View Full Version : Swains Reef 12 - 19 August 2006

22-08-2006, 06:13 PM
G'day All,

A quick report and a few piccies on our trip to Swains Reef of Gladstone this.

Departed BrisVeagas at 5am and arrived in one piece in Gladstone at about 11am. We loaded the gear onto the MV Australiania and departed at about 4pm that afternoon.

We were again blessed with perfect weather the whole week wich made the trip out and back comfortable. #:)

Arriving at about 8am the next day proceeded to share the two sessions per day between fishing the shallow reefs in dories and drifting aboard the mothership.

During the first five days of fishing got a mixed bag of Coral trout, Red Throat Emperor, Spangled Emperor, Tusk Fish and Hussar. After failing to catch a single legal red last year this year we managed six #:) It would have been seven but no matter how hard I tried just couldn't see my 54cm making the size limit #:'(. We only managed 1 spainard this year despite some seroius trolling around the reef leadges in the dories. :(

On the second last night we headed halfway home to fish in 100m of water for a mixed bag on Mori Cod, Barr Cod, Snapper, Job fish and again some monster perlies #:o

A great trip overall on a great boat and a big thanks to the crew Chef Helen, Skipper Mick and junior apprentice deckie Alex #;)

Damo.

22-08-2006, 06:15 PM
The route we took around the southern end of Swains

22-08-2006, 06:17 PM
Caught and released this Chinaman after a quick piccie #;)

It had a whole flathead about 30cm hanging out of its gob when I caught it.

PS: they pull like freight trains, another guys got one the same size on a hand line and managed to get it in :o

22-08-2006, 06:20 PM
Gbanger and his impression of his legal Red.

eerrrrrrr....... do I mention the incident on that afternoon ?? :-X

Charter boat ?...... what charter boat ? (literally !)

What you didn't see a charter boat !! ;D ;D ;D

22-08-2006, 06:23 PM
Typical Weather

22-08-2006, 06:24 PM
Some nice colours here ! 8-)

22-08-2006, 06:25 PM
It was hard sitting back relaxing with a coldie watching this every afternoon ::)

22-08-2006, 06:27 PM
The crew from front to back

Young deckie Alex only on his third trip out so we went easy on him :-X ::) ;D
Skipper Mick
Chef Helen

22-08-2006, 06:29 PM
One day drifting we saw this thing come from nowhere #:o it must have been at least 25ft long and only a baby - a whale shark.

a poor photo but it came, looked at our rugged heads and took of before I could get a decent snap #:(

22-08-2006, 06:31 PM
Results of the last day fishing

22-08-2006, 06:32 PM
codsville

22-08-2006, 06:36 PM
These trout look great and taste even better ;)

22-08-2006, 06:39 PM
We ended up with about 300 fish to share around the 12 fisherman, family and friends. #;)

If you looking do go on one of these charters definatley get in contact with the Australiana #;)

You'll have a blast #:D

R_K_HILL
22-08-2006, 06:56 PM
Well done.. Looks like you had some fun ;)

Jim_Byrne
22-08-2006, 10:23 PM
Sounds like great fun! Theres some nice fish there.

The whale shark would have been a bit of a blowout too!

Herm
22-08-2006, 11:37 PM
WOW :o

Looks like you had a great time and fantastic weather!

Great report and beautiful photos!

:)Janine

outsiderskip
23-08-2006, 06:16 AM
LOTS OF NICE COLOUR THERE
GREAT PICS
WELL DONE

PETE

Slient
23-08-2006, 07:10 AM
Great trip and weather is your so lucky... ;)

Question: How many km travelled from Gladstone to swanie and back Gladstone...
I'm not consider taking my boat out there... ;D

Happy fishing
Silent

23-08-2006, 07:21 AM
Good Report

nice pics

love the sunset shot, I can see myself with a rod in one hand and a coldy in the other

Steven

griz066
23-08-2006, 09:02 AM
Awsome stuff cant wait till I try a swains trip 8-)

seapup
23-08-2006, 09:41 AM
Looks like you had an epic trip mate! Some very nice looking fish there!
Ben.

Smailesy
23-08-2006, 10:09 AM
what a great trip

Murks
23-08-2006, 03:17 PM
sensational effort :)

chicken
23-08-2006, 05:03 PM
Awesome report and pics well done fellas

elephrez1
23-08-2006, 05:40 PM
LOOKS LIKE YOUS HAD A BLAST, GREAT PICS

Gbanger
23-08-2006, 07:47 PM
[smiley=hammer.gif] charter boat?!?

Creek_Vermin
23-08-2006, 08:04 PM
Those charters out of gladstone sound damn good. haven't heard a bad report bout em yet and in a great part of the world. Top effort mate.

stubbie
24-08-2006, 06:05 PM
That's fair dinkum 'gods country' up there. Good report Rat. Waiting to hear more about this "what charter boat incident". Don't worry Gbanger, the charter boat was probably in the wrong! ;D

Az
25-08-2006, 09:49 AM
That's fair dinkum 'gods country' up there. Good report Rat. Waiting to hear more about this "what charter boat incident". Don't worry Gbanger, the charter boat was probably in the wrong! ;D

;D ;D

im sure gbanger would be happy to take that one.. though im pretty sure either the deckie or skipper needed to change their dacks!!!

Truck
01-09-2006, 01:20 PM
Its great up there, I've been on a trip but we went on a boat called "Tura" I think it is owned by the same mob. We caught a heap of Mackeral on our trip so they are certainly up there!! It is a great week though!!

Truck

snapperm8
01-09-2006, 04:50 PM
looks like a great time :D
nice bag of fish