PDA

View Full Version : gc seaway

goldfish
07-01-2007, 07:01 PM
does anyone have a rough idea how long the seaway at the goldcoast will be as rough & dangerous as it is at the moment. does the sand pumping jetty have anything to do with the postioning of the sand bar ect
cheers
rick
(impulse) :-?

Chaos
08-01-2007, 02:18 PM
will continue to be like this for a while mate till someone dredges it out. cannot see this happening in the near future though. just be cautious when crossing the bar and stick close to the south wall and dont go through the middle like i have seen some boats do on an outgoing tide. otherwise wait for a few boats to cross and find the best path. best of luck

goldfish
08-01-2007, 05:30 PM
thanks chaos
i'm still learning to cross bars. i have a 30ft cruiser that is a bit under powered at the moment only 8knt (15knt with a clean hull) but only 8knt now. so would it be safe for me to try the sth wall to get out & in or would it be wiser for me to be paiant and wait. i went out through the middle on new years day (wasn't nice) and came back through near the sth wall at about 4knt & wasn't too bad. but i was very nervese
any help would be great
cheers
rick

cracker
09-01-2007, 07:27 AM