View Full Version : Coolum Wide Squire :)

vertico
13-08-2006, 08:15 PM
Headed out in semi glas out conditions saturday afternoon and arrived at bait grounds within no time. Proceeded to jig up a sh1tload of slimeys and yakkas for live and chilled baits. Then headed north to a little wire weed spot in 65 metres away from the crowds.
Spot 1 disappointed but we didnt hang around long, so we headed wider to some ground that produced 2 weeks before but on a different moon.
Arrived on spot 2 to find the wind was pushing use to fast and had to anchor up on a 5m ledge in 84m of water.
Mayhem broke loose just before sundown with trag and squire coming aboard. The decky lost a double header of good solid squire to bent hooks but he is now a convert to the vmc 6/0s. His seconds fish of the day weighed in at 8.8kg and was nearly 90cm in length.(vmc hook)
I proceeded to fill up the esky with trag and pearlies and it took me a good hour to get my best squire for the night at 6.8kg. During the night we were bricked a few times by what we thought were good squire or those bloody Aj's. Fish were biting through the night but very slow and by sunup we had nearly reached our 10 snapper.
Moved forther north looking around the 90m line and dropped baits on whatever was promising. Found one spot which was producing pearlies and snapper every drift but soon they went off the bite.
Went up 80km from mba and tried some new ground which I had never fish before. No luck.
Started making our way back and as we were motoring at around 40km/hr I spotted some action on the sounder so we went back and found squire and pearlies in a feeding frenzy. This is where I decided to pull out the plastics/hardbodies and see if they would still work.
They sure did and we soon were on our way with a bag of squire and some nice pearlies.
The 75km run home from that mark took only 1.5hr which was due to the great conditions.
Was good to speak to a few people on the radio during the night and see how they were going sunday.

until next report
Seano

vertico
13-08-2006, 08:16 PM
dghgfhgf

vertico
hgfhdgfh

vertico
dgfhdgfh

vertico
dghdgfh

vertico
13-08-2006, 08:18 PM
Good to meet you out there again Hainsey
seano

BR65
13-08-2006, 08:59 PM
some nice knobbies there

gawby
13-08-2006, 09:17 PM
Seano, well done again. Bloody nice snapper.
I am looking at going out on friday night and comong home on saturday if the weather forcasts stay good.
Hope to get a bag of quality like yours.
Graeme ;)

SeaSaw
13-08-2006, 10:15 PM
Nice going Sean. Some great Snapper in that lot. :)

vertico
13-08-2006, 10:17 PM
Did you head out seasaw ?
seano

vertico
13-08-2006, 10:21 PM
gawby: yerh i recun ill be back out there again on friday/saturday
lets hope that weather holds out

SeaSaw
13-08-2006, 10:38 PM
No Sean, I'm internet fishing this weekend ;D Couldn't fit a trip in :'(

outsiderskip
14-08-2006, 06:21 AM
hi sean
nice fish wish i caught a few of them

pete

lattic
14-08-2006, 08:23 AM
Nice Catch Seano, just a question, How big is the boat you're fishing out of (it looks like a big tinnie?), to get 75km out? Did you just get the right window?

muz

Fixation
14-08-2006, 09:06 AM
Hey sean, Nice bag of snapper there mate.
Heard you talkin to chemmy on the radio sat arvo.
Great conditions out there sat arvo.

Craig.

vertico
14-08-2006, 05:10 PM
stabicraft frontier 529 mate
solid as a rock and very safe :)
google stabicraft for more info
seano

14-08-2006, 06:42 PM
Great trip Seano...excellent result, and good the see the knobbies still around...even if they are tapering off a bit

sounds like you had a great day ;)

Our turn in the morning!

14-08-2006, 07:12 PM
Good to catch up with you again Sean. Sounds like you covered a fair bit of ground. Top catch. How much fuel do you reckon you used?

vertico
14-08-2006, 07:32 PM
hainsey probably used around 100 litres for the day
did around 180 kilometres or so

seano

14-08-2006, 09:33 PM
Top stuff Seano....some stonkers in that lot. That Stabi seems to be a bloody good fish magnet ;)

Cheers and well done

15-08-2006, 09:16 AM
Nicei mean Awesome snaps Sean-well done son ;D ;D ;D

snappa
15-08-2006, 12:22 PM
:o.....your LOVE child ... spiro

:-?

vertico
15-08-2006, 05:05 PM
maybe i should be taking that snappa nick off yah ;D