View Full Version : New Bay P.B.

20-11-2005, 10:14 AM
What you catch when you leave the camera in the car :'(
Colin and I headed across to Rainbow Sat Lunch for a arvo/evening attack.
Drifted the Straddie Banks for the first of the runout and managed two lizards, then it was off to one of my tuskie spots for the bottom of the tide.
Things were very quite till around 5.30pm when my tld 20 loaded with a full sandies buckled in the holder, 15min later and this brute of a blackspot was gaffted and boated.
My new digi scales went 14.4kg a new P.B. to my 12kg off Bulwer.
This fella must have wanted one last snak before he hit the sack for the night.
Worst scenario my camera's still in the fourbie back at the ramp, so pics are night time shots back at the ramp, other shots are kept for B & B.
Dropped him off on the was home at my local servo cool room, after some sweet talking to get some day time shots this morning.
We fished the coffee rock in Rainbow till the high at midnight, and manage two yellows.
Headed home to a very choppy bay with a 15+ blowing.
two lizards

20-11-2005, 10:16 AM
couple of yellows

20-11-2005, 10:19 AM
The Brute

Brejen
20-11-2005, 10:28 AM
Bloody awesome fish Webby :o. Waiting for the read in B&B.

Zeeke
20-11-2005, 10:33 AM
Dunno which one is more uglier.... but damn thats a solid lookin fish.. nice work there Webby

outsiderskip
20-11-2005, 10:38 AM
hi webby
awsome fish
;D like u
heeee

cheers pete

20-11-2005, 10:45 AM
That is an absolute CRACKER!!! Once again Webby kicks butt in the bay well done

20-11-2005, 10:46 AM
Webby,

top fish that [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

rando
20-11-2005, 11:00 AM
That would have pulled like a mack truck mate.
what size line did you get it on.and how did you rig the full sandie??
Top effort
rando

Commodore
20-11-2005, 11:18 AM
Nice fish Webby ;) still waiting ;)
Chong

philip_thomson
20-11-2005, 11:23 AM
awesome tusky there brian. quite a number of nights worth of great feeds to be had.

Cheers Phil

Franco
20-11-2005, 11:24 AM
Geez webby that's a bloody bulldog! I never fish the bay and can only imagine the brute force that thing must have on the end of a line!!

PS what line / leader was that on?
.... and pardon my ignorance but could you explain what "loaded with a full sandies" means??

Well done.

Kid
20-11-2005, 11:30 AM
That's an awsome fish there webby. What size hooks were you using, were they ganged?

allniter
20-11-2005, 11:32 AM
Well.......
you;ve done it again mr. webb
bloody show off ;D
nice fish mate :o :o
have to stock up on more supaglue now ?? ;D

20-11-2005, 11:34 AM
Hi Tld was loaded with 50lb braid with a 40kg leader, and a full sand crab was attached by a 7/0 circle super glued with lockite 425 to the crabs back.
Even with that line class they still pull and run as if its cotton wool.

Fishinmishin
20-11-2005, 11:48 AM
Well done Brian [smiley=thumbup.gif],
That fish needs a visit to Jenny Craig....too many after dinner crab snacks.......even got a double chin :o.
Cheers, Jay

matthill80
20-11-2005, 02:36 PM
wow awesome fish brian gunna try that real soon well done mate awesome fish once again. were the sandies live??

cheers matt

lukesnapper
20-11-2005, 02:52 PM
unreal webby that is one huge tusky! congrats on the new PB!

NeilD
20-11-2005, 03:49 PM
Brian, the fish you manage to pull from areas most fishos just race by on their way offshore is absolutely amazing. I am going to give that area a good going over around the christmas period. I reckon you would need every bit of your 50lb braid to turn that brute.
Congratulations on a great fish [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

20-11-2005, 03:54 PM
Thanks All, the photo really doesnt do it justice, on what a beautiful speices these fellars are, so heres a shot side on, which will give u a better idiea of size and length.
Jay i think the double chin is helped a bit by my hand rammed up its gills ;D

Thunderbird
20-11-2005, 03:59 PM
Drooling! Webby that's a monsta.

