View Full Version : What 4wd drive to buy,to tow boat up the beach?

zulu
01-06-2005, 01:09 AM
Looking for advice on buying a second 4wd, currently have a diesel Pajero Auto '03 model, I have been very happy with the towing capacity of this vehicle. My prefered fishing area requires towing the boat 3.5 hours with the last part of the journey towing up the beach [about an hour] and then launching from the beach, boat and trailer weighs close to 2 tons. The Pajero doubles as the family car and while I am away fishing the wife gets stuck with the work ute, which she is not overjoyed about. I am a bit concerned about flogging the Pajero up the beach all the time. So I am looking around at what I can get for about $20000 that would be best suited for the job. At the moment I am looking for a Landcruiser Wagon Diesel manual with probably in excess of 200 000 kms on the clock, about 12 years old, one that has preferably already been lifted [suspension] and big tyres on it. I will miss the Auto on the beach, but Diesel Autos seem to be a rare breed in that vintage/price range. Would appreciate Ausfish's advice on this matter. Maybe another breed of 4wd? Or petrol?
Cheers Troy.

jimbamb
01-06-2005, 07:22 AM
I'd recon ya on the right track with somethin with plenty of power Big turbo diesel ,wide tyres etc not too expensive,somethin it doesnt matter too much when the dreaded cancer gets into it.which is inevetiable? launchin off the beach etc cruiser or patrol.even an ol rangerover/disco could be ok

kleiny
01-06-2005, 07:25 AM
same as jimbamb turbo diesel ;) kleiny

Big_Kev
02-06-2005, 11:36 PM
You should be able to get a later model then 12 years old in a DX Cruiser Wagon (poverty pack-usualy white). Will be non turbo but will still do the job for you.
If you can luck out on an auto an extra cooler for the auto oil may be advised for slugging a bigger boat up the beach.
Cheers Kev.

zulu
03-06-2005, 02:45 AM
Thanks for your input guys, still looking.
Cheers Troy.

03-06-2005, 07:51 AM
landrover, is there anything else :o

Big_Kev
03-06-2005, 08:23 AM
landrover, is there anything else :o
A=YES

03-06-2005, 10:29 AM
Any other non rustables Kev.

Big_Kev
03-06-2005, 12:45 PM
Any other non rustables Kev.
A=YES

CHRIS_aka_GWH
03-06-2005, 03:08 PM
rob,

a recent study concluded that with enough cable ties & double sided taped all the plastic bits could be attached to an alloy block making Tojo KING OF THE BEACH at last. The arkward bit is all that glass flappin' around.

NeilD
04-06-2005, 12:48 PM
Its a pretty simple equation. If you are regularly going to expose your rig to beach conditions and need low gearing and torque to tow why would you look at anything other than a Landy ???

Neil ;D

SURF_SNIPER
04-06-2005, 01:48 PM
landrover, there's nothing else that will do the job better or live longer.

Big_Kev
04-06-2005, 02:01 PM
Well it did not take long or much encouragement for the Landrover people to start rabbiting on in typical style. RAFLMAO.
All praise the great Land Rover god.

zulu
04-06-2005, 04:02 PM
Guys, what is it with Landys? I still got to get the boat / trailer to the beach on the highway at something close to the National speed limit? I know my question was, what was best up the beach? But what is the best ''Allround vehicle''?
oops! What have I done? :)

04-06-2005, 06:10 PM
Hi zulu
Understand where ya coming from
so I reckon you may need to hunt up a RR

Morlers
04-06-2005, 09:18 PM
Blaze, Does that mean a Rolls Royce? on the beach? In the surf???

;) ;)

Morlers

SURF_SNIPER
05-06-2005, 12:41 PM
may not get there as quick as a V8 ::) but will get you further and use less fuel then the others ;D

up the landie [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

06-06-2005, 10:40 AM
why not just buy the missus a nice small car, maybe sporty, maybe not.

zulu
06-06-2005, 10:57 AM
Angla, The idea of buying something sporty is on the cards ;). Like a lot of Women the wife did'nt like the idea of getting a 4wd in the first place, now she drives one everyday she does not want to give it back :'( ,and does not really want to go back to a mere sedan. She also has a back problem and finds getting in out of the 4wd a lot easier than a sedan. Still looking,
Cheers Troy.

Big_Kev
06-06-2005, 01:13 PM
Zulu do yourself a favour and go take a Jeep Grand cherokee or a cherokee for a test drive.
Factory zinc plated body, heaps of grunt, proven driveline, very comfortable with more creature bits and extra's then any old overpriced Cruiser and they are just the size the ladies like to drive to drop the kids at soccer.

