PDA

View Full Version : Alvey reels

Na_Hampsha
02-10-2002, 02:33 PM
I am thinking of purchasing an alvey reel for saltwater use . I would be using it mainly for casting plugs and spoons .from 1 to up to 4 oz. I would also buy a rod that it would be matched to. I dont like using equipment that aint balanced. Well anyway I am interested in anybodys take on how well these reel work or dont work. I have read what is available on the internet and am now interested about actual use . Thanks
Frank From New Hampshire USA

Big_Kev
02-10-2002, 03:21 PM
Frank , I have an Alvey light surf reel that I have been using for some twenty years now , I can still remember mowing lawns and washing cars as a boy to save the money to make the purchase .
Since this time it has caught many a fish and is still as good as the day I bought it at about a quarter of todays prices .
This would have to be my favorite reel I love it to death .
Recently gave it its first overhaul which it didn't reely(*pun*) need , for only a marginal price,due mainly to its simplicity .
You cannot go wrong with an alvey for in the saltwater for your requirements .
Keep a tight line Reel Hard .

SteveCan
02-10-2002, 03:32 PM
Hi Frank - Welcome aboard!

I am a big Alvey fan, at my Dad's knee I saw him use them matched up to Rangoon Cane rods from the late sixties and early seventies before fibreglass became popular. I still have five Alveys in various sizes and states of repair. Mostly they get used off the beach, but I bait jig with a 5" model off the boat and the kids are estuary fishing with a 3.5' ancient bakelite reel that belonged to my Grandad. Alveys are near indestructible, sand and salt water bothers them not at all. I have seen old fishoes walk down to the water and submerge the reel in the surf to wet the line before their first cast. How many other reels could you do that with and expect to have them for 20 years or more?