View Full Version : 4WD Poll

MAD-MIC
28-03-2005, 10:30 AM
Hi All, I am about to enter the 4WD market, and I thought I would throw the question out there and ask your thoughts on the best all-round 4WD out there to look for when considering:

Road use.

Off - Road use eg. dirt roads. ;D

Beach Use. ;D

Mechanicals / Reliability ???

I am not talking about vehicle that have been modified or have had enhancements put on them from places like ARB, just a normal stock standard fourby that is ready for basic off road work.

Big_Kev
29-03-2005, 06:03 AM
It is realy a matter of personal choice.
I think you have opened a can of worms that will confuse the issue no end for youself.
For me you have not listed the main runners.

29-03-2005, 08:49 AM
I'm with you Kev - How dare he not mention Landrovers - that's what you were talking about wasn't it ;D

29-03-2005, 09:56 AM
I went for other
rr

Guardian
29-03-2005, 11:30 AM
I had a 60 Series Lancruiser for 20 years, did not touch the motor, transmission or transfer case. Sold it with nearly half a million k's on the clock. Went everywhere in it bush and beach alike. I had other 4WD's but the 60 Series was the best.

Good luck, hope you get a good one.

Daintreeboy
29-03-2005, 12:05 PM
here we go ::)

bruce4x4
29-03-2005, 04:01 PM
80 Series Yeahaaaaa!!!!!!!!! Yep were of ;D ;D

Dug
29-03-2005, 06:25 PM
Only in America! these are way over the top but worth a look at.

http://www.f650pickups.com/indexb.html

Some people just have way too much money. [smiley=confused.gif]

ANT_MUDDE
30-03-2005, 12:47 PM
I just up dated from an 81 patrol to a GU 2002 Patrol. Must say was very happy with the old jigga and so far very happy with the new one. Read around do your homework and know what to look out for. Have to agree, all comes back to personal taste. If you go for a Nissan go for 2002 or newer to get past the troubles.
Good luck

Big_Kev
30-03-2005, 02:04 PM
I'm with you Kev - How dare he not mention Landrovers - that's what you were talking about wasn't it #;D
I was leaning more toward the Range Rover actualy Brett and almost anything Jeep.

deb
30-03-2005, 02:27 PM
Have you updated kev?

Big_Kev
30-03-2005, 03:44 PM
No I still have the Cruiser I got a year or so back, but I have always been a Jeep man Deb.
Jeep ute's are very hard to come by, but the ears are open.

deb
31-03-2005, 01:40 PM
aaah, yeh your not wrong with the jeep utes very scarce. Thinking about it, I haven't seen any in yards on my country trips for a while.
The old patrols gone, rust went through the cross members, just wasn't worth fixing this time around. Staying fairly quiet in a 5yr old Merc 320 :)

Dug
31-03-2005, 02:53 PM
Jeep Ute? have you seen these?

I would love to know what they would cost in Australia.

http://www.autoblog.com/entry/1234000043026662/

It would be the only way to get me to buy a Jeep ;D ;D ;D ;D

caloundra
02-04-2005, 05:17 PM
mad mic
how long does it take to count the votes ???

MAD-MIC
06-04-2005, 06:07 PM
That's a bloody good question Caloundra ;D

I was just wondering the same thing myself.

Does anyone (maybe an administrator) know how to close the poll and release the results?

It looks like quite a few people have polled.

07-04-2005, 10:36 AM
how many people have actually driven all of them to be able to make the comparison you asked for ???

MAD-MIC
07-04-2005, 11:07 AM
That's a good point Jeremy - Probably no-one.

Unless you are a used car salesman or someone trustworthy like that ( :o :-X) most people are unlikely to have driven many different makes and types of 4WD's. I would say.

