View Full Version : How to beat the barra blues

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:13 AM
Went out to Davies reef and some of the shoals nearby last Friday and Saturday. Scored a huge catch, havent been out to the reef in more than 2 years and managed to score the only 2 mackeral caught over the trip - my first ever - so it made the trip for me.

I've got pics, but cant seem to resize properly. Can I email pics to someone who can then post them for me?

ta

noodles

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:38 AM
Pic1

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:41 AM
pic2 - yes there workin

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:42 AM
pic3 - notice the waterspout in the background of the above.

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:44 AM
pic4

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:46 AM
pic 5 - damn it there coming out sideways

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:48 AM
pic6 - the haul. love those shades of red

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 07:50 AM
pic6 - the haul - love those shades of red

Slient
01-06-2006, 07:55 AM
Hi Noodles,

What a bunch of reefies... well done… 8-)
Presumed the mackeral season has started up N.Q.
I just wondered if Townsville has been rain recently?

Silent

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 08:05 AM
yep i reckon there running through.

fishing the shoals on the fri night, countered 8 trawlers nearby, i would say cleaning the macks up.

went trolling the next day and normally its double hookups on the macks out there - accordingly to the blokes with me who fish regularly out there, so would explain the inactivity of them

agnes_jack
01-06-2006, 09:05 AM
Nice one Noodles!!!
Looks like a hell job cleaning them all Though!!
Well done.

Regards, Tony

lucyloo
01-06-2006, 03:35 PM
good stuff noodles great fish were up north r ya?

noodlemantra
01-06-2006, 03:45 PM
townsville mate, was frustrated at my missed barra the other week and decided to change it up.

kingcobe
01-06-2006, 06:10 PM
Awesome report love to catch fish like that

Krazi-kev
02-06-2006, 08:27 AM
Good stuff Noodles,

I am considering doing the same thing soon. Get on a charter off Maggie and chase the macs. Getting tired of not catching anything for the pan. I will try the casino rocks again this weekend sometime. Aplins this arvo could also be on the cards.

Great haul of reefies mate................you must be smiling

happy fishing mate

KGW2
02-06-2006, 11:50 AM
But do you NEED 130 fish ?

noodlemantra
02-06-2006, 12:37 PM
KGW2,

I suggest you revist you math buddy and count properly. There were four people on board, and the only bag limit nearly reached was the trout (27, thats going on 7 per person). the nanny's fell short by a handful or so. not that we or I go out every time on the reef to get the bag limits.

as stated before, the last time i went out to the reef was over two years ago, so if i wanted to take 7 trout home with me so be it. I gave half of my share of the catch away to friends and family, and considering the cost involved now doing a trip like that, why catch 2 or 3 fish? doesnt really justify a trip does it. sure i get enjoyment either way, but dont hassle me about what I need..... i'll be the judge of that, we abided by the current rules and reg's so we have done nothing wrong nor that i need to justify myself about my actions.

jeez man.

Mozza
02-06-2006, 01:07 PM
It called jealousy.

Naah just leg-pulls all around.

Yep Noodles, that'd just about do it - clear up the barra blues, I mean. I run my keep or release policy according to how empty the freezer is. Would love to fill it up with mack fillets - they keep the best.

Probably be taking the kids out to Coco on the w/e for a couple of hours of crabbing and rebaiting kids hooks. If you're around the tinny's not hard to spot - its got 'Mozza' written all over it.

Next week will be spot X for some flats fishing.

Mozza

KGW2
02-06-2006, 01:19 PM
My apologies... :( I didn't realise that there were 4 on board. In that case 130 fish is OK #:-*
We should, however, do the right thing and encourage all the Indonesians, Vietnamese and other northern neighbours to come and catch their #"Legal bag limit for friends and family"..
So that's... lets see 188 million times 130.. uhh 2.5 billion fish.
The only fish left will be toadies... Oopss They eat them too #;D
Don't matter to me.. I don't live up there in Hicksville. ;)

F1SH_BOY
02-06-2006, 04:20 PM
NICE FISH WELL DONE TOP JOB ;) [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Gummtree
06-06-2006, 10:45 AM
Awesome haul mate, brings back a few memories of the northern reef fsihing scene.

Leigh

Gummtree
06-06-2006, 10:51 AM
KGW2, you have a chip on your shoulder like a log bloke, whats your problem. The bloke didn't do a thing wrong so ease the weight on the sarcasm. Do u want to make yourself the self appointed ambassador of everyones business. At least we know that "Hicksville" will forever be under your two feet. Jess mate, get a life.

KGW2
06-06-2006, 03:15 PM
:-[

KGW2
07-06-2006, 08:02 AM
Sooner they introduce the 2 fish limit.. the better for future rec fishermen.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1145623755/0

Mad_Barry
08-06-2006, 09:54 AM
Don't matter to me.. I don't live up there in Hicksville. ;)

Of which all of us up here are eternally grateful ::)

KGW2
08-06-2006, 02:10 PM
In this Democratic society of ours.. A person is entitled to his/her opinion. Mine is that there are too many people taking too many reef fish and there WILL be none left to take in the future. So.. go out and git while the gittins good Jethro... #;) It won't last.

KGW2
03-07-2006, 12:18 PM
On 2nd thought.. Considering the immense waste of fish and general pillage of the reefs by trawlers, a hard fought trip out to the reefs by domestic anglers should be rewarded with a good catch. Having read some more posts on here about fighting 2m swells 1m chop and getting about 5 miles per gallon, and at more than $35.00 a kg for "local" fish, I think a full esky is a fair reward.