View Full Version : DI 19-20th august

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:28 PM
Left home at 4am on saturday morning, arriving at rainbow at 7.30. headed due east of the bar to our first spot. First drop and trav pulled up a nice snapper about 3kg. Tried another drift but it was dead so we decided to move on. Moved to another of our spots, found a nice show of fish and decided to anchor. First couple of baits to hit the bottom and we began pulling in fish. mostly cod, #moses perch and parrot. After about 20 minutes the went off again.

Then after alot of shifting around the fish didnt come back on till about 3pm and then they went ballistic. Snapper, pearl perch, sweetlip, moses perch. Then dad remembered we had some whole scad in the esky so one went down. it hadnt even been down for two minutes and the rod doubled over. 80lb mono and he was struggling to get this fish away from the bottom. after a short but full on fight me and dad were hanging over the side to catch a first glimps of colour. Red!!! It wasnt the shape of a big red though. Up it came and it was a 8.5kg coral trout. we were all stoked, next drop he went down with another whole scad again almost as soon as he got to the bottom over his rod went again and up came a 4kg pearly. Then on dusk #we were floating for snapper and off went one of the baitrunners, thinking it was a tuna simon tightend the drag right up and pull a nice kingie about 12kg.

Then once it got dark the fish went off again so it was time for a couple of us to catch some sleep. only pulling up a couple of fish during the night, the best being a sweetlip about 3kg. Then nothing till first light. first drop and simon was on to something decent a good cod about 15kg and then two more one was a monster bit we let them go. continued to get squire and two nice snapper, pearlies and another coral trout. pulled the pin about 8 and headed back in to a flat bar. all in all a top trip.

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:31 PM
ian and his coral trout

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:32 PM
Big mouth ;D

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:33 PM
4kg Pearly

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:35 PM
12kg kingie

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:36 PM
Troys 5kg snapper

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:37 PM
Simons Coral trout

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:47 PM
Trav and the trout. Froth up brother

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 05:49 PM
the catch

RCG008
22-08-2006, 06:05 PM
Looks like you put the hard yards in...well done. Now youll have to do the same with a filleting knife :o

reef_king
22-08-2006, 06:15 PM
Well done mate thats a ripper of a trout ;D

Edmo
22-08-2006, 06:17 PM
gotta love di ,did you launch on the beach? nice catch over all :)

R_K_HILL
22-08-2006, 06:59 PM
Well done on your catch fellas ;)

Slient
22-08-2006, 07:09 PM
great trip and good hauls you got... 8-)
How deep was fished?

happy fishing
Silent

Riptide_23
22-08-2006, 07:31 PM
bout 120ft

Jim_Byrne
22-08-2006, 08:18 PM
Wicked!

rainbow_runner
22-08-2006, 08:30 PM
Well done fellas, Great session, certainly can't beat Rainbow!!!!

The pearlies a ripper, would have been a winner at the recent comp at Rainbow Beach

Ceratinly looks like you had far better conditions than we had at the comp. :'(

Can't wait to get out there again in a month or so

22-08-2006, 09:11 PM
Nice colours there guys and a snodger trout for sure. Top effort.

zulu
23-08-2006, 05:24 AM
I don't know whats more impressive the great catch of fish or the green lawn they are lying on :)

23-08-2006, 07:22 AM
Top trout

steven

Chrisco_stew
23-08-2006, 09:12 AM
Now that's a trout.

Snodger!!

Well done boys!!

Chriso

Smailesy
23-08-2006, 10:11 AM
looks like you guys had a ball

23-08-2006, 03:10 PM
Great stuff Wags...good to see you got among them...make the effort worth while...see the old bloke is still thinking in feet and inches Troy ;D ;D ;D ;D

I wonder if the new boat is gonna be 20ft or 6 metres????? Looks like you're still getting value out of the oldie (boat that is) ;D ;D ;D

Have to catch up soon...coming down to stir the troops up at Cleveland in a couple of weeks in the evening...hope to see you all then

Murks
23-08-2006, 03:14 PM
looks as though you all had a shocker......wow what great fish :D

chicken
23-08-2006, 05:10 PM
Top stuff guys ;D ;D ;D ;D

elephrez1
23-08-2006, 05:38 PM
WELL DONE

outsiderskip
23-08-2006, 05:42 PM
with a mouth like that
did you give it a kiss
well done

pete

lattic
23-08-2006, 08:04 PM
Good report , awesome catch, well done all round, thats an awesome overnighter.

muz