DaneCross
20-11-2005, 04:04 PM
Thats absolutely awesome Webby.... unbelievable :o

Scott15
20-11-2005, 04:16 PM
awsome fish webby

propdinger
20-11-2005, 04:23 PM
:o :o :o :o :o very nice brian

did you use your downrigger on the setup for it?

jeff

chemmy
20-11-2005, 04:54 PM
thats a ripper fish webby great job

aquarius
20-11-2005, 05:57 PM
Gee Brian i have heard stories from old timers about the monster parrot in the Rainbow caught using 80lb hand lines and now the guru of Moreton Bay shows us that they do still haunt the area.
Awsome catch Mate.
Look forward to the pics in next months B n B mag.
Cheers Brent :D

JayT
20-11-2005, 06:04 PM
Hey Webby,
Thought I might add my compliments as well, Mate when you haul a fish like that over the side do you just kick back and have a laugh at the size of the thing? I know I would! ;D
Absolute ripper, cant wait to see it in the mag
Cheers Jason

searaider
20-11-2005, 07:00 PM
WEBBY ,
What can I say ?
UNBELIVABLE Fish , like the others , I'm looking forward to your article in B & B .

I bet there were a few Black Cans opened to celebrate that BEASTIE .

Searaider 2

isaac
20-11-2005, 08:03 PM
that things got an ####### as big as a man ;D what a freak, onya webby. cheers isaac

20-11-2005, 09:38 PM
Jeeezzz Webby for a old fella you catch big fish ;D with a parrot like that i'd die one happy man!......... ::)AWESOME MAN

20-11-2005, 09:45 PM
Isaacs the reason mate they have big A-Holes is they munch up coral and grit, and im bloody sure if i was eating that stuff, i would want one as big to get rid of the debri ;D
Whatch the old bit Spiro, you chase tuskies in the wrong place ;D
Neil thats the prob with a lot they race over terriotry thinking things are bigger and better in the deep blue, and dont try their own backyard ;)

Always_offshore
20-11-2005, 09:51 PM
yeh gotta admit, one helluva nice fish! ;) :) :)

noluck
20-11-2005, 10:18 PM
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] AWESOME MAN WELL DONE WEBBY NICE FISH MATE

now i know what monste are out there .i got bastet so many times never tought about fish like that.
cheers no_luck

SeaSaw
20-11-2005, 10:53 PM
Now thats a brute Webby. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Hope you got some good daylight shots, and combed whats left of ya hair ;D ;D lol .... could be a B&B cover coming up.

20-11-2005, 11:14 PM
Webby, webby, webby.... You harass people about catching bait, then pull in fish like that!!!

Damn mate! Is there anything you can't catch!!!

Top fish mate. Hopefully one day I will be able to give you a few rums for a few hints from the info you hold..... ;)

(Still waiting for that Mud trip ;) )

reeldreamer
20-11-2005, 11:57 PM
Un bloody believeable! Awesome fish!

21-11-2005, 09:13 AM
:o :o :o what a BRUTE of a Tuskie, nice one Webby ! :)

21-11-2005, 09:18 AM
That is going to take some serious filliting..... :) I struggle to rip a fillet off a 2kg tusky.

21-11-2005, 09:42 AM
So I see you're getting ready for Tassie :P

craigie
21-11-2005, 05:30 PM
Webby,

YOUR KIDDING :o :o That is one serious Gut Buster !!

I would imagine Scotty W. may get to see it in the next B&B, especially if you get the prized "Money Shot", opps, I mean "Cover Shot".

Keen to hear the full length version on its capture.

Very impresive ;)

Craigie.

