View Full Version : Who are we???????

Amberjack
01-07-2002, 09:32 PM
Gents & Ladies

I often see new names on the board and go to the profiles to check them out. Bit of curiousity plus interest if the person has anything in common with me as a basis for converstaion.

Unfortunately, many of us are declining to put the most basic info (gender, age & location) in the profile.

Not required, I know, but is of interest to some of us and useful when planning get-togethers or fishing trips.

Just thinking out loud.

AJ http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm11.gif

Cremated_Reddog
02-07-2002, 02:50 PM
Well stop thinking out aloud...you know it get's us into trouble most of the time. hahahahha http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm12.gif

Amberjack
02-07-2002, 02:54 PM
Drew

It's not the 'out loud' bit that is the trouble!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AJ

Volvo
02-07-2002, 04:12 PM
:)Okay aj ill be game and start off first lol. For starters im a Gladstonite which is just south of Rocky.
Fisho at heart, offshore or estuary doesnt matter as long as i can wet a line lol.
Though i own a 6 mtr Tinny i venture offshore more so than inside. Bread n butter fisho and get me sport or thrills of the pastime whilst im hopefully pullin in a feed. mainly like ta fish with Rod n reel though dont count out the use of handline for certain species.
Okay what more do ya wanna know??.
If your headin this way and want some info on the area , feel free ta ask, be only too happy ta help out lol.

brian66
02-07-2002, 05:02 PM
im in hobart tas a.j and usually fish and dive the tas peninsula. i fish for what ever the weather lets me .at the moment our blue fin are still in full swing .when they go i will go back to bottom bashing and cray diving .(when the season opens back up) i fish from my 4 mt ally craft , we pretty lucky down here as even the tuna come up our east coast. some are caught just of the rocks .although no one actually fishes for them from the shore . hows that a.j brian66

02-07-2002, 06:09 PM
HI ALL
well i posted gender etc any way male 40 years grey head self employed love wetting a line if only just to relax, a feed is a bonus, into tag and release, probablely 90% of catch, don't care the species or size caught, been known to have the line in the water (no taclke) and just have a nap. live in the far norwest of tassie (smithton) if any is ever about drop me a line and will try and point you in the right direction. follow this url to a site i am currently making http://www.tassie.net.au/~roblazel/ (very very slowly i might add

Rumpig
02-07-2002, 09:29 PM
Righto,
I'm 17 and 359 days, I'm a Sydney boy but a bit of a rural.

Unfortunately I don't get to much fishing done due to the workload in year 12.

However, when I do get out there it might be for bream or bonnies off a boat, bass off the shore, pigs or pelagics off the rocks or almost anything else.

If I'm not working or fishing, I'm looking after my Cichlids, shooting, wrestling with my staffy jess or chasing skirts with my mates.

03-07-2002, 06:02 AM
AJ,

I'll have a go.

Brett Bugg, 29 year-old male, Journo by trade and work for the ABC.
Been fishing since I was born on the West Coast of Tassie around Queensland and Strahan - picked up most of my early habits around the mersey river in Devonport.
Moved to Queensland in 1988 and didn't really get back into fishing until after uni in 1993. Began fishing the impoundments around the Darling Downs and Brisbane Valley.
Bought my first boat a 9 foot alum. tub with a 4hp evinrude circa 1970 for $300. Loved every second of it.
Moved to Brissy in 1995 and got seriously back into fishing. Bought a haines 16c with some Casino winnings one night (long story) and was fishing once a week for nearly two years.
Now I love offshore fishing whenever I can get out there but beach fishing pushes it all the way. Love the feeling of hooking something BIG and fighting it for a while - I think I'm addicted.
Last year I got rid of the 9ft tub and bought another bigger older 12 ft dehaviland tub ($200). Painted her yellow and racing blue. (I dunno why)

I've told my partner Leanne that if I don't fish every three weeks then I'm impossible to live with.
I plan annual trips to Fraser Island and charters trips off Hervey bay or Gladstone.
I hit straddie about 6 times a year.

