View Full Version : TWEED JACK

jackreeper
08-12-2005, 03:23 PM
Took Dad for a quick fish late Sunday arvo on the Tweed & after a couple of bust offs he managed to boat this nice Jack. Caught on live bait. Fight wasn't that long but pretty intense.

Unlike flickcatch, we usually only manage 1 or 2 a season between us so I don't really have a problem B-lining it for the BBQ when we get one. Easily my favourite fish to eat out of the river. If i start landing them consistently then yeah i'll be throwing a few back.

Definetely keen to catch a couple on lures.

jackreeper
08-12-2005, 03:24 PM
Dad out of shock & happy again !

jackreeper
08-12-2005, 03:29 PM
Token shot of me with Jack. When he gets a bit older I plan on telling him i caught it.

power_shad
08-12-2005, 03:29 PM
Nice jack - I don't think you could find a photo of me not smiling with a jack like that...... ;D

08-12-2005, 03:30 PM
Way to go Barge,

Your lucky to be out fishin with ya old man [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

vertico
08-12-2005, 03:42 PM
thats a great jack barge well done

gawby
08-12-2005, 03:50 PM
Well done there dad. ;)
Wouldnt mind a jack or two like that myself. :P
Graeme

Billo
08-12-2005, 03:58 PM
;D ;D ;D Dads picture diappears and yours takes the mantle piece ...love it ! ;D ;D

heck theres some Jacks being caught down there , this stinking weather is good for one thing atleast !

Scott_Watson
08-12-2005, 04:24 PM
Good jack, great chewing.
Well done Barge.

Watto [smiley=grin.gif]

hot_stuff
08-12-2005, 04:45 PM
well done mate, still trying to get my first for the season.
azzman

flickflack
08-12-2005, 04:48 PM
good size fish mate well done

lukesnapper
08-12-2005, 05:13 PM
big jack mate, hes got some big teeth on him ay!

what did it weigh there mate i cant quite see the reading??

aussiefool
08-12-2005, 07:19 PM
as all have all above have said well done .... well done indead [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] one day I'll be the one holding the jack ;D

jackash
08-12-2005, 07:22 PM
Fantastic jack... was the on live poddies! And yeah, very interested to know the weight.
Jackash

Toppy
08-12-2005, 07:56 PM
Nice fish Barge!
Nothing wrong with the quality of that one.
Toppy

jackreeper
08-12-2005, 08:26 PM
Thanks for the comments.

Yeah it was caught on a poddy mullet.

As far as the weight goes, those scales are old & pretty much ro*ted so neither of us even checked when we held it up for the photos believe it or not. I wouldn't trust the reading anyway, especially in the low range....they're really stiff. I estimate it would have been around the 3kg mark though ? Give or take a bit ? We've only caught a handful but that's been the best one yet.

simonpp82
09-12-2005, 09:49 AM
i want one

09-12-2005, 10:32 AM
Barge,

I know what its like to get out done by the old man :'(

flickflack
09-12-2005, 12:10 PM
Nothing wrong with being outdone by your old man, its when the missus gets a bigger fish thats when the trouble starts mate :-* :-* ;)

09-12-2005, 08:25 PM
Nice fish, I tried and tried but I've never managed one out of the Tweed.

My usual spot was under the Tumbulgum bridge.

Did get a nice one on a lure from Pottsville Creek, out over the sand fishing for flathead.....no snags or rocks to speak of. Thought I had hooked up on a massive flathead, nice surprise!

Cheers Roz

jackextracter
11-12-2005, 12:05 PM
I hate seeing dead jacks they all should be let go there to much of a good thing to kill

burkleybeginner
11-12-2005, 04:33 PM
nnnniiiicccceee mate were did u pull him from