View Full Version : Gold Coast, Sat arvo

27-06-2006, 08:11 AM
decided to try some new ground off the Gold Coast on Sat arvo. I had been given some marks by a friend in the club, and I another boat for company. Conditions were worse than forecast [smiley=thumbsdown.gif] but we thought they might improve as we went wider. They didn't, and we kept punching into it at an average speed at 14 knots for over an hour. Finally got there with the Northerly doing around 15 knots, so it was impossible to drift. Anchor held on the second attempt.

Had one good run and I landed a 13.4 kg cobia (my new PB) on 6 kg line on my BTR6500. Jim in the other boat scored a 13 kg jew, and a small mack tuna and little trag.

We went back in around 6 pm with lightning flashing on 3 sides of us. Bit of a storm to the South had me a bit worried, but all was OK. Heaps of boats fishing the pipeline in the seaway.

Felt like I had done 12 rounds when I got up on sunday!

27-06-2006, 08:13 AM
cobia

lattic
27-06-2006, 09:01 AM
10 points for commitment, looks like you'll be back to that spot.

27-06-2006, 11:09 AM
Jim's jewie

Spot_X
27-06-2006, 11:31 AM
Good going lads conditions where shocking No Knobies hey. Roy.

F1SH_BOY
28-06-2006, 05:18 PM
well done ;)

gawby
28-06-2006, 10:02 PM
Nice one Jeremy,
not good for me at the moment though. [smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=sick2.gif] [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]
Graeme ;)

dynamicspot
28-06-2006, 11:00 PM
pots.............................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. ...........................

greg

28-06-2006, 11:22 PM
Good work Jeremy! Did you get that Jewie trip in you were promised ;)

Congrats to Jim too.

29-06-2006, 07:17 AM
pots.............................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. ...........................

greg

too much pot Greg ::)

29-06-2006, 07:19 AM
Good work Jeremy! Did you get that Jewie trip in you were promised ;)

Congrats to Jim too.

Dan,

No [smiley=bigcry.gif] but I am not too concerned. I'd rather catch one out of my own boat at my own spot. More satisfaction. That is twice Jim has been out with me and caught a jewie instead of me. Keep trying....

Slient
29-06-2006, 07:29 AM
Congral's for your PB cobia... 8-)

Happy fishing
silent

flickflack
29-06-2006, 02:00 PM

Good one mate. Its those tough days that you always remember.

Rod

Smailesy
29-06-2006, 03:08 PM
mate you should of waited to the state titles nice cobia on 6

Edmo
29-06-2006, 05:43 PM
always good to see a pb and a always good to see a cobe congrats ;)

born2fly
01-07-2006, 11:49 PM
d

We went back in around 6 pm with lightning flashing on 3 sides of us. Bit of a storm to the South had me a bit worried, but all was OK. Heaps of boats fishing the pipeline in the seaway.

Mate, I was in one of those boats on the pipeline and let me tell you, bloody nothing was happening. We tried drifting, anchoring up using livies, pilchards fresh occie and not a touch. We ended up leaving when that storm stated moving xloser, was an awesome light show.

Am heading out tomorrow morning for a session on the close reefs with one of the local charters, with any luck we might actually catch something but not holding my breath.

Nice cobia and Jewies. I got my PB Cobe from the 18s about 2 years ago - 42kg on 15kg line. Hour and a half of my life I don't think my back could relive now ;D ;D ;D

Scarecrow
02-07-2006, 03:16 PM
cobia make great eating as well.
i find them beter after being frozen
at least one week.
well done ted.