View Full Version : Noosa boys wide of the Hard - Monday 21st.

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:48 AM
Weather looked good yesterday for a run out real wide! I called the boys and we hooked the boat up around 7:30am. Put 250l fuel into the Haines and dropped her in the drink. Crossed the bar around high tide which was great as there was stuff all swell. Loaded up with 40 yakkas at the live bait grounds. Then pointed the bow wide and put the throttle down. We cruised out averaging 28knts which was great. We dodged a few whales on the way out which kept us entertained.
As we approached my mark there was a boat anchored up on it - and we had not seen another boat on the way out or anywhere near our mark! As we got closer it was a guy I knew from Mooloolaba whose a pro. Spoke to him on the VHF and he had been out for a 2 days already and said it had been a bit slow but they were starting to chew more today! Good news!! ;D Sounded around and found a good show on the ledge(the ledge comes up 12m really hard). Anchored on the ledge as there was not much current and started to burley around 11:30am. First drop on paternoster resulted in smaller Pearlies,Squire. I dropped over a pilly on a floatline rig and got smashed by a Snapper around the 4kg mark. Told the boys to switch to floatline rigs and then we started loading up on Snapper. We were throwing them back at the end as we had bagged out quite quickly. We also picked up some Pearlys, Trag Jew and Moses Perch. Was a good day on the water! It was great also as I did not need to move once! We sat on the same spot for the whole session! We pulled the pin around 4pm as we were sick of throwing Snapper back(leave them there for the next trip)! We all cracked a cold beer and headed back home to the Noosa river! Cant wait for the next trip! ;D

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:48 AM
Me with a coupla tasty ones! ;D

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:49 AM
Browny with a tasty one! ;D

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:50 AM
Browny the mad Indo surfer with another tasty one! ;D

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:51 AM
A :) Whale giving us the finger! Cheeky bugger!

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:52 AM
The catch! ;D

seapup
22-08-2006, 11:53 AM
Browny again! ;D

darrmun
22-08-2006, 01:04 PM
great going guys well done , i'm just busting to get out , i gotta give up this work stuff !!!!!!!!!!!!!

outsiderskip
22-08-2006, 01:19 PM
great catch seapup
great pics of the whales playing
might have to venture out from noosa one day to far from mooloolaba

cheers pete

Smailesy
22-08-2006, 01:23 PM
some great fish there guys

seapup
22-08-2006, 01:54 PM
Thanks Pete! Be careful of the Noosa bar though! Its claimed many boats over the years! :'(
Ben.

22-08-2006, 02:16 PM
Nice catch Ben!!

Is that your first trip to the area?? How was the current?

reef_king
22-08-2006, 02:20 PM
good one mate. Love the joke of the whale ;D

seapup
22-08-2006, 02:21 PM
Hi Ian,
No mate been there plenty of times over the past 5 years. But it was my first time this year. Current was really light which helped when floatlining for Snapper.
Ben.

Fixation
22-08-2006, 04:09 PM
Nice haul Ben. Looks like the weather turned it on for you out there. One of those pearlies is a snodger. Great catch.

Good report. ;)
Craig.

22-08-2006, 04:17 PM
Ripper catch Ben. Great to see you took advantage of a nice weather window. It's about time we had some typically stablke winter conditions.

The only window I had yesterday was the one I was lookin outta at work in Brissie wondering why I was not out fishing :'(

22-08-2006, 04:31 PM
Ripper catch Ben. Great to see you took advantage of a nice weather window. It's about time we had some typically stablke winter conditions.

The only window I had yesterday was the one I was lookin outta at work in Brissie wondering why I was not out fishing :'(

chicken
22-08-2006, 05:01 PM
Well done fellas top catch

SeaSaw
22-08-2006, 09:55 PM
Good catch Ben. Its great to be able to do a sneaky mid weeker, much less traffic to contend with ;)

Top effort :)

Nobites
22-08-2006, 10:22 PM
Great work Ben. Could you see vanuatu from there? ;D
Some great fish there. Did you get many on the livies or mostly dead baits?

23-08-2006, 07:24 AM
Bloody good catch boys with entertainment from whales thrown in

Steven

seapup
23-08-2006, 09:34 AM
THANKS FOR THE COMMENTS BOYS!

MARK
MIDE WEEK SESSIONS ARE THE BEST AS THERE IS DEFINITELY A LOT LESS BOAT TRAFFIC!

KRISTIAN
WE CAUGHT MOST OF THE FISH ON PILLYS.. AS MY AERATOR S**T ITSELF HALFWAY OUT AND MOST OF THE LIVE YAKKAS DIED. THE FRESH YAKKA FILLETS STILL CAUGHT THEIR FAIR SHARE OF FISH THOUGH..

CHEERS,
BEN.
:)

Deiter
23-08-2006, 12:49 PM
good on ya Ben, good to see people getting a healthy feed.

Damo

Murks
23-08-2006, 03:16 PM
great report even better catch

23-08-2006, 05:05 PM
Good to get out away from the crowds Ben...we didn't see another boat yesterday...Seems the fish are up your way ATM...might have to have another go on the next moon. Well done!

BTW...any closer to that platey???

rhys

seapup
24-08-2006, 08:45 AM
Hi Rhys,
There is the odd Snapper about up my way ATM!
I checked out Sam's Riptide (SEMPRE) on sunday morning in the Noosa river! Bloody nice boats those Riptides!! I think I am getting closer to a platey! ;D
Ben.

Petenoosa
25-08-2006, 09:55 AM
:'( :'(.....Arrgh Benny I could have been there too.... :)
Super catch mate. 8-)

seapup
25-08-2006, 11:32 AM
Pete,
We would have increased the Snapper catch with u there mate!!!!! ;D Next trip u better jump onboard ah! ;)
Benny.

sempre
26-08-2006, 08:14 PM
Nice work Ben , good to meet you , hopefully have more time to chat next time .

Sam...