View Full Version : popin off the rocks

setthehook
09-01-2007, 10:02 AM
Forecast was for a serious weather change around 10 am this morning and a convenient tide change as the sun rises was enough to get me down the stones for a spin session. I threw a dizzy popper around for a couple of hours and scored a nice Queenfish and 2 rat spanno's. Another bloke scored a rat spanish aswell and another bloke got bitten off wich was funny since i offered him some wire....
Anyways here are a couple of snaps and ya gotta love it!! i was home and showered sitting on the couch with a coffee at 8.30am !!!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/queeny1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/uglyhead.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/ratspanno.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/ratspanno2.jpg

geoff72
09-01-2007, 10:21 AM
top queenie, bet he gave you a good runaround. what sort of popper is that,(brand). top colours to,red and white do seem to be the best.
well done

nuggstar
09-01-2007, 10:32 AM
awsome queenie i wish i was there with ya ;D love ya web page 2 8-)
keep up the good posts and i love that rod ya got there ;)

setthehook
09-01-2007, 11:48 AM
The poppers are "Dizzy" poppers. They are made by a bloke "Dizzy" down yamba/Iluka. Awsome poppers!!

Cheers nuggstar glad ya like the site too!! ;)

_Dan_
09-01-2007, 12:12 PM
Nice fish.

Yeh Darren Borg makes them, he owns dizzy's Tackle store down that way. Hes pretty renowned for his land based Tuna fishing.

Without giving to much away i am heading up that way next week and wouldnt mind a few sneaky tips on areas to look at?

setthehook
09-01-2007, 12:32 PM
he left the shop and is doing the ABT's or something now. He still makes the poppers though.
Where you heading?

09-01-2007, 01:03 PM
Nice work as per usual

_Dan_
09-01-2007, 01:53 PM
I bought a pacific composite of him while i was down there a year or 2 ago.

Heading up to Bargara and then moving around that area for the next ten days.

Im keen to travel a little here and there. Il send you a PM

setthehook
09-01-2007, 03:40 PM
no worries ill reply to your pm mate!! ;)

Smailesy
09-01-2007, 03:58 PM
top fish mate

setthehook
09-01-2007, 05:16 PM
_dan_ you might have to send that pm again if you have already as my inbox was chockers...sorry :-/

09-01-2007, 06:40 PM
Well you did as your name suggested and came up trumps with the fish you caught. Well done! Nice fish and great photos. Something I would like to get into some day is some land based hard body lure work with someone in the know. Would love to challenge fish like that land based (or anywhere for that matter) ;D

Toppy
09-01-2007, 09:39 PM
Fantastic pics.......crystal clear.
Gotta love those mini mid week sessions, can often be the best ones!
Toppy

setthehook
09-01-2007, 10:01 PM
thanks ;)

one good thing ive found up in queensland is you dont need to slog it out for days on the rocks to find a good fish like in nsw, just pick the best tide and go work it for a few hours.

Pistol_Pete
10-01-2007, 09:22 AM
Yes Rob does it again... ;D
I am coming up this week or next and thats that!!!.... :)