View Full Version : Beasts from the deep

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:16 PM
Couldn't get work off fri so plan was to leave fri arvo.After a late start which was further enhanced by a bearing blowing off and the wheel 10m from popping off as we backed into a mechanics yard(much thanks goes to graham the mechanic)It didn't look good for the weekend.Anywho got to the fishing grounds about 1am sat morning in beautiful condtions to pull a lone snapper at 5.5kg and a few moses perch and hussar.Fishing was slow but consistent with a few good trout, parrot and reds as well as some nice red throat and a lone spangled coming aboard in between the losses of the big ones >:

Headed to an area further north that I call shark shoal that consitently holds big reds and even bigger sharks.After 30mins of mayhem and some good fish landed but no big reds, the winch was firing with solid reds getting taken real close to the boat.

.Searched alot around before sundown for a show with no sharks holding above,or around it but still a good show of reds and I hit pay dirt.First drop resulted in a 8kg red and pulled hook.2nd and 3 very solid hookups are acheived a 7kg red came up with a 8-10foot whaler circling it but not having any go's at it, so with 2 other very good fish still to come we threw over 4-5 fish over the back to intice it away.....This worked and I got a 15kg red to the surface just as it came back for the red on the deck winch which made mine look like sperm(in all honesty a 20kg+red) Damo gave this fish heaps but snapped the 200pd leader 5seconds frow the net >:

. Anchored right on top but couldn't hold bottom with 3pds of lead. Uped anchor,got 2 more drifts in including another 13.2kg beast, but the current had picked up to 2-3knots to the south on the drift into a 10knt S.E and was near impossible to fish, so headed in out of the current for some rest. Next morning Damo got his best red at 9kg before heading in early and sounding for new ground along the way, with slow fishing and only picking up a 12.6kg cobe and an Aj as well as some parrot and hussar which were thrown back with many others as All esky's were full.

Ty

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:17 PM
Nathans P.B maroi at over 5kilo

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:18 PM
Johnos first ever spangled

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:19 PM
Damo's P.B red....he bagged out on these

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:20 PM
some colour

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:21 PM
Johno's P.B red

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:22 PM
Johno's best cobe to date

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:23 PM
My best of the trip

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:24 PM
group mugshot

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:26 PM
solid "black lip" over 13 kilo

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:28 PM
Damo's first AJ

reef_king
20-08-2006, 09:30 PM
last one

20-08-2006, 09:31 PM
Man my eyeballs are stuck to the screen fella's :o :o :obrilliant catch

Big_unit
20-08-2006, 09:40 PM
Stonka report.

Thats Gold [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

James

SeaSaw
20-08-2006, 09:57 PM
Theres more red in that photo than any other colour :o Great catch and top report.

indy
21-08-2006, 04:55 AM
No too ways about it you are the king very very jealeous

outsiderskip
21-08-2006, 05:34 AM
wow
what can i say
im jealous
great fishing

pete

browndog
21-08-2006, 05:57 AM
Love those reds, number one fish in the sea for me.

backlash08
21-08-2006, 08:02 AM
Great report Ty - well done mate!! weather was good for it and you cleaned up again - I'm jealous

21-08-2006, 08:07 AM
Brilliant report ty, pity about the snapping of the 200lb leader. I'll be in touch

21-08-2006, 08:09 AM
Well done Ty...good to see a great mixed bag,

and some lovely Red fish to boot

Thanks for the encouragement

Keeps us all going back

21-08-2006, 08:12 AM
Fantastic guys ;)

Smailesy
21-08-2006, 08:21 AM
love those red

Great_White
21-08-2006, 08:59 AM
What a great trip, looked so calm in the back ground :)

I see red, I see red, #top catch guys. ;D ;D ;D

Peter :)

Fixation
21-08-2006, 09:09 AM
Hey Ty,
I was thinking of you guys out there on Saturday pulling reds when there was no wind. I was crying at home repairing the power winch. Very impressive catch mate. Love the “black lips” on the big guy. He is a corker. Great photos and an awesome report. ;)

21-08-2006, 10:46 AM
Wow.....Ty that's another great trip. Love all the red colour. The conditions look simply stunning.

