View Full Version : 4 Days at Wathumba Creek.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:17 PM
Well fella's I thought I would let you all know how my trip to Wathumba with 11 mates from work went. The weather was Great ,The food was brilliant and The Fishing was pretty good for us amatures. We headed up on thursday arvo and camped at inskip so we could get the early barge. The old girl had no trouble getting the boat to wathumba and we only had to snatch the mazda once on one of the inland tracks near waddy. Mate what can I say about Wathumba Creek just Bloody Brilliant. The colour of the water was amazing this was my 4th time to Wathumba and it was the clearest I have seen it there was hardly any weed and off shore it was just cobalt blue.

This is us heading up to Indian Head.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:19 PM
First Priority Get the boats in the water.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:21 PM
Now this is camping 3 1/2 kg's of beef and 3 1/2 kg's of pork on the spit with all the trimming's.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:23 PM
It's a hard life but somebody has to live it.

scuttlebutt
21-11-2005, 10:23 PM
geezus, you've got a good setup! That Wathumba is a beautiful place, well done

steve

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:24 PM
A nice spottie.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:26 PM
A nice 56cm kingie that was released .

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:27 PM
another nice spottie.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:28 PM
A really nice looking 3.8kg Snapper.

morty103
21-11-2005, 10:33 PM
Well done mate
That wathumba creek looks bloody nice, a real good set up you have, and some good fish to top it off
Morty

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:33 PM
He's on.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:34 PM
45 min's later so that's what it was.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:36 PM
A nice hammerhead shark we even pulled the gangs out of his mouth and let him go.

That's me holding the shark, at one stage it was swinging between my legs while I had a hold of it's tale which really got the heart going but I managed to get it all back under control.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:39 PM
My boat in the creek.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:41 PM
My boat offshore.

vertico
21-11-2005, 10:43 PM
did you go through the bar or launch at waddy point

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:43 PM
Check out the colour of the water it was incredible.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:46 PM
I meant offshore from wathumba we didn't go out on the otherside of the island sorry for any confusion I caused.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:48 PM
What else would you do after a hard days fishing.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:51 PM
The water in Platypus Bay was so clear and warm you would think you were in Fiji or the Whitsundays.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:53 PM
We couldn't resist the urge to play footy on the flats even though it was 30 odd in the shade.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:55 PM
The old bus heading home.

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:57 PM
The whole Gang at the Maheno Wreck.

vertico
21-11-2005, 10:57 PM
any big trevally ?

jibby
21-11-2005, 10:58 PM
And the Old Girl Pulling the boat off the barge to go home.

jibby
21-11-2005, 11:01 PM
No just one average treva and this fella that we found when we pulled over to inflate the tyre's for the trip home. I think he just wanted a lift off the island.

jibby
21-11-2005, 11:20 PM
Well I hope you all like the pic's we had a great time out there. The whole trip went off without a problem many beers were consumed and plenty of spotties were caught. Some of the younger fella's had never been camping before and to see the look's on there faces when they had turtles swiming past there feet and seeing all up inside the mangroves area was great. My only regret was that I didn't get a mangrove jack that followed my lure out of a snag only to turn his nose up at it and swim away but that's fishing.

Cheers from me and the boy's and Tight Line's ;D

land_based
22-11-2005, 12:21 AM
Mate looks like you couldnt have asked for a better holiday. Nice setup you have there. Good to see the old patrol still kicking it !!!!

P.S i dunno about that bloke dangling his feet in the water after catching tha hammerhead!!!! eek

22-11-2005, 05:58 AM
Did you guys camp on the south side. How were the Sandflies over there then? I have only ever camped on the north side which I have been told is now open again. Is it worth ferrying everything across if you come by car on the south side?

