep Roderick? And is that the smaller 250 or the 300? Cant quite make it out in the pic.

Nice jack btw :D

flickflack
08-11-2005, 05:23 PM
Ash
Did you get my pm mate, it was just too much info to type

CT
It is the 300 mate, got it for a very good price from a mate of mine. He bought two 300's and then wanted a 250 instead so I was happy to help him out ;)

jackash
08-11-2005, 05:27 PM
Yeah I did, thanks Rod. In the middle of final Yr 12 exams atm (shouldnt be on here), but I'll contact you on the weekend.
Jackash

morty103
08-11-2005, 05:29 PM
Rod,
You did it again! your are unreal ;D ;D ;D
Good on ya
Morty

Scott15
08-11-2005, 06:07 PM
nice fish rod, have to try do that fish again this december, well done

flickflack
08-11-2005, 06:27 PM
No worries Scott just give me a shout when you get here.

fincho
08-11-2005, 07:48 PM
flick flack,

its been said in a lot of posts but every time i see one of your posts i feel like it has to be said again, you really are on fire!! I wish i could catch half the fish of half the quality you seem to manage every trip!! Keep up the good work, loving the reports!!

FINCHO

rabbitohbill
08-11-2005, 07:58 PM
Geez mate your eyes are looking red. Are you sure you are getting enough sleep? [smiley=sleeping.gif]

Dodgy_Back
08-11-2005, 08:29 PM
OK OK Where did you get it ????
Ive been trying hard the last couple of weeks and missed one on monday morn.
If I was on oneside of a canal entrance they are busting up on the otherside if I moved they were back to the other side.

Frustrated Mick

Gold coast of course

flickflack
08-11-2005, 08:42 PM
Fincho

Thanks mate.

Rabbito

Yeah mate only had about 2 hours sleep, had a busy night at the restaurant sunday and left the house at three in the morning .

In the Tweed mate on the right hand side of his mouth ;)

08-11-2005, 09:04 PM
You've done it again Rod! Well done mate, you give me something to aspire to.

cuzzamundi
08-11-2005, 10:41 PM
fantastic yet again rod! inspiration for the rest of us this summer! awesome.

cuzza

ps do those lures work at night? can you just cast and retrieve them rather than trolling?
thanks heaps.

Franco
08-11-2005, 10:51 PM
On ya Roderick!

I think you need to work at the restaurant even harder / longer so as to give those jacks a sporting chance!!

They probably call YOU the Red-eye terror from above!!

NeMo84
08-11-2005, 11:43 PM
yeh it's all been said, lovely fish and great reports ;)

scroman
09-11-2005, 08:40 AM
Bloody Hell Rod - I'm warning you son >:( ;) ;) ;)
top work - see you on the water Monday??
Catch ya soon.
troy

Benno
09-11-2005, 08:49 AM
Great work Rod..
It is good to be reassured that even if a fish does swallow a hook pretty deep, that its chances of survival are pretty high, through release or a bustoff.. Wouldn't like to be swimming around with a metre of 10lb line hanging out of my mouth though!!!!

Cheers Benno

flickflack
09-11-2005, 09:43 AM
Cuzza

Yeah mate they work at night, as you can see from the pic there wasnt much light around at the time. Yup you can retrieve them as well, they have a really good action. Ask the jacks ;)

SCOTTYGC
09-11-2005, 09:47 AM
Hey Rod well done agian mate

Do you use a clip on your lures?

or is that just a knot?

Scotty

gogecko
09-11-2005, 11:06 AM
Whats the difference between your Sth African clip and the Australian ones?
You mentioned we cant get those clips out here....

Nice jack, again.

flickflack
09-11-2005, 11:59 AM
Scotty

Mate its a clip , I use them on everything including minnows.

Gog

They are hand made by a mate of mine in Sa, small clips made extra strong. I havent seen them in any of the tackle stores. I use them cos I know they won't break and its easy to change lures. They also have a half circle so they dont mess with the lures action

Franco

When you gona post those pictures of the barra mate.

cuzzamundi
09-11-2005, 01:46 PM
thanks heaps rod. i'll give em a bash!!

cuzza

MidgieFood
11-11-2005, 02:50 PM
Your doing well down there.
I've yet to catch one that size.
What kind of poundage do you use as your leader?
You look happy in the pic and fusk who wouldn't be.

flickflack
11-11-2005, 04:33 PM
Midgiefood

I use 40lb or 50lb leader when trolling, depending on size of lure, and 20 or 30 when casting soft plastics or poppers.

Cheers Rod.

manangatang
13-11-2005, 10:00 AM
nice jack photos ,good on ya mate.

DICER
13-11-2005, 11:23 AM
simply amazing!

Mad-One
13-11-2005, 11:43 AM
Nice catch ...Well done again [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

Phil

dorado
13-11-2005, 06:17 PM
Fantastic catch mate! Been watching your Jack posts eagerly and trying to learn as much as I can from you. Also been looking everywhere for a lively lures mad mullet of that size and in chrome blue but no dice. Is that a six inch lure? I've checked out a few sites for Lively Lures and cant find any large mad mullets at all. Most of the ones I see are of the smaller/medium size but none in that colour.

Dorado

flickflack
13-11-2005, 07:29 PM
Dorado.

Where are you based mate

dorado
13-11-2005, 11:06 PM
Boondall, Brissy!

bigal
13-11-2005, 11:45 PM
nice fish man. there are some quality jacks round at the moment.

15-11-2005, 01:18 PM
Hey Rod,

How deep do those mad mullets in that size dive down to?

flickflack
15-11-2005, 01:29 PM
down to about 10 to 14ft depends on the line class
Mate just ask your local tackle shop and they will be able to get them for you.
They are very tough lures.

nagsy
15-11-2005, 05:14 PM
Flick Flack awesome fish. Jacks are my favorite NSW North Coast estuary fish. Just a quick question what tides do you prefer? Here (around Coffs) i generally do better on a run out tide and live baits than lures. Just wondering is it the same where you fish.

flickflack
15-11-2005, 06:25 PM
Nagsy

Mate I dont really have a preference .I sort of prefer the hotter days but my fishing time is a bit limited to the amount of work I have to do so I mostly just go when I have the time. Although the slower tides seem to be better for towing lures but then again some people might prefer the stronger run.I have heard many guys say the last of the runnout and when I say that I have caught quite a few on the high tide they sort of arnt really sure. For me its basically a case of I have some time I will go fishing.
Dont think that helps much bud,
Rod.

Franco
17-11-2005, 12:45 PM
Hey Roderick!

Just posted a story on my barra in Saltwater photo's section; check it out.

Got 2 jacks yesterday so haven't had time to write a post. Too busy fishing!!

flickflack
17-11-2005, 01:08 PM
Ile have a look mate. shot on the two jacks, at least it was worth getting drenched.

Why-ting
17-11-2005, 02:26 PM
lovely fish mate! I know alot of blokes like to fish early morning do u think it fishes beter than in the eavning

flickflack
17-11-2005, 02:35 PM
tough ask mate not sure cos I dont really have the time to fish in the aavos, only in the mornings

Bonesy
17-11-2005, 04:29 PM
That one nice jack there Flickflack :) :) ;) ;)

Bonesy [smiley=thumbsup.gif]