PDA

View Full Version : reading a sounder

Luke
15-08-2002, 05:16 PM
How do you tell by your sounder what is beneath you-rocks,sand,mud etc. I've read the manual and it doesn't tell me too much. I noticed someone else asked and there wasn't too much response and I know a lot of people out there can read a sounder. What can you tell me or does it depend a lot on the qaulity of the sounder?
Cheers Luke

aquarius
15-08-2002, 05:33 PM
Hi Luke, mate im no expert in sounders but i do know that you get what you pay for...by that i mean the higher the pixel count the better(dots on the screen)The ones with 240 by 240 pixels are the better sounders but then it depends on where you are going to use them.
Im going to let someone more quialified if thats the word go into detail about there workings.
Cheers Brent ;D

Luke
15-08-2002, 05:42 PM
Thanks Brent,
I've asked this because without diving in and checking I guess I'll never know unless someone enlightens me. I think the sounder I have is an average old job but I'm buggered if I can be sure at any time what is below me.
Cheers Luke

blaze
15-08-2002, 05:54 PM
Hi all
my sounder is an older one with gain and all that jazz, dear sounder in its day but i thing a $400 job would do a better job my advice is to get the most pixils you can afford

aquarius
15-08-2002, 05:56 PM
Luke does it have a grey line?
this separates the fish from the bottom structure.
Its a bit hard to explain the screen to someone without being able to see it.
Next time im out on the water i will atempt to photograph some examples for you...not sure how they will turn out but hey why not give it a try....ill give you a shot over reef and one over the sand just to compare.
What brand and model sounder do you own?
MY ONE IS THE EAGLE MAGNA 3
Nothing to exspensive.