View Full Version : Aussie Day at Peel

13-01-2003, 09:28 AM
Now that all of you are confused with my Formula for plotting GPS points, here's some more Gobbely Gook !

AUSSIE #DAY #WEEKEND

The following is information that might come in handy during the weekend.

TIDES:-

# # # # # # ##H/T # # # # # # ##L/T # # # # # # ##H/T # # # # # # ##L/T
Friday # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #2.00pm # # # ## 8.30pm
Saturday # # # #2.41am # # # #8.41am # # # #2.45pm # # # #9.23pm
Sunday # # # # # #3.52am # # #9.59am # # # #3.45pm # # #10.22pm
Monday # # # 5.07am # # # 11.26am # ## # 5.00pm

BITE #TIMES:-

# # # # # # ##Major ## # # # # # # # # # # # # # # ##Minor

Friday # # # # # # #3.42am #& #4.06pm # # # # # # # # # # ##10.00am #& #10.20pm
Saturday # # #4.31am #& #4.56pm # # # # # # # # # # # 10.46am #& #11.15pm
Sunday # # # # # #5.22am #& #5.48pm # # # # # # # # # # ##11.38am #& #midnight
Monday # # #6.14am #& 6.42pm # # # # # # # # # ##12.30pm

According to this, I would fish from 2am until 10am Saturday. #Then from 3pm until 9.30pm.

Sunday would be 3.30am until 11am #and then from 4pm until 10.30pm.

Monday would be 4am until #midday. #But, apparently fish can't read, so they don't really know when the major bite is on ! #These fishing times, keeps me out of the sun for a while, allowing rest time as well as giving myself the most opportunity to catch fish over the major bite and tide periods. #It also coincides with dawn and dusk. #All this should lead to a few in the esky. #But that Murphy is a funny bugga and will do strange things.!!

Araby_Dog
13-01-2003, 09:39 AM
Thanks for that LP,

Me and Dom are teaming up with Gruntahunter for the Peel trip and with this info in hand we might...actually....get to do some fishing on a M&G (if we leave the booze at the boatramp LOL).

Hope the weather stays fine and the the fish are on the chew.

Sam aka Araby_Dog.

13-01-2003, 09:50 AM
Geez mate your a ball of info' these days.
Have two weeks for this bloody wind to die off.
You con' Bugman into bringing the taxi ride ;D.
Mite send him off trolling up Rainbow on it ;D
But then again he wont wanna miss the "Touchy Show" :o
As for Sam and Dom we'll send them round to the penal colony where they can't miss behave, especially if the Grunta is captaining the ship. ;D
Oh by the way dont let Sam near any anchors, he has a strange habit of misplacing them ;D
lets hope for some bloody fine weather.
Most likely shoot across Friday nite, and slum it with the "white shoe brigade" ;D

stevedemon
13-01-2003, 04:10 PM
Ok LP when did you start to become so knowledgable if the fish could read then we would all be in trouble an out of the fishing scene so lets hope they never learn to read but decide to come to the party and on the bite ;D;D
the Kiwi Wombat45 and I shall be there with fishing gear primed and ready hopefully the new motor will preform to blue

Cheers ;D ;D
Steve :P :P

14-01-2003, 07:52 AM
Considering this is under a fortnight away now - Should we really be starting to talk logistics.

Things like BBQ's tent/tarps/chairs/food/radios/tv/videos/computers/dvd's/jetskis etc etc.

I'll put my hand up for the marquee/tent. I'll bring along the big ABC job but will need a hand to get it up. Out of interest how many guys plan to actually sleep on land or will everyone just be out in the boat for the night fishing sessions.

Do we have a small (carriable) tinny to use as a ferry back to other boats or is everyone just going to swim or fish from the sand - JB you may need to share your wheels around.

I'll also happily take the jetski if anyone is interested but then I'll need a boat to fish out of and someone to carry over the marquee and poles etc.

I guess everyone just brings their own food for however long they want. I've got a 12volt fluro that's not too bad - another wouldn't hurt seeing as how fires aren't allowed.