Congrats.

Anne-T-Dote
21-08-2006, 12:37 PM
Awesome Ty, simply awesome. they are some great reds and the tuskies are massive as well. Great Maori cod and some beaut coronation trout as well.

Did you get any other snapper other than the 5.5kg loner?

Bundy_Burp
21-08-2006, 02:21 PM
Somebody get me some eye drops all I'm seeing is red doh looking to much at all those fish I think .
Excellent report and great pictures as well .
If your mission was to make us all jealous I am pretty sure you suceeded
Very well done

Bundy 8-)

chicken
21-08-2006, 04:51 PM
AWESOME!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

21-08-2006, 04:56 PM
That's simply awesome guys!! ;D

Fisher4life
21-08-2006, 05:06 PM
:oWhat a result!! Ty you really know how to find a good feed, congrat's guys, next time i'll have to get in earlier!!

They are some monster reds!

Edmo
21-08-2006, 05:07 PM
yeah! good on ya ty \, I was thinkin of yas as i was sweatin it out at work on sat, wishin i was there with yas.
Oh well maybe next time, well done looks like great weather :)

bballfisho
21-08-2006, 05:08 PM
thats unbelievable :o :o :o.
thats a huge amount of fish there, great
work

reef_king
21-08-2006, 05:35 PM
Maccamania that was the only snap of the trip as i wasn't fishing for them.

Josh won't be heading out for a while,and next 2 trips are already full, but as soon as I have a spare seat U'll be the first I ring,

Petenoosa
21-08-2006, 05:42 PM
Thats a serious box of fish boys....well done. :)

Dogbream
21-08-2006, 05:50 PM
Dont know how you blokes manage to stay within the possesion limits, your freeze is probably still full from your previous trip...

dogbream

lattic
21-08-2006, 05:50 PM
One of the better posts mate, well done, thats agreat catch all round

muz

Deiter
21-08-2006, 06:14 PM
Well done Ty, Nath and crew. :)

2 ripper weekends in a row eh? Just make sure you guys don't burn yourselves out!!! ;D ;D ;D

Good to see you got a few bigguns past the noah's. I bet you were all spewin when the BIG boy dropped off the winch :-/. You been letting TTB tie the knots again?
oh well, there's always next weekend. ;)

Damo
P.s. i may have come up with a contraption you can put on your line to keep the toothies away from OUR fish. I'll Give you a yell when it's complete and get you to test it. Better still, i'll hang onto it and wait till I get to test it. :)

PPs. That Damo fella you had on board is nowhere near as good looking as the one you had last week! ;D ;D ;D.

Riptide_23
21-08-2006, 06:46 PM
Damn good catch lads. Im thinking off Double Island? We went up there on the weekend for an overnighter no big reds though bummer.

21-08-2006, 06:50 PM
Nice mate!! ;)

pods on it's way home as i type ;) got to be better than chucking over fish 8-)

Good to see TBB made it into some photo's this week he didn't get in any last trip!

Was he still TBB this trip?

Jim_Byrne
21-08-2006, 08:50 PM
What else can I say........ thats simply wicked!

Good on ya

sempre
21-08-2006, 09:06 PM
Well done Reefking , love that red colour in the box .

Murks
23-08-2006, 03:28 PM
i think i need to stop reading posts from this section....geez just to think i was happy with a few squire ::)

reef_king
23-08-2006, 06:13 PM
Damo what kind of contraption? I'll test it for u and let u know how it go's ;D ;D Tbb's knot didn't fail it was extreme drag..big fish..Just snapped at probally a slightly weaker spot :'( :'(

Ian the pod+Damo's so called contraption(hope its better than his handle ;)) and what the hell a couple of sacrifical fish aswell, we might all get some bigguns.

P.S he was still TBB but didn't get called it once. This crew had more respect ;D
He did however manage to loose another sponge overboard the first night and could'nt recover it.

23-08-2006, 08:01 PM
RESPECT !!!I've got total respect for TBB , i've never seen anyone clean like him!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

He is very clumsy with the sponge though ;)

ian