PDA

View Full Version : Southport Seaway

gunna
08-03-2002, 04:31 AM
I will be towing the boat up in a couple weeks (4.5 m) & plan to take it out the Seaway. I have no bar experience but I get the impression that this is a fairlty safe one. Is that right ??

Katrina
08-03-2002, 05:49 AM
;D Wrong!!! Any bar is ok in the right conditions. It can also be very dangerous. Get some local advice, and pick your tide and weather, ie swell under 1.5m. Talk to the local tackle shops. Plenty of people have come unstuck crossing that bar. Contact Gold Coast Seaway tower VMR 414. Good luck, and remember think safety first.

Goodoogetter
08-03-2002, 01:47 PM
Gunna,
Take Katrina's advise, bars are not to be taken lightly, try to find a local to take you through and even if you get out on what appears a flat day, conditions can change very quickly, watch the out going tide as this can stand the swell up, call the seaway tower for updates on the tide and bar conditions and log on to them giving the number on board where you are going and when you expect to be back.
As an old Currumbin Air sea rescue skipper I have pulled a lot of people out of the water on so called calm days, on all of the bars from the Tweed to the Pin.
Play it safe and good fishing.
The Goodoogetter.

adrian
08-03-2002, 03:08 PM
hi gunna
i agree with the others . this bar looks easy but it's not . the weather plays a big part in this area as do the tides . if you must go out follow another boat out and sit and watch what he does before you attempt any crossing you can drive up to the seaway along past seaworld . go up and take a look at what is the go . remember in 6 hours alot can and will change as the tide goes out .
there are places to fish inside the broadwater .

all in all if you go out be careful use common sense and if in doubt don't go
anzac

gunna
08-03-2002, 03:21 PM
OK - Thanks. If I stay inside where do you recommend I fish ?? Can I find live bait anywhere ?

Touchy - R.I.P.
08-03-2002, 03:58 PM