PDA

View Full Version : i'v  brought a baitcaster ? oh god help me plz !!!

youracodfish
07-11-2001, 08:24 AM
???plz help me i'v got myself a baitcaster and i'm finding it verey hard to use as i am new to the world of fishing all i can get it to do is make a birds nest no fault to the rod or reel just i'm not sure on how to use right if any one can help me with some tip's i would be most gratefull

thanx rob :-/

Luke
07-11-2001, 10:50 AM
G'day Cod,
Have the tension set so that when you have a sinker on your line in freespool it only drops slowly and don't try and cast to China until you get used to using your thumb gently on the spool as a brake as your bait or lure hits the water. I readjust the tension all the time depending on what weight I'm casting.
Still get birdsnests occasionally. Practice mate.

Simon
07-11-2001, 12:32 PM
Rob,

I would invest in some casting plugs or use and old lure minus the trebles, something that is a little bit more visible than a sinker to stop the overruns on landing.

I would tighten the spool tension to the point where the spool stops wobbling on the axil and use a very heavy thumb to begin with. I wouldn't try and cast more than about 7-10m to begin with just keep the thumb tight you'll get the feel. Even if to begin with you only get 1- 2m of line off the spool its all about thumb control and feathering the spool and getting a feel for that. More or less its your thumb that dictates the distance and accuracy of the cast not the effort/strength you put into the cast.

The most important rule though is don't flick the cast it gives the opposite effect to what you wan't. That is the plug will snap to its maximum speed and then slow down forcing the spool to move faster than the plug, instant birdnest. Start slow and get faster with the cast that way the spool won't move faster than the plug. Try and use just your wrist and not your arm.