View Full Version : A Week at Lucinda

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:19 PM
Just came back from a week at Hinchinbrook. Stayed at Lucinda and fished the channel and creeks and out mainly around Britomar reef.
The Barra and jacks didn’t want to play the game #:'( so after giving them a good try with livies and lures we mainly fished outside. We also gave the fingermark a try on live squid Friday night but only managed 1 fish.
Out the reef we caught coral trout, sweeties, cobes, mixed stuff, trevally by the score,(they turned out to be a pain in the arse as you couldn’t get a bait past them) and some nice Spanish. #There were heaps of unstoppables at times. We managed to pull in (and release ;) )what turned out to be a good sized shark so at least we got a look at them. :o
I reckon that the Nth Queenslanders are spoilt with the fishing they have up that way. #;D ;D
Here’s some pics.

Cheers Col
Trevally at the wharf

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:22 PM
Sweetie

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:23 PM
Mornings catch

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:23 PM
:)

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:26 PM
Some nice trout. We threw back quite a lot of just over legal trout

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:26 PM
:)

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:27 PM
Locked up on 80lb braid

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:28 PM
What sort is he?

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:29 PM
Fingermark

Fisher_Boats
24-10-2005, 12:30 PM
This guy was slightly off course :D

reeldreamer
24-10-2005, 12:37 PM
Very nice! That jetty certainly is long hey? Really goes off with grunter when the time is right! Good pics and some nice fish there well done

Mitch

craigie
24-10-2005, 02:18 PM
Col,

Your right mate, they are spoilt in the North.
Well done , some nice fish pulled on board.
"Wild Thing" produced the goods 8-) 8-)

More time on the water doing R&D 8-)

How far offshore did you go to get the Trout and Spaniards ??

Just got back from Townsville myself, my report is a couple of pages back.
We may have got a couple of Barra ::)

When is the Fisher open day, must be soon ??

Craigie.

Thunderbird
24-10-2005, 06:14 PM
Good to see the weather played the geme. i'd give anything for another taste of trout :P is your freezer padlocked? if not put one on, i'm only an hour away :)
the boys down this way had big dramas with the current :-/
Go on a diet or move out of the way of that awesome bit of mechanical excelance...... Can't c the motor ;) Nice fish MAD MICK.
8-) 2 b crazy.

Fisher_Boats
25-10-2005, 09:16 AM
Hey Craigie,
Where we fished was around 25nms. Mainly fished the northern side of Britomar and in between Bramble and Britomar. Just read your report Barra King :D We couldn't catch a barra to save ourselves and the reef was calling. A couple of the lads went out with a guide for the day and only managed one barra so they just weren't happening for us. l Will let you know about the open day shortly.
Hey crazy man you'll have to come up and have a feed and drink one day soon. Heard there's a few spotties starting to show up out the front too ;)
Cheers Col

Storrer
25-10-2005, 11:08 AM
some great fish there mate, how far from lucinda is the reef where you picked up those trout.

cheers Tim,

devocean
25-10-2005, 05:51 PM
about 25 km out britomart with bramble reef just next door and trunk a bit further up.

DALEPRICE
25-10-2005, 07:20 PM
top report col with some nice photos.
you gotta be happy with those trout!
top stuff
dale

Fisher_Boats
26-10-2005, 07:40 AM
It's about 23 nm's from the mouth of Dungeness Creek to the inside of Britomart & around 20 nm's to the inside of Bramble
You can see it on the A-B distance on the bottom left corner
Sorry the maps a bit small
Hey Dale Yeh love those trout mate good change

Cheers Col

whiteman
26-10-2005, 12:56 PM
My bait esky is the same size as your catch esky! You need at least 1m of length up this way!

Nice fish and thanks for leaving a few.

Fisher_Boats
26-10-2005, 01:31 PM
Whiteman that was the esky we put them in for cleaning
The big one was still in the boat ;)
Yeh mate we're not greedy like some that head up that way.

Cheers Col

devocean
28-10-2005, 05:06 PM
Yeah sorry nm not kms got the marks if anyone want ems

Daintreeboy
28-10-2005, 05:41 PM
nice trip col, good stuff indeed. I'd call that shark for a plain ol Broze whaler, nasty buggers....

spaniard
28-10-2005, 07:01 PM
Nice trip there Col, I'm glad you got into the spanish [smiley=thumbsup.gif].
Hope the boat going well mate.

I'll be be up that way for bout 5 weeks over dec.
so I hope the weather as good for me it as was for you