21-11-2005, 06:59 PM
Mark nearly at that stage where you have to comb it over the top to fill in the gaps ;D
Brett the only thing i want from Tassie is some sweet crays ;)
Cragie, Nearly gave Scotties 15kg beast a run for its money.
So when we headen out in the Red Express, seeing as Brett's too busy being a big time game fisho ;D

bazzaman
21-11-2005, 07:19 PM
SENSATIONAL BRIAN!!!!!!!!! :o :o :o :o

TOP THAT ONE REGULAR BAY FISHOS! ;) ;) ;) ::) ::)

Shane

craigie
21-11-2005, 07:27 PM
Webby,

I thought for a moment there you may have topped scotties best, it should impress him all the same ;)

Watching the weather for this weekend. I have Saturday free if you would like to be the Co-pilot ;D Keen to get a few more Macks, thinking either Shipping chanel beacons from Tangas to Bribie.....or driving to Moolooaba and hitting wide currimundi ???
If the weather is ordinary, we may have to sneak over to the Rainbow ;)

Yes, "Buggy Dyer" has billy fever, not sure how we lure him back from the dark side of the force ??

I'll be in touch, late in the week,

Craigie.

vertico
21-11-2005, 07:45 PM
that is an absolute snodger , when we going my boat or your ;)

Jiggit
21-11-2005, 07:58 PM
freakin kickass

JComino
22-11-2005, 08:33 AM
Top parrot Webby. You will have to enter a few more comps catching fish like that Jurasic beast!

Jason.

Escapee
22-11-2005, 04:16 PM
Webby

Congrats on a great fish. Can you tell me was the sand crab alive or dead when you used it as bait? If it was alive do you find that the locktite holds the hook onto the shell without any problems?

Escapee

22-11-2005, 07:05 PM
Hi Escapee, No there dead, too much stuffing around keeping sandies alive in a live tank. Plus you would have to catch them on the way out, as they dont last too long once out of the water, quicker to pull into a seafood outlet and buy a few.
Once this locktite goes off you would have to smash the shell to get it off.
Hi Jason good to see you join up, F&%$ the comps, what chance do you have in the bay when evenone heads offshore.

Sproulesy
22-11-2005, 10:41 PM
Great fish there webby, hope to catch on like that anywhere on day.

23-11-2005, 07:25 AM
Bloody nice fish webby, would have been a top 15 mins of fun

youngfisho
23-11-2005, 12:18 PM
WEBBY WROTE
Hi Jason #good to see you join up, F&%$ the comps, what chance do you have in the bay when evenone heads offshore.

thats what scott waugh was saying in the straddie classic. #didn't have any luck offshore so decided to fish inshore. he sat and anchored at myora for 12 hours and pulled in a 7kg and then the next day a 12.95kg tuskfish. # ended up with 2000 dollars classic catch prize money.

andrew

ps webby thats a stonka of a fish. Scott waugh was sayin he thought his 12kg fish pulled more like a shark when it first hooked up.

Reefmaster
23-11-2005, 01:12 PM
Good stuff Brian
That would have to be a one in a life time fish. Its a stonker :
bloody ugly bugger but ;) ;D

Regards Greg

rakinray
25-11-2005, 03:56 PM
G/ day Brian so this is what happens when im off air for a few weeks you have to go and show off with an absoloute monster of a tuskie that will take some beating ! Well done on the pb mate and hope to be into em soon.

CHEERS RAY ;D

bigmack
25-11-2005, 04:45 PM
man I have trouble getting through the armour plate scales of the little ones weve caught off Mooloolaba - how do you go about filletting that bugger and do they still chew ok at that size?

one ugly mother thats for sure - ( the fish)

A whole sand crab for bait - lovit!

BM

youngfisho
25-11-2005, 05:32 PM
might I suggest a high pressure gurney or sandblaster for those scales ;D

mate of mine tappies said he has trouble spearing tuskies. the 11kg model he speared was a bugger of a fish (tasted good to)

(the armadillo of the ocean)????? perhaps

andrew