View Full Version : Mackerel at 1770 ... fishing with Roz

Hookem_Herby
29-11-2005, 12:30 PM
Well, what a weekend it was.
Left the Sunny Coast at 6am on Friday morn, with the girl and boat in tow. :P
Had a good run up north, despite getting stuck behind a couple of oversize/wide load (mining equipment) trucks with police escort but managed to get up to Agnes Water by 11am.
Was staying with everyone's favourite Ausfish gal "ROZ" and her hubby Tony. Had a bite to eat and a cuppa before setting off for an afternoon fish off Bustard Head (since the reef closure was in effect already). This was to be a prefish to our little 'boys vs girls' comp the following morn. ;D
Conditions were great and so the 4 of us jumped on board 'Black on Blue' and within 40 mins were trolling dead baits (previously rigged by Roz) around Inner, Middle and eventually Outer Rock.
Was a wonderfully calm afternoon with conditions getting better as the afternoon wore on. We picked up 4 average fish (5-6kg) and threw a couple more back. The sun was setting, we were almost out of baits and it was probably time to go home, when Roz decided to test her 'big baits catch big fish' theory once again and so she rigged a 2kg bonito for a biggun!!!
To everyone's surprise, it went off within 5 mins of being deployed ... peeling 100m of line in no time. Roz grabed the rod and commenced the fight. No need for a gaff just yet with the fish diving deep .... 30 mins later and Roz was still sticking it to the fish, which was giving a very good account of itself. By now we were hoping for a big cobe or aj but were fearing the worst ... a big bloody noah. Another blistering run and Roz was spent so we decided to tag team just as the sun had almost completely disappeared over the horizon. I spent another 15 mins on the rod before we got a sight of what turned out to be a bloody 10-12ft Tiger shark. We cut the line and set it free, having satisfied our curiosity and Roz and I both exhausted.
The following morning saw us wake up to perfect conditions .... glassy seas could be seen from Roz's verandah which got all the crew excited. Some friendly trash talking and banter whilst rigging baits at the kitchen sink signaled that today's 'fish-off' would be a lot of fun. My fiance' Helen and Roz in her Seafarer vs Tony and myself aboard my Coxcraft Rumrunner. We left the 1770 ramp at 9.30am and with pond-like conditions arrived at Outer rock by 10am. By the time the girls had decided what sunscreen and make up to wear, :P :D Tony and I had already put our first Spaniard (5.5kg) into the esky. Boys 1 up within 5 mins. ;) We managed another of the same size shortly after, and a throw back just before lunch. At midday and a slack tide, we made a run into Pancake Ck to enjoy lunch and have a swim. The girls had managed 1 fish aswell, altho Roz must've thought it was a Spottie! :o :-X ;D
Anyway, a 2-1 lead made lunch taste a little better for the boys. After trolling a couple of hard bodies through and into Pancake without results, we headed back to Outer rock at around 3pm to finish the comp.
The girls made it there first, as Tony and I were still watching the cricket on the tv. ::) ;D
As we arrived, Roz was hooked up to something BIG! Tony and I both thought she'd reaquainted herself with the noah from the night before but 10 mins later we found out that it was indeed a 15kg+ spanish mack that was lost boatside when the hooks pulled! PHEW :o ... I mean, BUGGA! ::) :-X That would've dispelled any rumours that Roz can't catch mackerel, which first surfaced around the time of the last 1770 M&G, but as it stands Lucky_Phil may in fact be right! rotflmao :-/ :-X
That would've tied things up. We continued slow trolling and Tony managed to add one more to the boy's total before we ran out of baits ... having seen the girls also pull a fish, we realised it was still close so we deployed a couple of lures in desperation. This saw us pick up another fish, which unfortunatly was undersize and didn't trouble the scorers. The tide was high and with a lack of current, the fish shut down. It was decided to pull up stumps and head home before darkness set in. We took a couple of pics on the water of the fish and the boats (some of which didn't quite turn out :P).
Final result - boys taking the honours (keepers) 3:2
The Sunday was spent down at Round Hill Creek castnetting. Roz was keen to try out her b'day present and show off her technique. The wind was blowing a good 15-20 knots and not much fishing was done. Hel and I headed home after lunch to do battle with the mother of all storms just south of Bundy for well over an hour. Thankfully we survived and it didn't put a dampener on what was a bloody awesome and fun w.e. with great company and fantastic weather conditions.
Plenty of mack fillets in the freezer with a couple more to be smoked tonight. 8-)
Photos will be posted by the losers, errr... girls soon. ;D Roz has the ones of the fish so hopefully she'll post them when she get back home later this week.
Tony and family, sorry to have missed you this time. Roz was too organised, she'd bought all the bait already off Josh the day before. Not sure how she ended up with ALL of the XOS smilies ... luck I suppose. :-/ ;D ;D
Herby

