View Full Version : Freshwater M&G

Touchy - R.I.P.
05-02-2003, 01:46 AM
OK Gang,What/when/where is the next Ausfish m&g?,someone raised a freshwater one awhile back,whats the options/suggestions.Cheers T.><> ><> ><>.

05-02-2003, 05:00 AM
Gees Fred

You must have ants in your pants - always wanting to go out fishing. What must your lovely wife say :P - or do you just want to show Betty off to the rest of us ;D.

Phil, Craigie, Sav, I, and a couple of others are looking into Cressbrook for somewhere around the end of this month or start of next month.

That's about all the detail we have at this stage. Phil's done one of his famous recs of the area already so the ute knows its way up the hill.

Seems like the dam fishes pretty well and it's got good amenties - and it's a bit more boutique than the mighty Sommerset. It's probably good to get a M&G outside of the local Brisbane area as well - introduce ourselves to a wider audience

I guess it's open for discussion now - so what does everyone think?

Bugman

05-02-2003, 05:24 AM
Great idea, what tides fish best there, does moon phase make a difference and is there any sandflies ;D Should I bring my crocodile lures, they work well at the pin ;D

Big_Kev
05-02-2003, 05:45 AM
No Rob I hear that dynamite is the best for fishing in dams .
Might get locked up for it so great care needs to be taken . LOL kev

Big-D
05-02-2003, 06:04 AM
;D Real hard, sound's like fun using a bite of dynamite count me in.beats using a rod.
Bugman, After two 4am swims to get freds boat at peel mate
he loves his fishing.
peter.

05-02-2003, 07:28 AM
Reel, make sure you show me that map you got of the splillway areas hey, escape routes and all that, just between us this time hey ;) ;D

Chris_J
05-02-2003, 08:24 AM
Ok fellas...

I'm in for a freshy anywhere in SE QLD...so bring it on! :P

Touchy - R.I.P.
05-02-2003, 08:55 AM
Chris_J,All should be ok for a freshie as long as the weather is perfect & the wind is no worse than 5 knts,Some of these ausfish pussies wont come out from under their beds ::)if the wind is anything like 6+I think they worry about getting their hair all mussed up. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D.T><>.

05-02-2003, 09:01 AM
"6+I think they worry about getting their hair all mussed up."

That wouldn't worry you none now Fred; would it ;D ;D ;D

adriancorrea
05-02-2003, 09:18 AM
Hi all 8)
Sounds like a great idea,should be a good weekend.
Can would have a definate date, so I can arrange to have the weekend off.

Tight Lines
Adrian

craigie
05-02-2003, 10:24 AM
Hi guy's,

I too am keen to get together for a Freshie M&G.
Cressbrook is an excellent venue and I think we should settle on this location on this occasion.

I'm just waiting to hear back from 'Sav' who is a Toowoomba local. His thoughts would be valuable in relation to the fishing and camping.

Watch this space !!!

Craig.

Big_Kev
05-02-2003, 11:17 AM
Where is Cressbrook?
What are the facilities ?
Will we need a fishing licence ?
Thanks Reel

sunrise
05-02-2003, 11:32 AM
Bring on Cressbrook I been waiting to try some fresh water fishing
I hope that some one doesnt bring that wave rider machine up there
and exspects a repeat performance from wellie
johno

Lachie1
05-02-2003, 12:19 PM
I'm in fellas. I think Cressbrook is now on the stocked impondments thing but i'm not sure how that works? Good facilities, good fishing and the dam would be about 70 - 75 % capacity ???.

Cheers, Lachie

05-02-2003, 12:38 PM
Alright you guys !

Cressbrook Dam is North of Toowoomba towards Crows Nest. It takes 2 hours from my place at Rochedale.

Facilities are good, boat ramp good. Yes you need a licence. $7/week and can be downloaded from the Net or available at Tackle Shops in Toowoomba. Camping fees are $5.80 Per/ person/ per/ nite or $2.90 P/P for a group of 20 or more.

You can't pre book, as there is a honesty envelope and box at the camp ground.

I have identified some sites they would suit perfectly. Site 33 is the best. This would able to house a couple of those big Tarps we got and sleep up to 20 folk. The BBQ's and Tables and shelter is about 12 meters from this site. Although we might byo on this one. ???