My two fishing goals are to organise a cod fishing trip with some meates out to the western rivers and a gulf trip chasing barra for about two months up north.

That's it in a nutshell.

Bugman

squire
03-07-2002, 06:33 AM
ok guys my name is marty Im 30 I live Bayside brisbane and run my own Telecommunications and Information Technology company. Have fished since I was about eight and have loved it ever since. Cant get enough of the great outdoors camping etc. Have only just got back into the fishing scene as my wife had our son who was premature and the constant care he has needed for the past two years has seen the family responsibilities take precedance.
On a brighter note I have finally purchased a new of the rack 18ft cuddy cab a month ago. So now Im looking forward to using it more often. so there you have it. Marty

ps I finally got it yahoooooo.

jaybee
03-07-2002, 12:49 PM
Joseph (joe) 47yrs live in kingston. I was born into a family of fishers. My father was a commercial fisherman, my stepbrother and brother were commercial fishermen and I have been a commercial fisherman. We can all still not get enough of fishing for fun. Dad bought us all up to only fish for what we need not for greed. Today I just like to have a line in the water and if I catch a fish its the icing on the cake. ;D and I am a staunch advocate for lower bag limits and increased size limits..dont get me started.

Chris_J
03-07-2002, 02:30 PM
Alright my turn (here goes) - My names Chris Jowett. I live in Toowoomba SE Queensland, I live and breathe fishing (when im not at skool "workin" ;) ) I lure and fly fish for most freshwater fish, favorites include BIG bad bass and Murray Cod. I'm a member of the Saltwater Flyfishers Assoc. Sunshine Coast. I have a 435 hornet (thanks to some very nice olds ::)) and mainly fish stocked impoundments and a bit of that salty crap some call water :P
I enjoy all areas of fishin especially Competition fishing. Also navigate for the old man in some car rallying when not fishing.

CJ

Amberjack
03-07-2002, 03:47 PM
Guys

I am humbled. Now I have to put my money where my mouth is!!!!!!

52 years, married, live in Marsden, Queensland. Looking for work. Not a great fisherman, prefer to get out and cruise the Bay in my 6.4 ,metre Roberts Bay Cruiser 'She'. If you see me out there, give a hoy.

AJ (David)

filkore
03-07-2002, 04:14 PM
My turn. Im Phil 22, live in the Bayside and a teacher. Mates call me filkore because of one extreme act when I was 20. I have been fishing since I was a kid. Half own a 13foot tinnie (25HP) with my old man.

Do a lot of fishing from the Brissie River right down to the Broadwater.

Currently on holidays and tomorrow going fishing at the Aussie Fishing Park at Bli Bli.

Happy Fishing
Phil

Fisherman02
04-07-2002, 03:58 AM
hey guys
My name is Jack Sherman i'm 15 and I live in South Brisbane Highgate hill. I have lived and schooled in 5 different countries including malaysia, England, France, Scotland, Australia (where i am currently).
I absoulutley love fishing and will never turn down a fishing trip. I enjoy learning new techniques from other people so I can use them. I have recently bought a new surf outfit, and hope to do some good surf fishing, rock fishing in the near future.
well that's me
cheers jack

stevedemon
04-07-2002, 10:38 AM
Ok I'm game STEVE GRESHAM I live at Crestmead Qld been Fishing since I was old enough to walk an I am now 42 heading for 43 if my wife lets me live that long :P ;D through being a fishing widow lately you've all seen my second boat on the classifieds an I just recently finished rebuilting my third boat a 19.5ft Stebercraft half cab with 140hp on the back the name GOT_YA on the side blue an white love my fishing an some times my wife have'nt figure that one out yet ::) but the fish only fight back not bite back :P ;D.
I'm orginaly from Sydney but lived in Qld now for 15 years but I still say ;D GO THE MIGHTY BLUES that will never change like the rest going fishing for the relaxation is great catching fish is a bonus ;D ;D.
one day we may all get together for a great time who knows :o ??? :P ;D
so till then
Keep those lines tight and the rods bending ;D ;) :P
CHEERS ALL
STEVE 8)

mick
04-07-2002, 11:16 AM
my name is mick im an alcoholic, its been 7 weeks since my last drink. i'd just like to say being sober has opened up new doorways. although im still strugling with ...oh sh**, im on the wrong site.