Good examples can be picked up second hand owned by fastidious owners, as these like the Landies are niech market vehicles coming from buyers who take great care of there pride and joy. It's a Jeep thing, give yourself the chance to understand.
Cheers Kev. #:)

06-06-2005, 02:50 PM
Landie on the beach. She's not perfect by a long way, but does the business, cheap and NASTIE! (I own one, SIII LWB., 2nd one I've had. Horrid on the road, but Great on the sand.)Your choice off the beach.

08-06-2005, 11:03 AM
Landies are great!!!
As long as they don't break down

Landies are great!!!
As long as they don't break an axle

Landies are great!!!
As long as the electrics don't fail

Landies are great!!!
To bad they were built by the british with such attention to detail

Landies are great!!!
Tow truck owners love them , They keep them occupied between accidents

SURF_SNIPER
08-06-2005, 12:34 PM
Oopp's here we go ::) ::)

landies are great!!!
my 110's never broken down, nor my brothers130, nor my fathers three work vechicles110 and 130's, nor my bosses130, nor my good mates 110 county

landie's are great!!!
none of us have ever broken an axle to date. and i do some serious 4wd at times. have seen ancient 50 year old landies break an axle, but this is some what expected after a working life of 40-50 years.

Landie are great!!!
never had any one we know have electrical problems bar for a mates old 2 door range rover that didn't like water. ohh! sorrrry i lied, i did once blow a tail light.

landies are great!!!

they were originaly designed as agricultural farming equipment and have allways stayed simple and functional they are not a cushy show pony. try hosing a 100 series or a jeep cherokee out with your garden hose after a beach fishing trip and see how well the electricals and interior stand up!

Landie's are great!!!

tow truck drivers do love them so much so that the contactor for RACQ at nambour/ and sunshine coast has a whole fleet of them. 130 dual cabs as road side call out vechicles.

SURF_SNIPER
08-06-2005, 12:36 PM
sorry finding time, didn't want to burn you ;D

Big_Kev
08-06-2005, 01:02 PM
sorry finding time, didn't want to burn you ;D
Then it would be best to keep Jeep Cherokee out of it. Unless you have hosed out a Rangie successfully lately.
Cheers Kev.

08-06-2005, 01:39 PM
Surf sniper
I'm not uneducated in this area!
Ist car i owned Series111 short wheel base . I used to carry spare short and long axles in the tool kit. After replacing them about 3 times changed to an after market Salisbury diff problem fixed. Why did it come with this problem. British build quality!!!

Owned 110 county great vehicle it was the one with the isuzu diesel engine. Why o why didn't they stick with this engine.

Owned a disco turbo diesel went back to the dealer 6 times in the first 3 months once on a truck from dubbo. ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS.British build quality. Truck driver was very happy though! ;D

I think i've given landrover a fair go :o

Cheers Ian

Ps. A mate of mine owns a mechanical workshop in brisbane that specializes in landies an he wouldn't own one for quids.

08-06-2005, 01:42 PM
that guy in nambour that own's all those landies also owns a lot of tow trucks right!! :P :P

09-06-2005, 04:45 AM
Gents gents gents,

You'll find the modern Landies very good at both towing on the road and the beach. The 2.5l turbo diesel hums my 2.8t boat ok on the road but I haven't tried it on the beach yet.

I've towed Phil's sportfish (about 2t) to Fraser twice very very succesfully.

I'm just waiting for Landrover to put the TD6 in the defender shell and we'll be apples. Currently it's only in the Range Rover.

Specs are

Engine Capacity 2926 cc
Cylinders 6
Power 174@4000 bhp
Torque 288@2000 lb/ft

Review
"Range Rover is offered with a choice of two engines: a 4.4-litre petrol unit and a 3.0-litre, straight-six turbo diesel. Both are sourced by Ford (the present owners of Land Rover) from the company's former owners, BMW. In fact, the TD6 diesel engine in the car I tested is in all major respects identical to that used by the German company in both the 330D and the X5. "

If you are reall really serious at towing a big boat up the beach - get an F250 7.4l of turbo diesel V8. Couldn't stop it with a tank.

Bugman

SURF_SNIPER
09-06-2005, 02:16 PM
fellas... talking about defenders and 110's here not disco's series trucks or rangies. what year model was you shorty.... how old...about 30 years.... and it's probly still chugging around somwhere.
which mechanic in brissy, i know the guys from MR automotive and from Rovertech who specialise in rovers... good guys

Drew

fly_1
24-06-2005, 04:24 PM
I have a Jan 05 model 100 series cruiser (V8) auto, and I pull the boat up the beach ( 6m plate boat around 2 tonnes), and it does it easy!! I would buy nothing else!!!!

caloundra
25-06-2005, 05:30 AM
just get another pajero