Boat ramp is a little drive away ( 1 minute ) or you can pull ya boat up the bank and walk to camp ground, ( 1 minute walk).

The gates going into the Dam / boat Ramp open at 6am and close at 8pm.

There are no restrictions on type and size of motors but, a speed limit is in force. 8 knots for us ( but on the weekend just gone, it appears the locals can as fast as they like ::) :o )

The weekend of March 8 & 9 seems to be the best. This would allow Mr Ausfish to join us.

But, let's hear back from Craigs mate !

More details will come to hand re:- directions, times, what to do, where to go, who to bring, who NOT to bring ( Fred :P ;D ), tackle, best tide times ???, etc.

Now, having said that, Kirkleigh at Sommerset Dam has been bandied around a bit. I am unaware of all the details of this place. SO,

We need a show of hands on which is the best site for us.

I'll pop up a post / poll to get an idea. We need votes by Monday 10th
Feb for thos eof us that need to advise employers, wives, girlfriends, mothers and neighbours etc etc ;)

Cheers Ya big ears

05-02-2003, 01:38 PM
Told ya Phil had done a reccy didn't I. ::)

Now all we have to do is teach him to catch a freshwater fish or two and things would be ok. Mind you he's not on his own there. I heard there was an illustrious saltwater B&B scribe famous for his snapper catches that couldn't catch a cold in the fresh - hey Mr Spid :o :o ;)er.

Anyway it should be great. I'd be advocating that those that want to, can go up on the Friday night and stay for the Saturday night. That's probably what I'll be doing anyway.

Few drinks - few tails - few grown men in dresses - NO JETSKIS

It's what fishing tales are made of.

Bugman

craigie
05-02-2003, 01:43 PM
Bugger !!!

I have a prior commitment for sunday the 9th of March, I was trying to angle for the weekend prior to that :'( :'(.

Anyone Interested in going up 2 weekends in a row ???

Is there such thing as a non-sanctioned M&G ;D ;D

Take plenty of Panadoll, you may have Bass Fever after the Saturday night :P :P

Craig.

Chris_J
05-02-2003, 02:38 PM
Looks good so far fellas

I believe that if we get 20+ people then we get a discount on camping fee...

Just another reason for everyone to come along ay? ;)

Fisherman02
05-02-2003, 03:54 PM
hey guys
i have heard from some individuals that kids dont need a licence is this correct ???

aquarius
05-02-2003, 04:12 PM
Not sure on that one but hey you don't have kids yet mate!..lol
Cheers Uncle Brent

Chris_J
05-02-2003, 04:44 PM
I'm out there most weekends Craigie so yer I'm in for whenever.

craigie
06-02-2003, 06:17 AM
Good stuff Chris.
Are you fishing in the Cressbrook Classic on the weekend of 1 &2 March ??

With a bit of luck a few of us may be at Cressbrook that weekend as well.

You might have to help us out with an update on the fishing.

Craig.

Simonr
06-02-2003, 11:15 AM
Hello all - I'm in for Cressbrook - can I bring me Dog though ? :P ;D He's worth cuddlin' up too after a few beers and the temperature at Cressbrook today did not get above 20% ;D ;D ;D

06-02-2003, 11:55 AM
Dog ? Simon ?

Does Dog stand for something like

Doona On Ground ?

If yer refering to the four legged type, sorry, No Pets Allowed.

;D :P

Lachie1
06-02-2003, 12:05 PM
Any one under the age of 18 dont needa liscence. 8)

Lachie

06-02-2003, 12:48 PM
Craigie has just raised an interesting point here.

The Classic is going to be on the weekend before our planned trip.

1) will the fish be off the chew after copping a hiding the weekend before.

2) Will the facilities be up to scratch following the hiding from the week before.

Any thoughts

Bugman

craigie
06-02-2003, 01:15 PM
Brett,

I have just been in contact with 'Sav' about the Cressbrook Classic etc. He says the event is huge, with big crowds, food stalls, Beer tent, dancing dogs (for Simonr).

His thoughts are that the Bass may be a bit gun shy after the hammering/Boat traffic from the comp.

I still think the weekend of the 8 & 9 for the M & G is still a goer. The social side of things is just as important as the quality of the fishing.

What do the rest of you guys think ?

Craig.

Jack_Lives_Here
06-02-2003, 01:24 PM
I wouldn't think those freshwater fish would be that smart to be gun shy ;D ;D ;D

March 8&9 sounds good to me so far.