I guess what I am trying to do here is draw on the mass knowledge and practical experience of the wide audience of this group and also incite a wide range of +ive and -ive opinions from the more outspoken members from the group. :P

When I do buy a 4WD later this year, it will be my first one, which is why I am spending quite some time at the moment looking around and reading up as much as I can- not to "open a can of worms and confuse the issue no end for myself" as was suggested earlier in the thread, but to gather information and make and informed decision when the time comes to choose one.

SURF_SNIPER
07-04-2005, 03:56 PM
try doing this in a cruiser!

Drew.

SURF_SNIPER
07-04-2005, 04:29 PM
Get a landrover defender!

fantastic fuel economy! ( 9-10 liters per 100Km ) 800-900 Km from a standard 80 liter tank

Huge truck like box section chassi which make toyotas and nissan look like toys, this prevents twist off road

all aluminium body doesn't rust on the beach.

alloy body is light so vechicle has a low center of gravity making steep climbs a breeze.

best approach ( 53 degrees) and departure ( 50 degrees ) of any produced 4x4 in the world

best side slope traverse angle of any 4x4 in the world 50 degrees!! ( this is due to the low center of gravity )

longest front and rear wheel travel to that of any mass produced 4x4 in the world

great in cab vision

can tow upto 3500kg unbraked and upto 5000kg if trailer fitted with braked

fulltime 4x4 with lockable center diff

full coil suspension with standard long travel springs and shock

fully floating soild axles front and rear

triangulated 3 link rear suspension with "A arm " provides huge wheel travel

cheap to register 4 cyl and 5 cyl turbo diesles with heaps of low end grunt( they eat hills )

hand brake act directly on the transfer case like a truck providing unmatched holding power and wont start slipping in mud or after water crossings.

all disk brakes, aircon, cd player

what else do you want, oh and they look super tuff.

Big_Kev
07-04-2005, 04:35 PM
try doing this in a cruiser!

Drew.

Cruiser people are not that silly! LOL.

Goodoochaser
07-04-2005, 06:57 PM
I work in the forestry and some say get paid to go 4x4 driving every day, I also get to drive just about all the brands you can name including testdriving of new models of 4x4s as they are released.
Someone said this thread will open a can of worms and this is true, you need to take out the emotion and ask what it is that you need from your 4x4. and I don't think a pole will give an answer to what is best. I recently drove the latest V8 petrol Landcruser down into NSW via Tenterfield Casino, it was one of the most comfortable best rideing and responsive vehicles I have driven, with power to spare, but I could not afford the fuel bill and rego and parking at the supermarket would be a nightmare.
At the other end of the scale lets take the tray back turbo diesel Nissan Patol, how Nissan advertised them when first released showing people with wind swept face's from the acceleration has me beat as all the ones I have driven are snails in comparison to your turbo Holden, Mitsubishi or Ford courier but if lugging power is what you need and can put up with bone jarring suspension on rough tracks then this is the one for you, I will draw some flack from the Nissan followers but my intention is to draw attention to the individual needs for which you intend the vehicle to be used
Basically from what I see there is a percentage of off and on road ability that needs to be decided, then a huge range of other features and options, ie petrol or diesel, clearance and approach and departure angle if used in rough terrain, suspension travel, towing capability. the vehicles can be like chalk and cheese.
Now for the crunch I drive a turbo Diesel Landrover Discovery, not ideal but as close as I could get for my needs based on comparisons to what I drive on a day to day basis and what I have driven in the past, I needed economy, not to big a vehicle good all round vision and off road ability straight out of the box pretty good suspension on corrigated dirt roads and very good on the black stuff and power to tow a trailer filled with 1 tonne of fire wood and the 4.2m boat and camping gear, it fits the bill but I am open to change when something I believe comes along that fits better.

Happy debateing.

