View Full Version : good fihing in close

reef_king
28-11-2005, 08:11 PM
Me and my brothers went for a quick fish at our secret little spot 25mins out from mooloolaba on saturday. After getting to the mark we sounded around to see where the fish were holding, as expected they were on the three 1m high bommies. This isolated gravel bed reef with about 20msq of wire weed on it always hold a very large school of Yakkas on it sometimes holding from the bottom up 2 30mrs high and always very tightly packed and under attack. Mixed in with them is alot of pearlies.As soon as we anchored my 2 brothers started pulling double hook ups of pearlies why I was having a bite to eat. I jigged some live yakkas and dropped 1 down no more than 5 secs and bang a maroi cod was on.This reapeted the second drop as well.I butterflied another yakka and dropped it to the bottom and pulled a 64cm red which supprised me for this area. Next livey got nailed and was stripping line from the reel 8 mins later an estimated 30 kg aj was carefully lifted on board for a few quick pics and hastilly released. As we had bagged out on pearlies we headed for home....( at home we realised we had miscounted was 2 short.

reef_king
28-11-2005, 08:19 PM
AJ

reef_king
28-11-2005, 08:23 PM
The Catch

slyham775
28-11-2005, 08:37 PM
Good boy that you let that aj go now that aj is mine ::) ;D
by the way well done boy,s [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

dfox
28-11-2005, 08:42 PM
Top effort RK ! ;D Nice catch and great to see another mooloolaba fisho ! Welcome to ausfish mate....foxy

28-11-2005, 09:02 PM
Some good chewin there...well done.. nice to see the aj goin back ;)

Steven78
28-11-2005, 09:08 PM
Well its better under counting then over (: Well done good to see that the fish can be in close.

Always_offshore
28-11-2005, 09:37 PM
gotta love them ambo,s!!!

Billo
29-11-2005, 07:55 AM
heck , damn fine AJ there ....how were the arms ? ;D

good feed to go with , can't complain about that

Nice to see a good feed NOT coming off the banks ;D

29-11-2005, 09:11 AM
Nice going lads.

snagged15
29-11-2005, 09:42 AM
Those are ripper fish. How much lead and trace did you need.
Snags

reef_king
29-11-2005, 09:14 PM
Billo, the arms were fine

Snagged, we were using mostly 50lb main line with 80lb trace and 8oz snapper leads (12oz on the livy rig to avioid tangles as i wate in freespool, and let the fish swallow the livey before moving up to strike.My brothers were floating down and never got to the bottom.)

vertico
29-11-2005, 10:10 PM
great aj for close off mba, im sure zeeke wants some of this action
if you ever need a decky im sure he will be there with bellz on :)

Chris_Riethmuller
01-12-2005, 06:58 AM
great going fella's I also have a favourite spot in close where we pull alot of just under reds and the occasional legal one, can you tell me what depth roughly
rgds Beefa

Louis
01-12-2005, 02:59 PM
Well done

Louis

outsiderskip
01-12-2005, 04:15 PM
well done reef king
nice feed

cheers pete

reef_king
01-12-2005, 06:13 PM
beefa were in 53 meters

DALEPRICE
01-12-2005, 06:26 PM
nice report and even better feed,
top stuff.
cheers dale

Jay_S
01-12-2005, 06:47 PM
Great work mate :)they are some good fish you caught :o ;)

Jay [smiley=bandana.gif]

01-12-2005, 07:09 PM
great aj for close off mba, im sure zeeke wants some of this action
if you ever need a decky im sure he will be there with bellz on :)

Zeeke only chases BREAM these days ;D ;D