06-02-2003, 03:17 PM
I might just change my vote about now ;) plenty of fishponds full of hungry bass, if cressy won't be, any ideas people.

caveman
06-02-2003, 03:36 PM
i know its a bit far but what about glenlyon at texas just a thought
or maroon,leslie just a few for thought
any other idears

Simonr
06-02-2003, 03:52 PM
No dogs allowed ? - ??? Well you can tell him - he's too big for me !...What about Coolmundra ? 'sposed to be top notch down there ?

jordo
06-02-2003, 05:15 PM
Last year i fished a week after the comp and it was still fishing good on surface poppers though it seems at the moment the bass are liking reaction baits and plastics or trolled deep divers. Also the camp grounds are cleaned up straight after the comp so they will be right. The boat ramp is also low at the moment and if you have a bigger boat its a bit difficult to get the boat off. I have problems getting my topender off with just my commodore ute as its on slides. Ive also seen others havin problems if youve got a bigger boat an dont have a 4wd.

By the way anyone heading up there watch the speeding when the ranger is in sight (he drives a big green boat) as he likes to give out fines. Also make sure you go through the boys around the pump station as he likes to give fines out to people who cut through them. I think each fines worth $350. Also a back up plan should be made in case the bacteria becomes a problem again. It seems to be coming common in cressy and cooby.

Chris_J
06-02-2003, 05:57 PM
I don't mind the sound of Coola 8)

Great dam not much in the way of toilets and that tho....for those with a betterhalf ;)

You can ski there if ya want to...

I'm not sure if i'll be fishin the classic this year...the fish do cop a real hammering then....

I'm open to a different location so if anyone comes up with one...I would just have to know the dates a bit earlier to organise it....

adriancorrea
07-02-2003, 10:44 AM
Well that date puts me out :-/
Dont have to worry about getting time off work I already have that saturday and sunday off for a wedding
Im in the bridal party so cant get out of it :'(
Good luck to all, Have fun

Tight Lines
Adrian

sav
07-02-2003, 04:18 PM
Hi guys
Talking to Craigie re this. I'm right for either 1/2 or 8/9. Fish at Cressbrook may be a bit battered after the Classic but I would expect to still catch a few. Plastics in the shallows early morning or dusk or deep diver lures through the day.
Not sure if you can light a fire there yet - but with the whole 20mm we have got who knows.
I reckon if the crew want an alternale for 8/9 then BP would be the go. Good camping facilities etc - nearly always fishes well for yellas as well as bass, and it has an on site shop.
I'll be going somewhere - no matter what, hopefully joined by Cragie and his dilly puller.
Regards to all
Sav

08-02-2003, 03:48 AM
I think having the M&G the same week as the Classic 1/2 is probably not going to work.

I'm still up for 8/9. I reckon the fishing will still be ok, and besides it's more about getting together and "bonding" as grown men in dark places then ctaching fish. In fact no Ausfish M&G in the past has been ctaching fish. In fact I'd go as far to challenge anyone who says they've been to a meet and great before and chose fishing over socialising ;D.

We're not going to be able to accomodate everyone but as long as it suits the majority that want to come.

Not sure about BP Sav. Could be a fair drive from Brissy I'm thinking.

So in summing up my vote (for what it's worth) is stil Cressbrook March 8/9.

Bugman

08-02-2003, 03:53 PM
;D ;DWhats the tides like out there, ya need that water movement, ;D ;D

gruntahunter
09-02-2003, 10:16 AM
any good high tide yabbie banks? ;D

gruntahunter
09-02-2003, 10:22 AM
Dammm 8/9 march puts me out too...I,m goin to noosa on a house boat from 3rd to the 8th....would not be popular if I f####ed off fishing on Sat arvo straight after gettin back...aw well have a good time guys..catches next one

aquarius
10-02-2003, 11:42 AM
Hi Guys...just one question for you fresh water fisho's....is the fishing better on an upcoming full moon?
Noticed the weekend of the 15/16 March is close to a full moon on the 18th March. Any weekend in March is fine with me and my mate Jimmy(he has told me he will tow his boat up there).
Been to Cressbrook twice before but had no luck so you fresh water specialists may need to give us salty's a few pointers on how when and where to catch these BASS!!
Cheers Brent ;D