The Goodoochaser

Goodoochaser
07-04-2005, 07:33 PM
The full rig, set to go fishing

mako_5.2
07-04-2005, 09:58 PM
Surf sniper
I have my doubts that any state will legally allow you to tow 3500kg unbraked.

slugo
07-04-2005, 11:02 PM
toyota hilux..toyota hilux..toyota hilux... ;D nissan pathfinder...nissan pathfinder... nissan pathfinder ;D... damm" I can't make my mind up !!!

SURF_SNIPER
08-04-2005, 11:25 AM
Cruiser #people are not that silly! LOL.

he's not silly, just knows the limits of his defender!!! LOL ;D

Drew

SURF_SNIPER
08-04-2005, 11:29 AM
Mako, sorry typo. yes your right must be braked and to add, max towing cappacity is 3500kg + 1500kg pay load.

not many stock 4x4 you see can carry a vechicle payload of 1.5 tonne!
thats why energex use them to carry those big rolls of cables and hydrolic gizmos.

Drew

2DKnBJ
08-04-2005, 03:53 PM
Have owned several makes of 4wd and driven plenty of others.Currently own a 1972 rangie and a 2002 jeep laredoand can say the rangie shits over all of them except for the good old landie i once owned.you want to get serious with a 4wd go pre efi.The less electronics the better.
Dazza

macca
09-04-2005, 03:12 PM
After much research, I just bought a new Mitsubishi Pajero GLX Turbo Diesel Auto.

After owning a Maverick that was so thirsty, the Pajero manages 1000km out of a 90 litre tank.

It is a sensational 4wd, great for towing the boat.

Macca

CHRIS_aka_GWH
10-04-2005, 03:19 AM
Cruiser #people are not that silly! LOL.

ya right kev - all the pics seem to be nissans !!

SURF_SNIPER
10-04-2005, 06:07 AM
oh, nope, ive found a few toyotas too!!! ;D ;D ;D

SURF_SNIPER
10-04-2005, 06:10 AM
oh this one looks like a nice hilux.!!!! ;) ;D ;D ::) [smiley=hammer.gif] [smiley=hammer.gif] [smiley=hammer.gif]

SURF_SNIPER
10-04-2005, 06:20 AM
one for all the suzuki lovers!!!! ;D

SURF_SNIPER
10-04-2005, 06:22 AM
hey look this one looks like a hilux as well... nah couldnt be!!!

Drew [smiley=guitarist.gif] [smiley=hammer.gif] [smiley=laola.gif]

Big_Kev
11-04-2005, 02:52 AM
So where's the results?

MAD-MIC
12-04-2005, 06:15 AM
Would it be possible please for an administrator to close this poll and release the results?

It would be really interesting to find out the breakdown.

Dano
14-04-2005, 08:05 AM
Close!!!! ;DBut Landcruisers are unstoppable!!!

cooky
14-04-2005, 08:31 AM
basically the point is that is very difficult to buy badly. In the old days (not too long ago) you had lemons, crap 4x4, unreliable, etc. Quality has improved hugely and there really aren;t many crap vehicles of any make being released.

Personal choice is what you need to look at - prioritise. I've had a few 4x4s, and currently have a 2002 dual cab SR5 hilux with the 3.4l auto. I had a dual cab rodeo before that and a jeep before that. All with V6 motors.

My personal choice is comfort, medium range 4X4, power. I like the land rovers, but the power wasn't enough for me (didn't want to look at the V8s at that time). I also like having a ute - find it handy - but have a family - so 4 doors is great.

I'm interested (hope to have a look today) in the new Hilux SR5 because I would like more power (new one 175kw 4.0lt) and more room (apparently bigger than my model).

The reason I went to Toyota was basically resale. Resale kicks Holden and Jeep unfortunately and that has been the major problem with Land rover in the past (wouldn't mind looking at the new models). I lost over 60% value on the Holden and Jeep in 3 years ownership from new each. Red book prices for trade on the Hilux have me losing about 35% in 2.5 years.

SURF_SNIPER
14-04-2005, 03:02 PM
yotas are so expensive straight up, no wonder there got a high resale value, actual landrovers ( defenders) have a great resale value due to the fact they have hardly change in the last 40 years.