What about a table ?

Is car security an issue if we all leave our gear at Raby Bay for a few days?

Any more questions suggestions -

Bugman

14-01-2003, 01:04 PM
Well actually, the fish can read. !

They read " ausfish" on the side of my boat and take off. # ;D # ;D

I think the Bugman and I will get together and organise some shelter etc for the island. #Will do this, this week or weekend and let you'all know.

The security at Raby Bay is " average ". #Cars have been hit there, but they get hit everywhere. #???

If they weather plays the game, I might even pop over early Saturday and dig in!

Keep tuned to this space, and we'll let you know the details on ........Monday night ( 20th )

Brian might like to add some info for you guys or get together on the island on Saturday and point you'all in the right direction ( esky & BBQ #is at 27.30.200s # 153.21.455e ) ;D # ::) # :P # 8) # ??? # ;) #or somewhere like that !

gruntahunter
14-01-2003, 02:09 PM
Bloody hell guys I,m going to miss this M&G as some family business has suddenly popped up which I,m committed to.Dominator and Arabygog were going to come with me in my boat so someone might have to help out. :'(

14-01-2003, 02:47 PM
I will bring the bbq and decent table,and if Brett bring the tent, it then everyman for himself,
food wise/chairs/water etc.
Would be easier if we stayed the south west rocks end.
As for Dom and Sam if the wx ok your rig will make it, just lets us know what time your heading out and will escort, if not i can take one across or both if it comes to a crunch, as i think Luke is still coming with me.
Dom and Sam lets us know what you plan then.
Once you pass the last beacon out of raby bay head on a 100' compass bearing towards s/w/rocks and then start yelling.
Looks like the usual crew going.

adriancorrea
14-01-2003, 11:04 PM
Hi everyone
Well Dave had to pull out of this trip. :-/
so I got room for one in my boat or Im up for being a passenger depending on how many is going.

What time and day is everyone heading over???

And Phil what were them marks ;) lol

Tight Lines
Adrian

Touchy - R.I.P.
15-01-2003, 04:55 AM
G'Day All,Got back for the last week of a short break away to get the camping gear & do a 3/4day crabbing trip to the pin,20/30 forecast till Thurs at this stage Arrrrrrrghh!cant even do a mackie run with them going apesh*t in the channel :'( :'(,Phil,what bite predictions are you using for the M7G trip?mine vary approx an hour from yours,what bite percentages do you have I have.Fri.40%,Sat.50%.Sun.60% & Mon.70%.Hope the weather is kind,I'm going over Fri.morning early at this stage,do I understand the camp area will be on the beach at the South West rocks end?Cheers T.><> ><> ><>.

15-01-2003, 12:50 PM
All info will be posted on Monday night and anyone wanting lifts etc will have to post that want !

Probably need numbers by the wednesday or turdsday :-*

Cross fingers for weather, and I'll also be available for escorts to spot X.

;D ;) ::) :P :P :P

Araby_Dog
17-01-2003, 07:37 AM
Fingers and toes crossed for fine weather (Jaybee you sold that boat yet ??? ;DLOL)

If it looks like being a shocker of a week end would everyone consider just a day on the water and a communal BBQ somewhere sheltered?

Sam

17-01-2003, 09:15 AM
Sam,

I think we're going to have a contigency like that in the pipeline. We'll post some suggestion on Monday

Bugman

jaybee
19-01-2003, 10:25 AM
just a thought, has anybody thought about contacting a security firm to see how much it will cost to keep an eye on the cars n trailers, I for one would pay a few dollars for safety and peace of mind, while I am out fishing, if there is enough people going why not look into it, for the sake of a few dollars. just a thought as my bro is looking at coming up for it which means i may be able to make it.

21-01-2003, 05:07 AM
I wonder if we can use the fenced area there at Raby Bay. I'll contact them today to see what they say.

Bugman

fishfearme
06-02-2003, 05:14 PM
what an aussie day week 5.5kg snapper at peel ffm