PDA

View Full Version : Currumbin Creek

Damien
09-04-2003, 12:31 PM
G'day All,
I am new to your bulletin board. I'm heading up to sunny QLD next week from Melbourne for a weeks holiday with the family. I am staying at Palm Beach and intend to wet a line in Currumbin Creek each morning some time near dawn prior to spending the day with the rugrats. (and hopefully at dusk a few times also)

Can anyone offer me any tips eg: rigs, bait, species to target, hot spots etc...

I'd appreciate any advice.
cheers
Damien.

SteveCan
09-04-2003, 12:51 PM
Hi Damien,

Welcome to the site - Last year I lived at Palm beach across the road from the creek and have dropped a line in the mornings many a time. I have had most success targeting whiting just east of the boat ramp in the creek using either yabbies (pumped on site) or beach worms.

I have also taken flathead and Tailor on lures in the lagoon near the mouth of the creek. I was using hardbodies at the time and I would be seriously interested in seeing how soft plastics might perform. There are a few Bream and Trevally in the creek as well but apart from undersize specimens I have not had the luck.

If you have a beach rig, walk over the dunes and fish the beach in front of the Surf CLub for Tailor and Bream, use small pillies, anchovies or whitebait. There are whiting there too. Generally speaking you will get a better size fish and more comitted bites off the beach.

Either way - it's a lovely spot and watching the sun come up at Currumbin is a treat. I hope you have a great Holiday.

Cheers
Steve :)

Heath
09-04-2003, 02:56 PM