snagged15
29-11-2005, 01:01 PM
Great report mate... sounds like some good fish and alot of fun.
Snags

agnes_jack
29-11-2005, 01:41 PM
Way to go Herbie!!!
Good to see the boy's got lucky and managed to keep thier heads high. ;D ;D
You got some reasonable weather over the weekend!
Tell me.... do you always tow Helen and the boat???? :-?
I am sure she would be much more comfy if you allowed her a seat in the car, it's a long drive up here from brissy. ;D ;D ;D ;D

Congrats to you and Tony for winning the comp, (bet you can't do that twice in a row ;) )

Catch ya next time, Regards, Tony

Hookem_Herby
29-11-2005, 01:54 PM
You got that right Snagged. We had a blast and managed a feed of fish, can't ask for more than that! :)

Tell me.... do you always tow Helen and the boat???? :-?
I am sure she would be much more comfy if you allowed her a seat in the car, it's a long drive up here from brissy. ;D ;D ;D ;D

Only when I have too much fishing/crabbing gear in the car and I can't fit her in!!! #:o
Wouldn't want to lose a rod or an esky out of the back of the boat on the long drive up. #:P

Congrats to you and Tony for winning the comp, (bet you can't do that twice in a row ;) )

Ummm .... well, I actually fear that you might me right there Tony but we're safe for 2005. #:D :D
So, we'll make the best of it while we can. #[smiley=laola.gif] [smiley=guitarist.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=balloon2.gif]

Cya next time for sure,
Herby

29-11-2005, 03:32 PM
Go the blokes team ;) Well done and an excellent report, look forward to the pics

dfox
29-11-2005, 04:02 PM
Great report herby, an enjoyable read! It sounds like only luck saved you in the comp ;) a 15kg spaniard would have to be worth 2 points if landed, i'd get out there a little earlier then 10 am next time, lol. catch ya ...foxy

29-11-2005, 04:02 PM
Good report Herbie!!

I was on my way home when you guys were on your way up there and I think I passed you about 20k north of Bundy last Friday.

Had a top three days with Roz and Tony and I think I'd better let her put in the report of when I was there. Managed to meet Tony (Agnes Jack) while I was there.

Hookem_Herby
29-11-2005, 04:20 PM
Great report herby, an enjoyable read! It sounds like only luck saved you in the comp ;) a 15kg spaniard would have to be worth 2 points if landed, i'd get out there a little earlier then 10 am next time, lol. catch ya ...foxy

Foxy,
I have to admit, a 15kg+ mack would've been worth a couple if not 3 points. Still, only what ends up in the esky counts, right? lol
The 10am start wasn't due to the boys ... something to do with a late night, a few beers, and sore muscles from fighting a stubborn tiger shark...... apparently! :P
Catch ya,
Herby

Hookem_Herby
29-11-2005, 04:23 PM
TOL,
yes, we passed one another just outside of Bundy but I had no idea what car you were in. Did you flash your lights at me??? Heard all about your visit and the couple of days you had up there. Hope you enjoyed it as much as we did.
I think we got the better weather and fishing ... but congrats on getting your first spanish mackerel.
I guess an Awoonga Barra is next on the list? Always NEXT time ...
Herby

29-11-2005, 04:39 PM
Yes Herby, that was me flashing my lights at you. Roz had told me you'd be in a Cherokee towing a boat. Mate, I had a ball. The downside was when we went to check on some pots Tuesday afternoon only to find somebody else had been there before us. There really are some low lifes around.

