View Full Version : Hilux or Rodeo??

DaneCross
23-09-2004, 02:41 PM
Gday fellas,
I'm after some quick replies to this as a decision is going to be made tomorrow one way or the other.
The two contenders, in no particular order;
1. Rodeo '99 model 103000k's 2.8litre turbo diesel. All the extras, t-bar, bullbar, snorkel, etc
2. Hilux '98 model 180000ks 3litre diesel with all the same stuff as the rodeo canopy, tow bar, bull bar extra side steps, power steer, air con, etc.
Both are of very similar price.
Differences obviously are the kms, hilux has big sand tyres and thats about it. Will be looking to re-sell in approx. 5yrs, by then the hilux will be at or above 300,000km and the rodeo just over 200,000km - how do they look on re-sale?
It will be used to tow my boat, some occasional trips to Moreton/Frazer but mostly just on-road commuting/general use.
After any opinions on either car, good or bad. Both are in good nick now, what will they be like for the next 5yrs/150,000km??
Dane

bruce4x4
23-09-2004, 03:11 PM
Hilux for toughness.

Hilux for resale.

oh yeah, I'am a toyota man ;D ;D

megafish71
23-09-2004, 04:40 PM
DC, I'd go for the Rodeo. The Isuzu engine is as good as it gets, probably better than the toyota IMO anyway. The rodeo will ride better than the hilux, so it will be more comfortable on longer trips. The 2.8ltr turbo diesel should give you much better performance than the 3ltr hilux. Just my opinion anyway.

Good luck with the purchace and let us know whick way you decide.

Cheers Ron

Big_Kev
23-09-2004, 05:18 PM
The lux will go the distance and do the tow.
It will be worth heaps more in 5 years then the Rodeo.
Don't get me wrong the Rodeo is a good truck and will do the job and last as well. But the Toyota will hold better for resale and thousands of dollars talks a lot of languages.
But if you want a real truck get a Cruiser. LOL :-X

jimbamb
24-09-2004, 03:59 AM
Mate.
the lux will hold value better but with 300K on the clock it will be discounted by the dealers.3L motors still short on power really need a hair drier to make them comparable to rodeo.
Hope u r really confussed now!!!!

nomad
24-09-2004, 05:27 AM
Ive got to agree with Jimbamb, but also with Reel Hard-- Get a Cruiser. Ive got a Hilux, they do tow but it pulls the guts out of them. [smiley=whip.gif]

Jack_Lives_Here
25-09-2004, 01:20 PM
Rodeo [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

DaneCross
26-09-2004, 11:50 AM
Thanks for the feedback guys :)
The result...

cooky
02-10-2004, 11:38 AM
you can't go wrong with the RODEO - excellent car - IZUZU tough.

I now have a hilux (very happy) - 2003 model and went HILUX because of resale.