View Full Version : Turtles,crays,trout,mack

nuffy
17-05-2006, 01:22 PM
Few pics from torres straight,mackeral went 18kg,skip the turtle pic if u have a weak stommach.

nuffy
17-05-2006, 01:23 PM
another

nuffy
17-05-2006, 01:24 PM
yuk

JustOneMore
17-05-2006, 03:29 PM
Awesome pics mate. The water up there looks so clear.

Great mac, wish we had a few more down this way.

Were you land based or on a boat?

Just One More.

Slient
17-05-2006, 04:14 PM
Hey Nuff,

Nice reefie and wonder those islanders how many turtle they allowed to hunt at the time?

Silent

nuffy
17-05-2006, 04:24 PM
On a boat about 100mtres off the island there is some serious fish up that way and plenty of crays.

nuffy
17-05-2006, 04:42 PM
silent they can hunt as many as they like.if they get a few like in the pic to follow they tie a rope around there leg on let them swim until they need them. the kids have fun riding them as well.

nuffy
17-05-2006, 04:47 PM
this guy is cleaning out the intestine so the women can make turtle and sago sausages.

Slient
17-05-2006, 05:15 PM
Thanks and you had a good opportunity to learn their rich culture at Torris strait.
Can u tell me where about you & guys stay and fish there?

Silent

nuffy
17-05-2006, 06:05 PM
Silent i was with a film crew up there for 3 months shooting a mini series you cant just turn up there unless you get permission from the island council there is an island nearby called coconut they have accom and fishing charters i think.Tony.

White_Steenbras
17-05-2006, 08:57 PM
Poor turtles, can understand living off the land and tradition etc, but aren't turtles endangered???? I reckon they should be, they are special creatures and a great character in NEMO, see you DUDE.

kingcobe
19-05-2006, 06:44 PM
Nice spaniard

DICER
20-05-2006, 08:35 AM
how did the turtle taste?

matthill80
20-05-2006, 11:14 PM
pfft endangered my a$$ u been in gladstone harbour or moreton bay? need a spotter so u dont hit em with the boat. all a load of garbage half the animals they think are going "endangered"

nuffy
21-05-2006, 06:13 PM
dicer the turtle tasted very ordinary not my cup of tea,i tried some dugong which was very tasty.Mullet is one of there favorite fish which is ironic as there is so much trout and reds about.

White_Steenbras
21-05-2006, 11:48 PM
Well if people keep leaving their shit everywhere at fishing spots!!!!!!! they will be endangered! I've seen heaps in the bay, better than seeing none, duh! Make sure you use that spotter to miss them in the boat mathill80!