View Full Version : Long way from mooloolaba

browndog
23-10-2005, 09:50 AM
Left mooloolaba at midnight friday,on a course that would take us north east
at about 90 km from the harbour.I was on board with the boys from
Team Sempre Fishing.
We were back at the ramp by 3pm sat arvo.
I must thank sam from Sempre for a great days fishing.
Cheers browndog :) :) :) :)

browndog
23-10-2005, 09:52 AM
The Reef

browndog
23-10-2005, 09:52 AM
The conditions

browndog
23-10-2005, 09:53 AM
on ice

browndog
23-10-2005, 09:54 AM
The boat

trout3030
23-10-2005, 10:45 AM
Good conditions. Nice looking boat. Do you know the total catch and what species?

outsiderskip
23-10-2005, 10:49 AM
hi browndog
some serious fish there
good catch and nice boat
coditions were good

cheers pete

sempre
23-10-2005, 10:59 AM
Yeh pete total catch was 70 ,25 snapper ,25 pearlies,10 vermin kingies,4 parrot, 2 cod, 3 moses, 1 cobia. Had to go not enough people on board to stay.

23-10-2005, 12:49 PM
That was a great haul :o U fishing the hards? 8-)

620sf
23-10-2005, 02:16 PM
Top catch browndog, would'nt of liked being the one had to do all the filleting. nice looking boat.

Luke

sempre
23-10-2005, 03:04 PM
Spiro , i was fishing about 15km past the hard , some call it the muds. You seem to get the same result every time up there, and nobody or at least not many go there.

sam.....;

Sportfish_5
23-10-2005, 10:11 PM
Top stuff Sempre : :)

I have seen you guys at the ramp a couple of times - will have to say G'day now I know u are an Ausfisher ::)

Nice riptide :P

23-10-2005, 10:13 PM
ok...wouldn't you be better of leaving from noosa?

sempre
24-10-2005, 11:04 AM
we could but i dont really enjoy going through noosa bar at night,besides the fuel to tow the boat and fuel to drive the boat is no different

sempre
24-10-2005, 11:11 AM
Yeh greg,give us a yell if you see us

Sam....

reeldreamer
24-10-2005, 11:41 AM
Very impressive! Well done!

Mitch

sempre
25-10-2005, 08:05 PM
Thought i would send the post to the top of the list.

Any_Weather
26-10-2005, 11:14 AM
Hi Sempre, am looking at fishing the area of "The Hards" in 2 weeks time (weather permitting). Have never fished this area before and was wondering if you had? Do you know what depth of water I can expect and is the spot reasonably flat or is there pinnicles to be found. Is the fishing of the hards worth the trip or do I need to go that further distance. Not sure if I am brave enough for 90km, how big is your boat? I will be leaving from Noosa and have worked out the hards to be about 60km. Is the area you fished east of here or more north? I understand you wont want to give too much away but any info would be much appreciated.
Lee

Benno
26-10-2005, 11:24 AM
Excellent catch... gotta love the sight of that esky.

Brooksy
26-10-2005, 11:40 AM
http://www.rivertoreef.net/

sempre
26-10-2005, 05:54 PM
Lee, from noosa its abuot 68km, but you need to be settled at anchor well before morning.So you will have to leave the bar at night or previous afternoon. Depth is around 70m , with a few ledges but relatively flat with the usual wire weed. I have a 7.4m riptide and find the distance is well worth it provided there is no current. If your thinking of going more than happy to help,as i go every day its flat.

Any_Weather
26-10-2005, 06:00 PM
Sempre, thanks for the info. Am looking at going on either the 7th or 8th of November. Still not sure whether to go to the banks or that spot. Would be leaving from Noosa so an early morning (2.00am)maybe the go. Is that 68km what is known as the hards or did you say something about Mud. We only have a 6.5m plate but it should be capable of that distance I would think. Is the current normally a problem?

sempre
26-10-2005, 06:10 PM
Yeh Lee, that would be the top end of the hard. The Mud is a bit further. Both spots can be ordinary with current, as you need to fish light leaded.Funny thing is we had no current Saturday , and a guy a know fished the same spot Sunday , running like a train , not many fish. Very hard to pick.

sam....

Any_Weather
26-10-2005, 06:13 PM
Thanks mate, cant wait to give it a shot.

sempre
26-10-2005, 06:18 PM
We shoud be out there Saturday , 81 VHF .

sempre
26-10-2005, 06:21 PM
Sorry, make that 80 VHF , had a bit brainwave [smiley=furious2.gif]

seapup
02-11-2005, 04:09 PM
mate i fish the muds heaps and the hards. i am based in noosa.. its a long way to go if the currents running. but is well worth it if the current aint to strong.. always get busted up by solid fish out there and always bring home a heap of solid reefies - no shit fish out there mate...

seapup
02-11-2005, 04:12 PM
i fish the muds and the hards heaps..i am based at noosa so its not as far as mooloolaba. its a great place to fish if the currents not to strong....always bring home quality fish..if the currents roaring its a long way home!!!