View Full Version : Hards Bag Out Sat 2/7/05

madman1
03-07-2006, 12:08 PM
Departed Mooba 1415 Saturday in near perfect conditions and arrive at spot X 65km's out in around 90 minutes. We thought we might have a drift for a while before settling in for a couple of hours. The drift provided only one average sized Tuskie and a tangle too big to mention.

We set up anchor just before sunset with four rods set up for the bottom and two floaters out. We only had time for half a stubbie each then it was on like Donkey Kong!!!

With all rods going off like a frog in a sock we didn't know which one to bring in first. We were left with the arduous task of skull dragging two 2kg fish at a time over a depth of 65 metres. This went on for around two hours pulling in quality Snaps and Pearlies.

Then wizzzzz one of the floaters with a whole gar went off like a rocket. It was Micky G to the rescue and after some big runs and a major build up of lactic acid a quality 20 - 25 kg Ambo surfaced and popped in for a beer. Lucky for him the kids were playing on the boat the previous day and decided the gaff was better utilised as a hockey stick as opposed to a retrieval tool. After deciding he wouldn't fit in the eskie he was quickly released to fight another day.

The deckie was soo rooted after a great fight he was only abled to pull in half the anchor rope and had the hide to get the skipper to finish the job. I let him off the hook. Pardon the pun.

At the end of the day we bagged out on quality Snapps and Pearlies, got 3 Trag Jew, 1 Tuskie and old man Ambo.

The run home was just as good as the run out.

Overall a great evening with great conditions. And to top it off the boat was in the yard by midnight.

madman1
03-07-2006, 01:21 PM
thats in a 105 litre Tropical eaky. Just to give you a size reference.

03-07-2006, 01:26 PM
Nice report Madman. Hope the gaff had the protector on it when used as a hockey stick :o Had to be on the end of a dispute with a hickey player wielding gaff ;D

seapup
03-07-2006, 02:53 PM
Hi Mark,
You picked a good night! friday was rough as guts on the Hard! Well done mate! ;D
Ben.

03-07-2006, 06:07 PM
Mark,

I think you need to get a bigger esky, great catch

Steven

MrWong
03-07-2006, 06:45 PM
Well Done MAD .... you bette rwatch ya rear vision mirror you may start seeing a poly in your wake lol. Very envious here! Congrats - beers n cheers!
Norm