View Full Version : I see colour. It's Red.....

Fixation
06-12-2005, 09:15 AM
We decided to go on a research mission off the sunny coast on Saturday arvo. Winds where predicted to drop off to 10/15 in the arvo so the deckie and I decided to brave it and see what it was like out there.
We left the ramp about 2:30 pm and headed out to area X. We found a couple of great shows on the sounder so we anchored up and cracked out the bait. First 3 drops for me resulted in 3 reds about 45 cm long (bummer). Then the deckie locks onto something with a little more size he called for the net so it must have been reasonable. It turned out to be a nice red. Sorry didn’t weight it so don’t know the weight and I don’t like estimating either. #The next 2 hours saw nice maori’s, snapper and heaps more undersize reds and a whole heap of unstoppables. Using floaters and dropper rigs with pillies and squid. Couldn’t get livies. Sorry I didn’t take too many photos. Was a great afternoon out there and I was just glad to be out on the water.

Fixation
06-12-2005, 09:16 AM
Deckies red

kitty_cat
06-12-2005, 09:56 AM
sweet catch
nrth or sth of moololaba
reds for xmas :) well done

Fixation
06-12-2005, 01:29 PM
Kitty_Cat:- Yeah we were north of moololaba. They were great conditions out there. Good to see bom got it wrong again.

Jay_S
06-12-2005, 02:39 PM
Great work mate :o ;D
They are very nice fish you caught ;D
Like Kitty_cat said, Reds for x_mas ;D :)

Jay

Jacksta
06-12-2005, 03:02 PM
So fixation.. wheres this spot X of yours ay ? :P Great fish, how big did the Maori's go ?

Fixation
06-12-2005, 03:38 PM
Wish I could tell you :-X

620sf
06-12-2005, 04:45 PM
Nice fish mate, don't tell anyone what boat your in or else everyone will be following you next trip.

Luke

Fixation
06-12-2005, 05:21 PM
The maori's weren't anything to write home about but it was good to get a mixed bag. The spot mustn't have been fished much i reckon.
Yeah we were fishing in one of james bonds boats that turns invisible at the flick of a button. ;D

markpeta
06-12-2005, 05:46 PM
Wish I could tell you #:-X

Your only new to the site we share everything here> ;D ;D

baldyhead
06-12-2005, 06:23 PM
nice fish M8 good on yuh

Jeno
06-12-2005, 06:26 PM
Great stuff Mate
What water depth did you fish in.
Thanks Stephen

SeaSaw
06-12-2005, 10:27 PM
Nice to see a few legal reds amoungst the rats ... well done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Hold on to that spot, finding maori's in numbers often means it hasn't been fished a lot. ;)

When you remove a pectoral fin you don't leave much behind :o :o ;D lol

outsiderskip
07-12-2005, 06:09 AM
nice cat of fish there
nice quality red and a good feed

cheers pete

Fixation
07-12-2005, 08:58 AM
Thanks for the replys guys.

The Animal:- The depth was about 120ft. I don't think you'd catch em in any numbers in shallower water than that.

SeaSaw:- We use some of those chicken scissors like they use in the deli at the supermarket to cut chooks up so the fin comes off with ease. Doesn’t make for a good photo though. Usually take photos straight away after capture. Have to do the right thing these days though with the fins.

Billo
07-12-2005, 09:34 AM
Thats the colour we like to see .....good work

TheSlyDeckie
07-12-2005, 09:58 AM
The red put up a pretty good fight. Was lucky to get it up.

Amazing what happens when you make a little change. Was using a dropper rig and getting nothing then changed to a running sinker then did really well.

Fixation
07-12-2005, 10:03 AM
Oh the slydeckie makes his appearance. :o Well all I can say is your one of the luckest fisherman around. 2 minutes before netting that one he's talking about how he's going to catch a big red. I think i had banana's on my hands or something. Thats my excuse anyway....

TheSlyDeckie
07-12-2005, 10:06 AM
yeah still riding my luck for the last 3-4 years I've been fishing.

never forget that time I said "I don't care if i don't catch anything as long as i catch a coral trout". Sure enough...

Fixation
07-12-2005, 10:09 AM
Lady luck can only be on your side for so long. Good catch anyway mate. ;D

reeldreamer
07-12-2005, 04:55 PM
Nice red mate they look awesome pulling them up in the darkness then seeing the red!

08-12-2005, 05:41 PM
Those Reds would have to be one of the best looking fish in the sea, and sooooo good to eat. Yummo

Well done

regards Roz