View Full Version : 1770 photos (reds/trout/spanish)

Slider
18-05-2006, 05:36 PM
Finally got around to posting results of 1770 trip from 2 weeks ago.
Managed to find some decent reds and quite a few good trout despite not being able to find a great deal on the sounder. Unfortunately, whenever we did start to get amongst the bigger reds and trout, the tiger sharks would be quickly on the scene allowing only remora and morwong to get to the boat. Says something about morwong I think - even sharks don't eat them.
The last day we were there we noticed healthy populations of herring inside Roundhill Ck - well we all know that they aren't so healthy anymore. Very sad.
All in all it was a very enjoyable week with the weather being respectable. Might have been easier for us to boat the bigger fish if our large landing net hadn't died on the first day with none seemingly available in a suitable size locally to replace it with. (Agnes Jack?)

Lindsay

Slider
18-05-2006, 05:39 PM
More reds

Slider
18-05-2006, 05:40 PM
More....

Slider
18-05-2006, 05:43 PM
Trout

Slider
18-05-2006, 05:51 PM
Spaniard

Slider
18-05-2006, 05:55 PM
Another Trout

Dogbream
18-05-2006, 06:24 PM
1770 :-X :-X you shouldv'e said somewhere else!! ;D ;D
Can't beat the reds and trout for a feed, they are sensational, top catch mate
Dogbream

Slider
18-05-2006, 06:30 PM
Tradition - when someone gets their 1st 20lb + red.

18-05-2006, 06:51 PM
Hiya Slider.
Thanks for the post and pics.
Now THATS a trip!
Cheers!

shane_wright
18-05-2006, 08:31 PM
HEY GUYS
GREAT FISH I WILL BE UP THERE IN 3 WEEKS HOPE TO GET SOME FISH LIKE THAT QUALLITY ,TELL ME DID YOU GO VERY FAR OUT TO CATCH THEM,IF YOU HAVE ANY GOOD GSP MARKS THAT I COULD USE WHILE UP THERE I WOULD BE MUCH APRESIATED YOU COULD PM THEM IF YOU HAVE.

P.S HOWS THE MERC GO... IVE GOT THE 140 HP IN THE SAME MODEL(CANT FAULT IT)

Anne-T-Dote
18-05-2006, 08:47 PM
WOW Lindsay - that is an absolutely AESOME haul fo fish :o :o :o

Well done indeed. those trout are HUGE and those reds are awesome as well - sensational

lucyloo
18-05-2006, 09:41 PM
good goin there fellas hey is there good spots to launch boat from up there and how far out do u need to go im thinkin about towing up from redcliff looks like it would be worth it is there a lot of reef there?? :D :D :D

Slider
18-05-2006, 10:01 PM
Dogbream, sorry to do that to you mate - but judging by the numbers at the ramp there has been an increase in people fishing there in recent years anyway. I should say something about sandflies and the 2 - 3 hour run home from the reef every day hey.
Lucyloo. There is a good boat ramp (and tackle shop) inside the estuary. We were travelling a pretty rough road out about 30 nm to find any numbers and quality of fish.

Sportfish_5
18-05-2006, 10:31 PM
Gotta get me one of those hats :o ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

White_Steenbras
18-05-2006, 11:28 PM
Yup thats a classic look that hat, so funny mate. Bet you pigged out on that feast.

Great trip and report.

Slient
19-05-2006, 08:24 AM
I wish I were there with you guys...
By the way those reds are so impressive... 8-)

Silent

Az
19-05-2006, 09:46 AM
great work guys, good to see the weather was kind and those reds just make me wanna go back!!

agnes_jack
19-05-2006, 12:12 PM
Hey Slider
Nice haul of good quality fish!!
What, the barra nets are too small!!! ::)

They don't make landing nets big enough for those 1770 size fish mate, get a gaff ;D ;D ;D

Regards, Tony

Slider
19-05-2006, 12:31 PM
G'day Jack

Just hate putting a gaff into beautiful fish like that. Was one of the boys that went in to the shop and reported 'not big enough' but I would agree that a barra net would be fine especially if swimming the fish in head first.
That's a woeful existence you have goin on there mate - how do you cope?

PS. We had some fun with the backpackers on bikes at the servo - absolute carnage with girls falling off and running into vans. Was hilarious for us but I gather they are a bit of a drama there.

Lindsay

agnes_jack
19-05-2006, 12:36 PM
G'day Lindsay!!
Yeah mate, shocking lifestyle, need regular therapy to deal with it.

Those backpackers can be a good cackle, that is if they wern't so dangerous!!!
I think they need to do a few laps around a paddock before they let them on the roads!! ;D ;D ;D

Regards, Tony

Slider
19-05-2006, 12:40 PM
Well they have the paddock and a tarp if it rains I notice also. The therapeutic massage joint next door would come in handy too I reckon.

young_mind
19-05-2006, 05:16 PM
;)THAT's GOLD 8-) ;)

kingcobe
19-05-2006, 06:39 PM
Nice fish

barradise
23-05-2006, 01:35 AM
Top catch Slider,

Were they taken north, east or south of 1770?

Slider
23-05-2006, 11:57 AM
Mostly North east, but south east as well. Nothing inside 24nm.

F1SH_BOY
23-05-2006, 04:01 PM
wow nice catch well done ;)