View Full Version : Around 1770 & Fitzroy

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 01:49 PM
Just spent two weeks at 1770 with friends and family. #(Can't wait to go back #;D)
Had pretty average weather but still managed a couple trips over to Fitzroy. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
During the windy days we managed some nice flathead on softies and some mackies around the headland.
The house we stayed in was on the way into Agnes and backed onto the creek.
Jay and Bonesy kept us supplied with good muddies out of the creek. [smiley=dankk2.gif]
Fishbone and Dave_S spent the fortnight there as well and Scotty no frills came up for a couple days.
Caught up with Lucky Phill and Agnes Jack.
Poor buggers having to work up there, must be tough #:D
The following pics will tell the rest of the story.

Cheers Col

Jay with an average muddie :)

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 01:51 PM
The crew ready for a locally caught feed 8-)

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 01:54 PM
A No Frills headland Macky

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 01:56 PM
Nice Trout :)

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 01:57 PM
Bonesy's first trout [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 01:59 PM
Fitzroy macky caught on a bit of mullet :P

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 02:03 PM
Cleaning a good mixed feed

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 02:06 PM
Bonesy scored this big Chinaman .
He goes hard for a young fella :o
It swam away fine ;)

Fisher_Boats
23-04-2006, 02:10 PM
This one got sharked at the boat , glad it wasn't a red #:P
Will have to call him China boy #:)

Grunter71
23-04-2006, 03:27 PM
Nice feed. We are all drooling.

DALEPRICE
23-04-2006, 04:32 PM
looks like you guys had a ball col!
2 weeks in paradise by the sounds of it.
did you get into some prawns as well by the
look of that first shot??
cheers dale
some nice trout as well 8-)

DaneCross
23-04-2006, 04:33 PM
Sounds like a great trip Col and crew. Congrats Bonsey on your first trout and your other catches [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Looks like you and Jay had those muddies well sussed [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Dane

23-04-2006, 05:35 PM
Yes, Col and crew.

Thanks for the invite to dinner to share the days catch of mud crab and " Local " prawns ::)

All in all, you guys did well. I reckon you are on the money though, spending 2 weeks here is better than 1. Then again, I am bias and have at least another 3 months work here.

So, by the time you come back, I'll have the REDS sorted....... don't tell Dale :-X ;D

And you do know, the best day's weather was the day ya packed up. ?

ps. That really is a Wild Thing !!!!!!! :o :o

Anne-T-Dote
23-04-2006, 06:03 PM
G'Day Col and Crew,

Awesome looking trip - well done on the muddies Jay & Bonesy #- and some quality fish too. Looks like you were using soft plastics out on the reef too - that's unreal.

kingcobe
23-04-2006, 07:21 PM
Nice spaniard. I bet it was scarey when the shark came up and took that fish.

Jay Jay

Jay_S
23-04-2006, 07:53 PM
Come on Phil you know they were local prawns ;D ;D

Hey Dane..... how's it going mate? Been getting any fish lately.

Maccamania.... they were on bait out the reef, we got a couple good feeds of trout and lippers.

Kingcobe.... It was fun :)

Cheers Jay

SeaSaw
23-04-2006, 09:13 PM
Well done col & crew. Some nice catches there. I am very jealous .... SO now its back to work you go :P ;D ;D ;D

MICHAELG
24-04-2006, 08:23 AM
well done boys & gals(bazza) got a be happy with that. crabs in yor backyard now thats cool

strange nobody invited me along - now im upset.

Hope Dennis didnt give out to many of my "spot X's"

oh well I'll get back up there some time this year :'(

gibbo

Fisher_Boats
24-04-2006, 10:30 AM
Thanks for the reminder Mark..... I'm going through the emails and messages now :P

Gibbo :'( :'( :'( I think you were invited weren't you???

Your spot x's are safe in Wild Thing ;D ;D ;D
We travelled 60klms for the fish when we probably should have only gone 20 or so klms.

Col

JB
24-04-2006, 10:56 AM
Great trip there boys! ;D , Love the photos of the cut in half chinaman trout... must have been a hell of a fight getting that thing out of its hole.

Col, must be great to have a couple of kids that put fresh mud crab on the table for dinner! Now thats what i call paying there way LOL.

Good on yas im jealous.

Jas

trout3030
24-04-2006, 11:05 AM
Unusual for a shark to take a chinaman. They usually wait for reds or trout.

twodogsfishing
24-04-2006, 12:45 PM
how hard do those chinaman go...stretch arm strong stuff after that effort

Deelirious
24-04-2006, 06:49 PM
Col,
That sounds like a great family trip, with the good fishing a bonus. I particularly like the shots of the spanish, and am currently working with the minister of war and finance to let me get up there and into a few of those with the Deelight.

Boat is great by the way. I have slowed down the hours now at about 460 odd but planning to stick a few more on once the new bub settles a bit.

Good to see you still fishing, and fishing well as always.

Eddie J

agnes_jack
27-04-2006, 07:32 AM
Good on ya Col and crew!!
Ya didn't go too bad considering the weather mate. Looks like those Jay and Bonesy did most of the hard work though ;D
Good to meet you all in person and I look forward to your next visit.

Regards, Tony and Sandi :D

Fishbone
28-04-2006, 02:24 PM
Col and Barry at Wreck Rock - Col said he had a bite....

Fishbone
28-04-2006, 02:26 PM
Dave_S with a nice little Coronation Trout - very pretty little fish, Weather was a little wet and windy...

Fishbone
28-04-2006, 02:28 PM
Only 45 Kms to go - wind was 15 knots and it didn't drop out later in the day, made for a long trip home in the night.

Fishbone
28-04-2006, 02:29 PM
The Hervey Bay Tabs boys got some nice trout - biggest was 3.75Kgs