View Full Version : townsville-shipping channel

huiti1
05-06-2006, 12:12 AM
G'day and how you all doing? this is for the townsville people... what's with the weather???? is it ever gonna calm down???
well i'm quite busy so even with better weather i wouldn't be able to get out more often... :'(
i DID get out last wednesday to the shipping channel, got a spottie just on the 60 cm trolling small spoons and chased a group in front of the picnic bay jetty but with no luck. they were quite spooky
I'm very keen to hear about other people's stories and maybe get some info since i'm a relatively new angler to the offshore area.
by the way what a shocker those people in west point. nothing worse than having your fishing trip ruined by some idiots
see ya on the water!!!!

noodlemantra
05-06-2006, 10:27 AM
hey mate,

good to see another report in the region.

dont really fish offshore, confined to land based areas (no boat). i have heard that the pylon most easterly (dont quote me on this) fishes the best, can get the odd cobia having around. they seem to get the tripletail cod around em as well. dont ask me how, just read the reports in the paper every now and then.

try rattlesnake and herald though, (when there not bombing), my mate tells me of his spearing days when he used to see big jacks and the odd ct hanging round there.

huiti1
05-06-2006, 08:18 PM
hey mate
nice to see someone replying

I do some land based fishing too mate.I've been to all the local "hotspots", palarenda, rock walls but untill now the jetty in the strand has produced the best with some really big blue salmon biting just after midnight last year. Also a week ago my friend landed a 70-80 cm barra from the rock pool....bastard. >:(
haven't put that much effort this year though but i'm sure with the temps droping so much the salmons will start showing soon.
I've been to rattlesnake three weeks ago, it was more of a relaxing trip though since my mate just wanted some "live rock" for his aquarium........but we got several juvenile red emperors and lost a couple of big things that looked like trevally, also a mackarel drop my hook just in front of me..... :o, later we chased the tuna and got one(my pic).
i'm actually quite interested into learning a bit more about land based areas because my girlfriend loves chasing the withing and the lizards and I love them too so i would apreciate any info that you could bear sharing ;)
see ya

Krazi-kev
06-06-2006, 08:12 AM
Hi mate,

Good to hear that your missus also likes wetting a line. My wife and I have been up here for 4 months now and we are strictly land-based.
We have never tried the strand jetty. I would love to get into the salmon one day. Palleranda has its times. We tend to fish the rocks behind the casino carpark and Breakwaterwalls.

The best so far has been a panned size trevalley and a 48cm flattie.

Here is a good sight to check out as well on landbased fishing in Townsville.

http://www.freewebs.com/badbubby

Good luck and happy fishing

huiti1
06-06-2006, 12:23 PM
Hi krazi-kev,

yeah i'm lucky my girl likes fishing (not that it didn't take time and effort... :-X) but she is a bit week in the seasick department that's why she usually prefers land based.
thanks for the web info, very interesting. i'll probably be going to pallarenda tomorrow so i'll let you know what turns up.

see ya

Slient
06-06-2006, 01:11 PM
hey mate
nice to see someone replying

Also a week ago my friend landed a 70-80 cm barra from the rock pool....bastard. #>:(

Hi,

Good to someone form TSV to fill up fishing report. I was originally from TSV and now living Brissy.
I still miss the great fishing around TSV...
Ask you simple question how did yr mate caught a Barra by live bait or lure?

Happy fishing
Silent

Krazi-kev
06-06-2006, 02:45 PM
Hi again Huiti,

I am like your girl, NO SEA LEGS. My wife can handle it well but I can only benefit others by being the boats berley provider.

I am going out this arvo and will try for some Bream on the in-coming tide. One or two will be nice for dinner. Probably off Rooneys bridge.

Happy fishing mate

Waiting for your Palleranda report

noodlemantra
06-06-2006, 02:46 PM
you sure it wasnt a sand bass ya mate caught ;D

(i caught a sand bass there a month ago and thought the little bugger was a barra!)

huiti1
06-06-2006, 07:15 PM
Hey silent,

how is it going in brissy? my friend is a lure-only angler so that's the way he got it.
unfortunately there was A LOT OF pictures as evidence so there was no chance to tease my mate noodlemantra, otherwise don't think that i wouldn't have tried ;)
I'll fill in the pallarenda report tomorrow so keep checking

see ya :)

Slient
07-06-2006, 04:04 PM
Hey Huiti,

Brissy getting colder now and I'm wearing jean or pant at all time!
Envy you TSV guys could wear short and T-Shirt I can't wait go to TSV soon.
Well done to yr mate with Barra and make sure it's not sand bass ;D

How did u go today's fishing @ pallarenda?

Happy fishing
Silent

huiti1
07-06-2006, 07:40 PM
hey silent,
mate i’m freezing up here and is been blowing so don't envy the weather.
pallarenda was ok today, we got some withing, nothing to brag about but certainly enough for a good feed. :)
the best part was getting some live bait though. you remember that creek just after the caravan park? i casted what looked like the biggest mangrove jack I have catched to date. unfortunately it was too big for the net pockets and fell out before i could grab it. :o [ch12288]

see ya

Mozza
08-06-2006, 08:17 PM
huiti,

What happened at West Point?

And... how about this Weather? May as well go live in Melbourne!

Mozza

huiti1
09-06-2006, 12:08 PM
hey MOZZA,
the west point thing was about some people with no respect when fishing from a boat. Leo_N posted it in the offshore reports not so long ago.
the weather is just crazy. I thought the wind is supposed to calm down in winter. well i've been freezing my ass and the winds keep blowing...... well, we'll have to keep waiting for the time to get out with the boat.......