oops. start again

my names mick im currently based in central queensland. i started fishing in jervis bay nsw, at the ripe old age of 5. i then moved up into the mountains, where the only fishing fishing i could do was jumping the fence of a trout farm/restaraunt at night and fish there dam. then moved to cq, fished for barra, toga, bass, yellow bellies, spanglies, long toms, eel tails, and f***ing turtles. me and the missus traveled south aus and south WA.
best fishing ive done is port lincoln, the aus salmon are an exelent sport fish and i am planning a return trip there this xmas. recently started fly fishing. and thats me. one more thing i recently discovered that boat people arnt actually made of boats, true story.

ps i enjoy a beer

if anyone used to own a trout farm in the southern highlands nsw. im sorry

adriancorrea
04-07-2002, 05:12 PM
Hi all 8)
My name is Adrian Correa, Im 34 live in shailer park QLD, I currently work as a duty manager at club rochedale and fish whenever I can get out.
I dont drink Much ;) and smoke like a chimney in the boat that is lol.
I own a 14ft half cabin and Ive only been fishing out of a boat for about 3-4yrs and loving every minute off it.
Im married and have a little boy 2yrs old.
Nothing better than spending a night or day out in the boat having a good time (appart from having a cuddle with the missus :-* and bubs)
Had to put that in she might read it LOL :D :D
Thats me

Tight lines
Adrian

squire
16-07-2002, 01:07 PM
Would anyone else like to add some information about themselves regards squire.

mick
16-07-2002, 01:54 PM
i'd like to know what filkores extreme act was. you cant just build people up like that and not deliver. so come on filkore spill the beans.

gruntahunter
16-07-2002, 02:14 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm3.gifok my name is pete and i live in ferny hills brisbane with me missus an 2 boys aged 12 and 15.i,m 47 years young and i am an owner driver of a concrete truck. My pride and joy is an 4.5 m savage runabout tinny that my missus let me buy at the boat show acouple of years ago which lets me get out to the close reefs from maroochy and is good 4 the creeks and bay .I just love fishing ,crabbing and camping .We go to pincushion caravan park for 4 weeks every xmas, its the best...been goin there for years. oh well thats me so seeyas.

shano
16-07-2002, 03:47 PM
im up!! ;D hey all im shane live in sunnybank hills on the south side of brissie. im 26 have a 1and a half year old daughter and one on the way anytime from tomorrow till next tuesday so am on the edge at the moment.love fishing and try to get out when ever i can. am a boiler maker by trade been in it for 9 years now and hate it! been fishing ever since i can remember. used to have a 16 ft run about with a 55 johno till some low life decided they want it a bit more then i do and haven't sceen it since! anyway thats me cheers shano!!

spinna
16-07-2002, 04:36 PM
:DHi all ;)
My turn now :D my name is james im 42 im in nsw about 100 miles south of sydney married 2 kids 1boy 18 /1 girl16 :Dlove most type of fishing 8)
i feed them more that i catch the :P
im an abu man and build my own rods
well thats about it . ::)

ps the blues was robbed :o

cheers spinna ;) :)

landy1
16-07-2002, 04:51 PM
Hey Shano were neighbors
well my turn now. my names Michael and i live in Sunnybank Hills. i am 28 years old and curently self employed as an archaeologist. i have been fishing for a looooong time, my first catch was an overgrown goldfish in Toowooba's Lake annand when i was an ankle bighter. grew up on the sunshine coast (Gladstone and Maroochydore). favourite form of fishing would have to be the fly gear closely followed by soft lures, but i get the best results from bait. just getting into the fly scene and i am starting to explore some of Brisbanes fresh water fishing. up till now i have concentrated on salt estuarys with the occasional foray on the bay in a mates boat.
P.S. as you may have guessed by my login i have an unatural obsession with old landrovers.

