View Full Version : Hards Sat Night 6th

madman1
08-05-2006, 01:01 PM
Departed Mooloolabah 1500 to see everyone coming home. Was the weather turning bad. No way. We hammered out the the Hards and arrived circa 1730. Had a drift and first drop produced a nice Spotty around the metre mark.

Few minutes later a 5kg Snapper popped in for a quick visit.

Dropped anchor, had a few beers then it was a Pearly-athon. One after the other for an hour or so. Bagged out on them and prayed for the Snapps to turn.

Burleyed heavy and had some friendly dolphins hangin around. Sighted a few cobes and landed 2 Dollies.

Then Snapper time. Landed 4 in quick succession all around that 5kg mark then old man Snapper (guessed @ 7-8 kg) smashed a whole gar.

2130 passed and noticed a small front coming in from the north. Called stumps with a full esky and headed home.

Final count 6 Snapper (5 over 5kg)
1 Spottie
10 Pearlies
1 Fingermark
2 Dollies

Cant wait to get out there again.

madman1
08-05-2006, 01:03 PM
and again

WOOF
08-05-2006, 01:11 PM
Looks the goods pal.
How big were the Dollies?

seapup
08-05-2006, 01:15 PM
Hi Mark,
We landed a solid Spotty around the metre mark on friday afternoon on the middle of the Hard as well! Got it on a yakka floater.
Well done mate.
Ben. :)

madman1
08-05-2006, 01:27 PM
Mine was off the bottom!

WOOF - Turn around and talk to me you lazy dog!lol

WOOF
08-05-2006, 01:29 PM
Get back to work ya madman!

08-05-2006, 02:18 PM
That's an awesome session Mark. I think we saw you zooming out past the river entrance around 3-ish, unless it was some other guys intent on getting out for a night fish;) How much fuel did you chew mate?

Paul :)

madman1
08-05-2006, 03:27 PM
My guess on fuel consumption was 75 - 80 litres with a full load, ie 140 litres fuel, 50kg+ of bait and ice etc. etc.. We hammered at wot for 45 mins - 1 hour on the way out when it calmed down and cruised at 35km/hr on the way home. You've gotta be happy with that.

It would have been way less if we hadn't been going like a bat out of hell, but the sunset doesn't wait for any man or boat.

My last trip to the Banks and back only chewed 35 litres and the weather wasn't that flash either!

Scarecrow
08-05-2006, 03:49 PM
What are dollies.
cheers ted

nuffy
08-05-2006, 05:42 PM
nice to c some quality snapper this early into winter well done guys.

TIM-DONSELAAR
09-05-2006, 01:56 AM
What are dollies.

cheers ted

Ted dollies are dolphin fish...also known as mahi mahi or dorado #;)

cheers tim #:)

09-05-2006, 11:41 AM
That first snapper looks like a horse :o well done

snappa
09-05-2006, 12:04 PM
mad

how about a mark to get me started for the hards

i'll keep watching my PM's ........ :P