View Full Version : PB's for all

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:13 PM
After purchasing the new boat before easter, we have been waiting anxiously for our first trip to "The Banks". Reading all your posts over the last 12 mths had only wetted my apetite for things piscatorial, especially the big knobbies. Finally the weather seemed to be falling into line and strangely falling on a weekend.
Lined up a couple of mates from work who are mad keen and non fish-growlers. Set off from Mooloolaba at 2.30pm on Sat. Great run out, no chop with just an easy 1.5m swell, that meant our arrival at the central area of the banks was at around 3.40pm.
Sounded around for a while using some marks I got from a book I bought a while back. Seems these marks are only a guide for an area and you really find your own marks by simply looking around. The first few drifts over good shows produced some pearlies and yes, yes my first decent knobby snapper, I was rapt ;D ;D ;D...could have gone home then and there!. You see all of us on board were real novices in regard to deep-water fishing, so the results over the next few hours were experiences that will be remembered for a long while. We all got many firsts of species and many personal bests including bagging out on snapper with a few going up to the 5kilo mark. You couldn't wipe the smile off Pete's face. Got blowin away a few times on 50lb braid, they felt like good snapper, dunno,? maybe they hit the reef?
Anyway with respectable reps of many different species, and having our 15 snappers by 3.00am we headed in, only to be confronted by a seen at the Mooloolaba ramp that can only be described as well organised mayhem :-/. Boats being launched 3 & 4 abreast from both sets of ramps with other boats rigging and waiting for their turns, this is at 4.00 am mind you!!. One guy floating past said we certainly picked the wrong time to come in. Anyway we sat back and watched and were amazed at the efficiency of the whole process. It was probably only 10 to 15 mins and a couple of lanes were clear, so we swooped and managed to get the Quinnie on the trailer :D.

We are all looking forward to our next trip, to say the least ::) ::).....ed
few pics to come...

seapup
09-07-2006, 09:16 PM
Hi,
those big unstopables on 50lb braid were probably big amberjack.. they pull like trains and dive into the wire weed and bust you up.
Ben. ;)

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:18 PM
pic....ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:22 PM
pic...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:24 PM
pic...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:25 PM
pic...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:26 PM
pic...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:29 PM
few nice snapper...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:32 PM
Alec with another...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:34 PM
part o catch..pic...ed

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:36 PM
pic...ed

Smailesy
09-07-2006, 09:40 PM
great fish

indy
09-07-2006, 09:41 PM
Well done looks like u had a ball and nice fish to match

Eddy1
09-07-2006, 09:46 PM
Check out this smile...says it all...ed

scoota
10-07-2006, 08:36 AM
Well done lads, great to see big smiles all round ;)
Scoota..

elephrez1
10-07-2006, 04:06 PM
great to see

craigie
10-07-2006, 05:19 PM
Great Stuff Dave !!! Sensational catch of fish !!

Glad to see you have got out there and reaped the rewards.

Can't wait to show Andy your report, it'll be enough to make him move back to Brisbane ;D ;D

The move to upgrade your boat is certainly paying dividends !! Can't wait to move up to a bigger boat myself :P.

Might have to hit you up for a few GPS Marks ;)

Craigie.

herveybaymagic
10-07-2006, 05:38 PM
very nice fish well done on your first time out

10-07-2006, 08:58 PM
Some great colour in the esky and looks like fantastic conditions. The ramp at 4am in good conditions in winter will always be chockers...but as you say, everything runs quite efficiently. The biggest danger is watching out for the drunks on the way to the ramp LOL. Scared a few while driving with the cats eyes on the cap. ;)

reef_king
10-07-2006, 08:59 PM
looks like your showin up the pros with that catch
nice fish

cheers ty

craigie
17-07-2006, 01:59 PM
Dave,

Andy is back and has now caught up with your fishing news !!!

He wants to know, when are you taking him to the "Banks" ???

He says your a "Legend" !!! and will catch up with you soon (when he gets back to Townsville later in the week)

will pm phone details etc,

Cheers from us both,

Craig & Andy (The world traveller)

S_Bend
17-07-2006, 08:11 PM
Well done mate. I haven't yet made the trip out to the Banks but am hoping to sometime soon - weather permitting on a Sunday. Can only hope my first trip out will be as successful.

Thanks for the report.

BR65
17-07-2006, 08:33 PM
Good on ya Eddy, thats what its all about.

vertico
18-07-2006, 10:40 PM
gotta love that european fish grip :)
seano

griz066
20-07-2006, 06:38 AM
Beaut parrot mate good chewin they are 8-)