View Full Version : first legal red in close

daysy
06-08-2006, 01:36 PM
hi ,we picked these up 3 weeks ago out from caloundra only a few klms out.i have only a 4.2 quintrex and it goes to show you dont need a huge boat to get some decent fish.we were using scad fillets with small leads on baitrunners.the red was 15 pnds and 75 long.the snaps wre around the same wieght but a bit longer in lenght.they were caught in the arvo about 4pm and all were in a short bite period of about 20 minutes.sorry about the quality of photo as they are a photo of a photo.there are some good fish in close still and i only used 15 litres of fuel .

chicken
06-08-2006, 01:54 PM
Great stuff fellas gotta be happy with that

06-08-2006, 02:10 PM
Snappaflicka

Ssssshhhhhh

There are some great little patches of coffee rock just off caloundra that really produce good fish, Never seen a legal red pulled from there though so great work!! ;)

outsiderskip
06-08-2006, 03:14 PM
just goes to show
u dont have to go far to get quality fish

pete

Smailesy
06-08-2006, 03:54 PM
great fish and a cheap arvo on the water 15 litres of fuel thats great stuff

REELY
06-08-2006, 05:21 PM
champion effort there Snappaflicka, I was just complaining to my deckie about the price of the run out to the banks, run around a bit and back, roughly $200 with my merc 150hp efi. So if you can just pass on those marks to me i'll see you out there next week. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ,Shawno

06-08-2006, 07:52 PM
mmmmm nice fish ;D

06-08-2006, 08:03 PM
Do you know something we don't, Chris ?

reef_king
06-08-2006, 08:13 PM
very very nice fish especially for in close.
champion effort guys.

ty

dynamicspot
07-08-2006, 06:28 AM
there out there and as said in close have got reds there myself

great catch

CHEERS

greg

Fixation
07-08-2006, 08:53 AM
Nice goin snappaflicka. Nice red for in close. Bet your gonna be keepin that spot a secret for sure. #;)

07-08-2006, 09:30 AM
Some real quality there guys. Well done, especially on the red.

the_baker
07-08-2006, 11:46 AM
top catch there lads and in a 4.2m tinny go the tinnys

cheers dave

lattic
07-08-2006, 03:46 PM
I love that feeling of getting back to the boat ramp in my tinnie with a esky full of decent fish, as the blokes in the bigger boats come over for a look (nothing against bigger boats). Good on ya Snappaflicka, hope to see more pics.

Muz

pegasus
07-08-2006, 08:39 PM
great fish fellas- got to be stoked with that red

lew

Reefmaster
07-08-2006, 09:03 PM
Good stuff fellas
Some great fish and even better when it's from the close grounds.
It was roughly 3 weeks ago when there was a small period where a lot of Reds were caught on the close grounds in SE Queensland. Looks like you hit the jackpot as well. 8-) :)

daysy
07-08-2006, 09:24 PM
thanks greg if thats a complement im taking it . ive seen the many monsters you have caught and i think maybe one day i will jag one.we catch heaps of small ones and you think that there must be a keeper amongst them an finally yes.they fight well on 8 kg line.now we have broken the duck who knows.

cheers matt