View Full Version : Banks Session Sunday Morning

14-08-2006, 09:32 PM
Left Brissy just after midnight and got to Kawana ramp around 2am. Headed out towards the banks with a gentle 1.5m swell. Further out we got the better the conditions. Pulled up on the first spot around 4.45am and things were a little quiet with a couple of Moses Perch and Husser coming on board. Fished there till 6.30 and then moved south a bit and got onto some Pearlies and Parrot, but still no snapper. Took a run up to the Hards and found a nice show. First drift saw a 5Kg snapper on board and they kept coming, mostly around the 3-5 kg mark. Also got a couple of Yellowtail Kings and a nice little Moarie Cod. Headed back in at 11.15 to a glassed out run at about 35Knots, 1 hour to get back in. The only downer for the trip was blowing a tyre on the trailer on the way home and not making a phone call to someone to let them know how we went. SORRY CHRIS.

14-08-2006, 09:33 PM
Neville's First one

14-08-2006, 09:34 PM
Rod with a couple of the average size ones

14-08-2006, 09:35 PM
Healthy Esky

14-08-2006, 09:36 PM
Feeding flipper

14-08-2006, 09:38 PM
the Culprit

vertico
14-08-2006, 10:39 PM
top score hainesy well done
you need to get out there earlier to get a better run on the snapper tho
seano

Jim_Byrne
14-08-2006, 10:48 PM
Looks like some awesome conditions out there!

Great mixed bag in the esky too.

Where you on the highway when the tyre blew?

outsiderskip
15-08-2006, 06:12 AM
hi dave
good to have a chat on radio
glad u got amongst them
conditions were great
but we found the fish lacking
pete

firetruck
15-08-2006, 09:29 AM
Nice fish Hainsey.

Just ineterested to know how the ABU 7000 goes? I have one but haven't tried it out there yet? What strength line, briad/ mono do you have on it?

DALEPRICE
15-08-2006, 05:28 PM
top stuff hainsey !
looks like the conditions would
have been hard to take in that first shot !
cheers dale

indy
15-08-2006, 07:29 PM
Well done guy's i heard you on channel 21 saying you were doing alright and looks like you scored the goods.

chicken
15-08-2006, 07:36 PM
Great conditions great catch.

15-08-2006, 08:42 PM
Jim - Yeh we were on the highway at springwood when she blew. Put a couple of marks on the hull but they look like they eill polish out ok. Cant say the same about the number plate tho.

Sean - Yeh I will get these deckies moving a bit earlier next time. The run was a bit later than usual.

firetruck - The little Abu has taken everything I throw at it. I run 30 pound braid on it. The best it has done was a twenty minuite battle with a thirty pound Amberjack. Took the punishment ok. The only thing I had done was some new drag washers. I was told when I first got it that they were a bit lacking and just could not put much hurt on the fish. Had them upgraded and since then no worries.

Dale - Did you end up getting out? How did you go?

16-08-2006, 08:18 AM
Looks like you had the best of the conditions Dave...the seas look oily smooth. Top catch too mate.

DALEPRICE
17-08-2006, 06:51 PM
no dave,
broke down mate ::) ::)
happens to the best of us.
cheers dale

17-08-2006, 07:01 PM
Bugga, Theres always next time Dale.

westie
18-08-2006, 11:10 AM
Dave you have just proven that when westie is on the water it turns to :-[

When westie goes 4X4ing the weather is fine as I was at LCMP last weekend, I am off to Double Island this weekend so weather should be good again. Good Luck ;D

Snappa I have your dreaded curse now, so you can return to the water again.

18-08-2006, 02:04 PM
Snappa I have your dreaded curse now, so you can return to the water again.

Snappa still catches fish though Westie ;D ;D

Juprat
18-08-2006, 07:12 PM
Test

19-08-2006, 05:53 PM
Westie so true I am starting to see the pattern here. Good weather this weekend as well. I want to plan a trip for next sunday are you going 4x4ing then ;D ;D ;D

SeaSaw
19-08-2006, 09:54 PM
Good on ya Dave. :) Nice catch, and good to chat to you on Friday. Lucky that wheel blowing didn't cause any trouble ... other than a hole in the wallet ::)