scott_b
16-07-2002, 05:20 PM
g'day my names scott i,m from Gilgai near Inverell NSW . i fish Copeton dam mainly trolling with home made lures hoping to snare a yella or cod.do enjoy the odd home brew. Very impressed with ausfish site. :-/ :-/

Araby_Dog
17-07-2002, 06:17 AM
Who let the dog out!!!!......My name is Sam and my pride and joy is my brother in law (best mate's) boat the "Deficator". My goal is to get him an on-board dunny because he cant handle my frequent toilet habitsyou know what they sat "better out than in" :P and he has difficulty reliveing himself in a rocking boat ;D. We also need it because we tend to piss ourselfs laughing on most of our trips :D....and we get to catch some monster fish. We love our fishing and like everyone on here reckon we don't do enough. Most of our trips are around the pin as we know what to expect, we put in at cabbage tree, pump yab's at whalleys gutter and head to the bar and or surrounding well known spots :-X. Love the thought of having somewhere to wwwsurf and pick up relevant and accurate info on our fav pastime. look forward to reading and posting some chat another time. This site and forum beats the hell out of what we use to check daily....BCWatch!!

Dominator
17-07-2002, 06:23 AM
My name is Dom, i am 23 and love to fish as often as possible. I live at Eight Mile Plains in Brisbane and own a 4.8m Horizon tinnie (The Defecator) with a 35 Johnno on the back. My brother in law(Arabi Dog) and i try to fish as often as my sister will let him. We mainly fish to relax but getting a feed is allways a bonus.

17-07-2002, 11:47 AM
OK my turn!

I am 34, married 8 years, no kids, 2 dogs. Work as a scientist in medical research. First started fishing in Sydney when I used to cycle down to the Lane Cove River before I could drive. Lived in Brisbane for the last 12 years or so and had a 4.3 m tinny for the last 4 years. Started off as a tiller steer but I converted it to a centre console 18 months ago which I am very happy with.

Do ALL my fishing in the salt. Don't mind flathead trolling, but much prefer lure casting or live baiting for pelagics. Usually fish the close reefs off Caloundra or Mooloolaba.

17-07-2002, 03:28 PM
Why do they call me Lucky Phill ? # ??? # Who knows.

43. live Rochedale. daughter 4 #and another 17. # :o

I frequently write articles for Bush N Beach and am a sponge for information on fishing throughout Queensland in particular.

Currently own a 4.15 Stessl Edge dingy ( featured, of course, in BnB some months ago )

I take this thing from The Broadwater to places like Turkey Beach, Murphy's Reef, Flinders reef and the Bay is my main area of focus at the moment.

I have recently been skippering a 2150 Mustang of the neighbours and have access and use my mates 6.2 Sportfish. I can often be seen fishing in my mates 5.2 Seajay. Talk about options !!!!!!!

Love the camp scene and just got back from Fraser again. #Going again in November.

Fav fishing areas are Bunker Group of Islands ( lady musgrave etc. ). #One day I'll get to Princess Charlotte Bay, NQ . #Had great success at the Barwons as well. #1770 is always worth the trip.

I fish usually once a week, and during the week as opposed to week ends when the boat traffic is thick.

Lure fishing for Gt's around the Whitsundays is my greatest buzz. #Althoungh nailing a few kilo plus Bream lately has been good.

You won't miss me one the water, #ausfish.com.au is plastered over the side of the rig.

I also do fitouts for boats ( sounders, GPS and all wiring ).

Painter by trade, computer nerd at night, love the footy, V8's and Bikes. As some of you here will know, I will always share any info I have in regard to fishing areas etc. #In the end, it's up to you to use the info.

Fishing is not a matter of Life or Death to me......it's more important than that. # ;D # #;D # #;D # #;D