Big_unit
15-04-2005, 12:04 AM
Awwww come on and release the bloody results.

James.

Cloud_9
15-04-2005, 01:40 AM
Just reply to Cooky about the amount you lost on the trade in of your holden. i had the same problem.
But the biggest problem was that at 2 years the trade in was enough to pay out the lease with change.
at 2 years old the price drop was 4 Grand, at 3 years the price drop was 13 Grand.
if you CAN dump them at 18 months to 2 years MAX.

THE BEST 4WD IS A NEW ONE.
and it has to have HI and LOW RANGE.
then brand is up to you.
im on my second Rodeo 4wd the one ive got now is cumfy but the 2001 was better.
they won the open and standard class in the Australian Rally.
in 2004.

the new HI RUX looks a lot like a 2004 Rodeo .
but gota addmit the new Hilux's are a posability for my next 1
Holden will have to bring out something to counter the other brands big power outputs. IE: Courier and Hilux both with 175 Kw's. and 4L motor.

Cheers Cloud 9

MAD-MIC
15-04-2005, 05:18 AM
Hello Moderators,

With all respect intended, is there a magic word I have forgotten to say when asking for the poll to be closed and the results to be released?

I have asked twice already and I have not even had a response.

Over 800 hits have viewed this thread and even if half of them are votes, then it would be worthwile to close it now.

Daintreeboy
15-04-2005, 11:45 AM
Mic, PM Steve, he may not be watching this thread.
Cheers, Mark.

CHRIS_aka_GWH
15-04-2005, 02:37 PM
amart

amart

amart

bum, titty, bum bum

that should do it !

15-04-2005, 03:10 PM
where are the landrovers :o

chris, you would have had a chuckle hearing the tourists at nth nagala pass.. "thats 2 old landrovers in a row gotten through and the toyota and nissan got stuck ??? "

Big_Kev
15-04-2005, 04:33 PM

??? "

You do not really want the answer to that do you Rpb?? :P

CHRIS_aka_GWH
16-04-2005, 02:13 AM

chris, you would have had a chuckle hearing the tourists at nth nagala pass.. "thats 2 old landrovers in a row gotten through and the toyota and nissan got stuck ??? "

rob,

Being no where near as cruel as you #;),
I tend not to chuckle at the misfortune of others (owning Jap crap). Are there some good pics, are there huh, huh??

We, (mighty Landrover owners), got some bad press though during the week with those idiots in WA (my condolences to the families) who perished in the desert.

The phrase "dilapadated Landrover" hurt :'(, how about...
unloved,
poorly maintained,
idiot owned ....

CHRIS_aka_GWH
16-04-2005, 02:17 AM
I am actually surprised the Latest Nissan Navara hasn't been mentioned.
I've had the chance to drive one & its is very impressive. I believe they have also upped it a bit using the previous patrol engine & beefing the load capacities. If you were thinking hilux you would have an interesting choice to make - I almost think (not having seen the 2005 hilux) that they have raised the top end of that class.

MAD-MIC
16-04-2005, 05:54 AM
Interesting results.

Obviously Patrols are more popular than I imagined.

SURF_SNIPER
16-04-2005, 09:23 AM
Mudlow Rock Toll YEAR TOYOTA NISSAN L'ROVER MITSU HOLDEN MISC TOTAL
2000 23 12 7 14 8 11 75
2001 15 10 8 6 3 14 56
2002 3 0 1 2 2 6 14
2003 13 1 5 3 1 2 25
2004 14 6 1 5 2 5 33
2005 2 1 0 0 5

:-X :-X :o

Drew

SURF_SNIPER
16-04-2005, 09:24 AM
well, that didnt turn out how i wanted... ::)

MAD-MIC
16-04-2005, 09:41 AM
lol.... :D

what was that ???