Scott15
22-11-2005, 07:49 AM
Very nice, we stay at Awinya creek when we go up, awsome place up there especially when the spotties are on

22-11-2005, 09:43 AM
What a top report, great pics too. How can I think about work now?? ;D Ah well thanks for sharing the trip with us, bloody top read that. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

ANYFISH
22-11-2005, 05:48 PM
gday mate how\where did you launch your boats at wathumba?
when i tried on the second last day of our trip up there we missed the peak of the high tide in the morning and figured even if we did get it in the drink it would be to hard to pull it out at the high tide at 8.30 that night.
thanks
anyfish

reefraider_II
22-11-2005, 05:55 PM
Bloody awesome read.Good to see others out there doing it.I just spoke to my missus about this thread and said that I wish some of our mates were as enthusiastic to get out there and do it .Cant wait to tow my boat up there .Maybe we can tee up a trip at the toyota classic??-marty

longtail
22-11-2005, 06:32 PM
just awesome mate :o
that really is a magic part of the world up there , great report made me feel like i was there ;D

jason

jibby
22-11-2005, 09:44 PM
Well fella's I'm glad you all liked my story. It was a bit tough on the trailer going from waddy to wathumba but we had no troubles launching the boats behind the mangroves at the bottom of the wooden ramp you just have to pick the tides. Yes we camped on the southern side where th facilities are and I found that if you go at the right time of year with the right tides getting out in the boats was no trouble. The sandflies don't bother me but some of the blokes had trouble with the sand flies, But they are already planning for the next trip in october. Next year we are taking 3 or 4 boats around the 5m mark and I am going to take up a 220lt fuel tank on a trailer so we have plenty of fuel for the boats. It looks like we are going to drive the boats from urangan instead of towing them across the island. Oh and I have to agree that it is a really magic part of the world.

Thanks for looking.

Jibby

jibby
22-11-2005, 10:18 PM
Here is a pic of my mate russells legs, we used him as a sacrifical anoded for the sandflies ;D. He has an allergic reaction to them and guess what he has allready booked his spot for next years trip.

What a trooper.

22-11-2005, 10:48 PM
Great report mate, ive been there once or twice and ive seen tourists run in fear of those sandflies, the high pitch screams like they are being eaten alive :o

goona
23-11-2005, 08:08 AM
Great fishing in a great spot Jibby. Did you do any crabbing in Wathumba. Interested to know if youy got any.

lukesnapper
23-11-2005, 01:16 PM
looks like an awesom trip mate, nice pics too! wel have to check that place out one day.
what a set up u had 2 lookin at that makes me hungry ;) and some quality fish to go with the trip. going by the photos it looks like the weather was perfect 4 ya's! water does look clean and blue.

rusco
23-11-2005, 05:14 PM
Great pics and looks like you had a great time....Two questions..1 any Whiting? and 2 any pro boats about?

might pay you to check.... If you go from urangan to Moon Point you may have to go across to the ocean side to get there ..Theres always been soft sand around Coongul Creek and if youre carring any sort of weight in the vehicles this could be a problem. Play safe.
rusco 8-)

jibby
23-11-2005, 10:01 PM
We did go crabbing but only got undersize muddies :'(. I saw plenty of whiting swimming around but most of our fishing was done out in the bay from the boat. When I said that we are leaving from Urangan I mean't that we are going to drive the boats to Wathumba instead of towing them there and meet up with the fourbies at the camp site.

Thanks for all the feed back it's great.

Jibby.

Oh and there were no pro boats but I have seen them before when I camped there previously.

ShaneC
24-11-2005, 12:38 AM
Sounds awesome matey...... I have to take the other half away for a w/end very soon, may be the place to have the best of both worlds. Great report.... Thanks

rusco
24-11-2005, 03:14 PM
Jibby Thanks for the extra info...Enjoy your next trip

rusco 8-)

Duyz72
24-11-2005, 04:34 PM
Excuse my ignorance, but where is Wathumba Creek???

24-11-2005, 05:29 PM
Good read jibby

And thanks for the pics [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

How much fuel did you guys go through

jibby
24-11-2005, 09:55 PM
Wathumba Creek is the most northern camping spot on the western side of Fraser Island about #40km NE of Moon Point. We used about 150-160L in my boat and about 20L in the tinny. My boat has a 90L tank and next time I am going to take over Lot's more fuel so we can fish places like Roonies wide and around near the Spit. Shane if you are going there I would suggest making sure your tent is sandfly proof the buggers can get through normal flyscreens no worries ask some of the guy's on our trip. My swag has extra fine flyscreens on it and not one get's in also make sure you take some bushmans rollon insect repelent and make sure the tides suit what you want to do like wether you have a boat or your beach fishing or estuary fishing. Also there are toilets and cold showers there if you were wondering and bring your own drinking water theres only bore water.