On Wednesday, got my first mack up to the boat, but it was foul hooked and we lost it, with a hook ending up in Roz's finger, but luckily the barb didn't go in. Got the second one in, about 5 kg I suppose, and I was stoked!! Just as well too, because I'd really been rubbing it in where i do some volunteer work, and to come home empty handed would have been pretty bad for me.

I'd better leave it to Roz to put in a report about my trip and also respond to your report, which I suspect, could be slightly different to yours? Just a thought.

DALEPRICE
29-11-2005, 06:19 PM
sounds like a good trip herby,
cant wait for the photo"s
dale

longtail
29-11-2005, 06:42 PM
great report herby , glad to hear of the boys victory ;D ;D
must get up that way myself sometime , perhaps in the new year :-/
can't wait to see the pics 8-)

jason

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
29-11-2005, 08:32 PM
Great, enjoyable reading Herby. That is such a beautiful place at 1770/Agnes. Good weather, good fish and good company just can't be beaten...............and a few cold ales!!

fritzy
30-11-2005, 12:52 AM
Sensational stuff Herby,
Here i am getting excited about a couple of little GTs off Caloundra. The fish you were mixing with would be eating my GTs for breakfast... Real bummer about the 15kg fish getting away. Hope you used the "thats fishing" line on her. Love that line, until its you who loses the prize fish without photograph... Had she got it in, you could have always used the DPI QLD FISHING REGULATION RULE 24 - Spanish Mackeral over 1.5 meters long are large breeders and so must be released... Like you said - its the fish in the esky that count. I have used that on a few inexperienced mates when fishing for bream... Nah, you have to let em go over 40 cm...
That tiger shark sounds interesting - i mixed with one on Fraser Island 3 years ago. Lets just say that 20 pound mono and 4 meter (or bigger) tigers don't really mix. Lets also just say that tiger sharks, alvey reel handles and knuckles don't really mix either...
Cheers Fritzy

30-11-2005, 05:56 AM
what else can you say
what a wicked place to fish and the company always seems to be unbeatable up that way. Just seems like when the ausfishers get together up there it all happens, even with some trips blown out. I will be back.

Hookem_Herby
30-11-2005, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the comments guys ... yes it sure is a wonderful place, let's hope it stays that way for many year to come.
Waiting for Roz to post some pics and tell her side of the story! :P :-/
No doubt she'll mention the fact that I managed to catch a 3 ft moray eel whilst trolling a dead bait ... what can I say, I AM GIFTED!
Not to be outdone Roz pulled a 3 ft Long Tom ... we were the bustard head verminators there for a while. :) ;D ::)

Catch ya,
Herby
p.s. Fritzy - no doubt Roz knew about the DPI regs and prematurely released the fish to ensure furture breeding stocks. Maybe she should've taken a pic first tho! :-*

jackash
30-11-2005, 09:16 PM
Mate,
In my book no fillets, and no pic of a 15 kg Spanish means it didn't exist. ;D ;D Think i would be reminding her of this fact... And the fact that the boys took the honours in the comp... Did the losers buy the drinks?? [smiley=drunk.gif] [smiley=drunk.gif]
Cheers Fritzy

01-12-2005, 07:45 PM
Good report Herby.

Yes that place can turn it on when it wants. Bet Roz is spewing about that Spanish at the boat.

And I don't know who started that rumour, but it wasn't me. ;) Just because the time I was there she didn't put a scale in the boat, doesn't mean she can't catch them, I've seen the pics ::) :o

Pity ya went there in the closed season, as last M & G there we put many a good fish in the esky, and I'm sure Roz has the GPS points for the spots.

And you donged a Moray Eel.......on the troll ? What, ya trolling in shallow water or hard up against Outer Rock ? ;D

Anyway, I'm sure you 'll be back again as will Team ReBait next year.

02-12-2005, 04:46 AM
Hey Phill,

Roz and Tony took me out just before Herby and Helen went up there.

You want the GPS marks? I'm sure we could reach a satisfactory arrangement that would be mutually beneficial.

I'd really like a TLD 25 for Christmas.

04-12-2005, 02:25 PM
very good Herby/Morayman!

I have just finished my submission with photos.