View Full Version : need fishing tips for year trip to australia

dutchy
31-10-2001, 01:10 AM
hi im dutchy i live in holland .

i quit my job as a plumber to go to australia for a year .
i want to do some serious fishing i like salt water the best . in holland the fisching sucks ,the troulers have nearly anialatet the beace fishing, and the fresh water fishing is no fun anymore as well, maybe because i went to south america a few years back were i had a great time.
strainge fish pirana and that kind of stuff.

so if anybody has some pointers or special places were i must go in my visit to australia.
please leave a message

hope to hear from you
DUTCHY ;)

Slates
31-10-2001, 02:46 AM
G'day Dutchy.
There is some great fishing all over Australia - have you any idea where you would like to start?
The New South Wales coast has some fantastic beach and estuary fishing and has plenty of places to stay along the way.
Check out www.travelmate.com.au
this site has a trip planner on here that can give you an idea of how far it is between towns etc.
There's heaps of other places to go, and pretty much too much to mention!

Hope this helps a little

Cheers, Slates

PAYNE
31-10-2001, 02:53 AM
The biggest problem is where to start first. I live in this country, travelled a fair bit of it and still there is more to see and fish!

The northern part of our country is best fished from about April through to October/November as the "wet season" kicks in over the summer months. Plenty of torrential rain and access is cut to a lot of fishy sort of places.

At this time of year, you'd probably be better off exploring some of the southern half of the country.

Definitely get a detailed map of Australia and work your way through the fishing reports found on the Australian Websites. I live in southern Queensland and we pretty much have great fishing on a year round basis so if you want to know anything around my area (from Hervey Bay/Fraser Island to the Gold Coast), let me know.

Otherwise, must fish areas which I love are Weipa (Cape York, Queensland) - great for Barramundi, Queenfish, Trevally, Tuna and a tonne of other species, Northern Territory which is Barramundi heaven, and Broome isn't bad for Trevally, Queenfish and Sailfish.

The freshwater fishing around Cairns is spectacular over the summer months up until May. Barra fishing here is quite good too.

Freshwater fishing in impoundments is quite popular and there are plenty of opportunities to catch anything from Australian Bass, Golden Perch, Saratoga to Barramundi and Sooty Grunter in our "lakes" (depending on what part of Queensland you are in of course!).

I'm sure other Ausfish members will chip in some of their favourite spots as well.

Email me direct if you are chasing charters etc for any part of the country and I'll be able to point you in the right direction!

Good luck,
Leeann

imported_admin
31-10-2001, 07:03 AM
The best thing I would suggest you do is book with a charter operator. Other wise you could waist a lot of time just trying to work out how to fish and where to fish an area.

A couple of places I would put down as a must are Broome (North West, Western Australia), Northern Territory, Cape York (North Queensland), Cairns (North Queensland).

A couple of websites to check out would be
http://www.broomebillfish.com/billfishv4.htm
http://www.ausfish.com.au/capeyorkfishing/
http://www.ausfish.com.au/crcs/
http://www.barrahotline.com.au/

Islander44
01-11-2001, 05:04 PM
Hi there Dutchy

A little Island way south of the mainland called Tasmania may be worth a visit.

I suggest you do your homework on all the states and see what suits you best. We are a cooler climate down here.

Our game fishing from april-June inparticular is for the prized Southern Bluefin Tuna. We also get Albacore, Stripey Tuna and mako sharks. Occasional marlin.

Good bream fishing along east Coast of Tassie. Fish around 1kg are not uncommon.

Great trout fishing...if you are into the freshwater stuff.

All in all worth a trip down. As one other poster commented, you might be better seeking out the Charter operators.

If you want a good trip here for game fishing, do your homework and get on a boat around April down at Port Arthur for Bluefin. Or around St Helens some great game fishing too for Yellowfin tuna. Water is usually warmer up around here.
Flinders Island is great fishing too.

Just my opinion. Have a great trip!

Fitzy
01-11-2001, 06:40 PM
Hi Dutchy,
You should give our freshwater a try while you here, can be spectacular especially our lake fishing scene.
If you are in South East Queensland and want to give it a try, give me a call & I can arrange a trip for you.
Look at http://www.sweetwateradventures.com.au/

Garry Fitzgerald
Sweetwater Adventures
http://www.ausfish.com.au/fitzy/images/Sweetwater.gif